We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at this place !”
Review of Rivonia Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivonia Suites
Ranked #63 of 213 Kampala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Rivonia Suites is a lovely, safe, modern aminities, great staff, very accommodating facility for travelors. The Manager Tracy will help you, and work with her staff to sort out any concerns. The menu has good options, I enjoyed the Vegetable Burger, Breakfast Buffet has many choices. I had a wonderful massage, for a great price, and sat in the steam room afterwards. Great place to stay !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Welcoming,so quite and really enjoyable for discusions with friends because there isn't any sound polition. And you meet all services salon, gym fully health club with experts,cofeteria the bar. Very cool place, hope its Keeping it's profesional way.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baristaelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for seven nights in the last week of August, during a business trip to Uganda. The Rivonia came with mixed reviews (including on TripAdvisor) and this served to confuse rather than anything else. Still, I chose it because of price and location with the words of the "good reviews" still ringing in my memory.

The Rivonia is not really a hotel at all; it is a apartment complex with semi-permanent residents and a few rooms/suites rented out to travellers like me. For all that, in a country where comfort, value and security are not always what you expect, Rivonia offers all three.

The suite was large and came with a good layout, quite comfortable bed with the mandatory mosquitos nets, great bathroom - even though one reviewer seemed to dislike it because it wasn't "modern" enough. I found it fine and it had a great rain-shower head and excellent hot water supply. Everything worked, and that's not to be taken for granted in central Africa, so Rivonia excelled in this regard.

I often find TV service really quite lacking around the world, especially in my own country, but here I had dozens and dozens of channels to watch at night after work. Since there was nothing else to do in this property, and walking around the crazy, unmarked, unlit, potholed streets in the dark is definitely NOT to be countenanced, then TV seemed the ideal escape !

So on price and comfort, Rivonia wins out. On food ... it is basic beyond all my expectations and, indeed, hopes. A fixed meal every night for about $15 provides one with soup, choice of two meat dishes, some veggies, and the usual assortment of African starch concoctions. Quite disappointing after a long hard day, and especially after a much better breakfast line-up thrown in with the daily rate. So, no choices except to eat up ... or not !

Kampala abounds with cafes and quite a few supermarkets though, and so buying take-away food during the day to consume at night struck me as a much better option after the first two nights trying to cope with the fixed menu. Try the various outlets of Cafe Java or even Brood (Dutch/Belgian inspiration) for lovely snacks and sandwiches, pastries, sausage rolls and so on.

Staff at Rivonia were always helpful, even when the telephone system totally failed while trying to debit my credit card, causing it eventually to be "frozen." No real problem and we eventually sorted it out with nice staff help and great smiling attitude to life's little misfortunes.

I like this property and do recommend it, with the proviso that in food terms, what you get is not quite what you expect. And for goodness' sake, buy your own beer outside ! Would I stay there again? Yes, if I couldn't find something better and yet affordable, since Rivonia is very affordable indeed. And free wifi was EXCELLENT !

Room Tip: Think seriously about having an alternative food source for dinners at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingCodger_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I've staid in the apartment 2 nights and one day, so I didn't have time to really enjoy the place, but I can recommend it for several reasons: WIFI fast everywhere in the complex, room big and clean, gym quite new and good equiped, restaurante really good, people friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andremiranda35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good quiet place and would recommand anyone to try it.we stayed for about two weeks and I can a sure you our stay was super.The staff is friendly,Food was good,though sometimes we could prepare our meals since the two bedroomed apartments we stayed in have cooking facilities.For one person, the suites are perfect.Two or more persons,I recommend the two bedroom apartment. The children enjoyed their movies since each room has it's own Dstv premium packaged decorder so they could change to whichever channel they pleased. We shall definately go back to rivonia next year when we go to kampala again. Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizchege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Rivonia suites is a very beautiful hotel and apartment development. The rooms and apartments are absolutely gorgeous. It has all the amenities avaliable, ie. salon and spa, game room, gym and dining room with excellent food. The staff is always ready to serve and make your stay pleasant.
This hotel is the place to stay in Uganda.

The Geneural Manager Tracy is very professional and does agood Job as far as handling staff and customers is Cconcerned.

Esther Turner

Room Tip: mistake made in the rating. No swimming Pool at the Hotel. All suites are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Non la 15 o verificate la doccia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mauro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tristar Hotel
Tristar Hotel
#44 of 213 in Kampala
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#15 of 213 in Kampala
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivonia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivonia Suites

Address: Plot 1 - 7 Mbuya Road, Kampala 72646, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivonia Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rivonia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing