We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food and service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Patio - The Italian Restaurant

Il Patio - The Italian Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 278 Restaurants in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a fantastic dinner here! We had the avocado and prawns as an appetizer - the sauce used on the prawns did not taste good, so I wouldn't recommend it, but the avocado was delicious. We then had the potato and leek soup - very good! For dinner, we had the ravioli - splendid and light - as well as the tagliatelle with white crab sauce - a bit too salty, but good and very nicely served. The washrooms were so clean! The service was fantastic! Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eika_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    58
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excwellent Fine Dining Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

At the Casino. Very upmarket for Kampala. Good quality food and wine. Recommended when you want a decent night out

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gam8le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulu, Uganda
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong here...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I've been to IL PATIO several times and I never got disappointed. It is one of the best Italian restaurants in Kampala and it deserves its top 10 spot as the best restaurant in town.

The environment is nice, clean and the food is delicious. Pizzas are good, but you should try the Tagliata (beef fillet) with rosemary. Awesome.

Staffs are professional, and service is usually good.

Tables are few if compared to other place so it is advisable to give a call and book in advance.
Il Patio remains one of my favorites in Kampala.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good alternative to Mediterraneo.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

A really nice setting, an Intimate Italian courtyard/pavement feel. Quieter than Mediterraneo. Proficient pasta dishes and good service. Really good carpaccio of beef. Definitely worth a dinner outing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kigalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Italian food sanctuary in Kampala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Delicious! The chocolate lava cake is a must-have for dessert. Excellent environment, great service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank KMG414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Patio - The Italian Restaurant also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Il Patio - The Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing