We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old Colonial Home in excellent condition”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kampala, Central Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ValerieH1...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Colonial Home in excellent condition”
Reviewed 13 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

This was my second time staying in the luxurious home. All of our previous problems had been ironed out. The whole property both inside and out are very well cared for, the inside sparkled with cleanliness.The two lady staff, (Mildred and Jalia ) were very keen to help in any way they could. We would certainly stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review, we look forward to hosting you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieH1...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home , Once we had found it.!!!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Ruie, the owner had given us directions and telephone Numbers of the two staff to find the home once we were on the outskirts of Kampala. However on ringing the two numbers we found that they were no longer working at the luxurious home. We ere also given the name of a petrol station at which we should turn. This petrol station NOW is owned by a different petrol company. After driving around for 1 hour my Ugandan friends had to pay a Boda boa driver to guide them to the property which is up an appalling mud road. After reaching the gates of the property no one came to open them for 1 hour even tho' they blew the horn and banged on the gates . There were NEW staff and they and the nightwatchman did not expect anyone arriving until the next day. The staff then started to clear the dust off everything. However once we had overcome ALL these inconveniences we spent a very happy four days in the house, which was just what I had required. Even tho'the dog barked ALL through one night as the night watchman never came on duty and the dog would not let us get out of the door the next morning, We had to wait for over 1/2 hour before the staff got up and took in away. I think that RUIE the owner should be made aware of all these changes.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Hi Valerie



Sorry for the not so pleasant experience finding the property. If you recall in our conversation a week before your arrival, Daniel was supposed to call the day before his arrival, we do this as a way to mitigate “no shows renters’ as well as for security reasons. We never got his call hence the situation as explained in your review. Never the less, we strive to keep our customers happy, on your next visit to Uganda we will provide you with two free nights at the home, we hope this will suffice. Again thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you there.



Kind regards



Ruie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam Z
Abuja State, Nigeria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real home away from home”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 4 stayed at this place from 17th December 2017 to 6th January 2018.
This elegant and massive house is located in Kireka-Kamuli which is about 12 Kilometers from the city centre. Despite the fact that it is within a densely populated area, the place is very quiet. The famous Namugongo Martyrs shrine built in honour of the 22 Ugandan martyrs or Saints, is within easy reach.

The house is very well maintained by an elderly lady who made sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible.When things went wrong she was on hand to rectify the situation. Elvis who was in charge of logistics also provided assistance. He is a very knowledgeable and friendly person.

There was no washing machine, but the lady hand washed and ironed our clothes in return for a fee determined by us! (You would rather iron your delicate clothes though, to avoid disappointment).

A big plus for the house is the solar system which provides light in case of a power outage (which is a rare occurrence).

There is a uniformed security guard at night and a big dog which keeps potential intruders at bay.

The downside during our stay was the high cost of electricity. They use Cash Power (the pay-as-you-go system locally known as "Yaka!") and each unit of electricity costs approximately 23 US cents! So be careful when you use the water heater.

The owners should fumigate the place more often than they are doing now; we came across a couple of roaches during our stay.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go back next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collywood...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and Polite Place”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This tranquil and lovey place was very relaxing and stress free. Everything worked and the property is very clean and well maintained. I loved the large bathroom and spacious bedrooms. I also like how the staff was around but left you and was not in your face. The only thing I found a little bit off was the owner monitors the front room and there is a camera so you have to be careful if you and your partner want to walk around starkers lol. That would have to be kept in the bedroom area which is no problem. On a whole I am booking in again there for a few days so its one of my stop overs before I go to my own place.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeLizW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An idyllic house in which to entertain and relax”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It had been a number of years since I visited Uganda having grown up there and as I was bringing friends and meeting extended family I desired a suitable spacious house to use as a base and also to entertain guests. It exceeded my expectations; very large in a peaceful setting, a secure compound with gardens and a wooden gazebo to sit in the heat of the day. The interior is airy and cool and special mention goes to Obediah and Auntie who were on hand to assist if required.
Myself and my friendsrecommend this house
to any family or group of friends who wish to spend time in Kampala, we intend to return ourselves next year,

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olaf S
Erlangen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“There is room for improvement”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
12
people found this review helpful

We stayed as a family of three and a little child at this place from middle of January to middle of February in 2015. We had booked the place through internet, based on the comments, the pictures we saw and based on the description of the available facilities.

The place is situated in Kireka within a mixed residential area. Kireka is a suburb of Kampala, about one hour away from the city center. However, that depends very much on the traffic situation. The house itself is nicely constructed and spacious; there is a big sitting room, a kitchen, one en-suite bedroom and two smaller bedrooms and a small separate toilet/bathroom. In front of the house is terrace, a nice looking garden and next to the house a nicely designed roofed open-air seating. Part of the house is used by family members of the landlord and by caretakers. The caretakers are friendly, trying to help with everything.

Traveling as a family and with a little child, we had chosen the place partially because of the described facilities. Unfortunately we had to find out, that some of the items listed in the “Amenities & details” section were simply not there. That includes ceiling fans, dishwasher, DVD player, safe, VCR and washer (washing machine). However, instead of the ceiling fans there was a mobile fan that can be carried around, wherever needed. Asked if the missing things might be provided later, the landlord did not answer. However, the caretakers can organize for hand washing of the clothes.

Maintenance is problematic. The CD player of the stereo set did not work. One of the photos suggests that satellite TV would be available. In fact that was replaced by digital terrestrial TV (GoTV), but we had to ask for about 10 days until the broken receiver was replaced by another one. The majority of the bulbs in the ceiling lamps were either broken or completely missing. That includes the emergency lights, which in some bedrooms were not working at all. Kitchen cabinet doors were partially loose, some even broken. A bathroom door was twisted. Even though one bedroom was not in use (there was no bed inside), the mosquito protective frames in front of the window needs to be fixed.

Security was good. The place is surrounded by high walls with razor wires. Two shepherd dogs run around the place. After 2 weeks a night security guard was even around. Outside the house there are security cameras. We found it extremely disturbing, that webcams were also installed inside the house, namely in the sitting room and the kitchen. In our opinion a little bit too much of “BIG BROTHER”, so we got them covered with the caretakers help.

In terms of cleanliness there is much room for improvement. The caretakers clean the outside areas and the sitting room ground floor every day, the other bedrooms and bathrooms ground floors are cleaned every 2-3 days. In the beginning of our stay we had to clean the inside of the cabinets, which were quite dusty, also the kitchen and the fridge needed a thorough cleaning by us. The kitchen needs pest-control. One of the first evenings I sprayed (killed) like 10-15 cockroaches within 10 minutes! They all hid underneath the kitchen sink or in similar corners.

A gardener comes regularly. Unfortunately he can’t prevent two big shepherd dogs from defecating in the grass in front of the house. It makes the garden a “no-go-area” for children who might want to play there. Still, the garden is nicely arranged and nice to look at.
We found the en-suite bathroom not very clean. Even though the ground floor is mopped every 2 to 3 days, the seams between the tiles were never touched and hence dirty.

The house is equipped with a pre-paid electricity meter box. It would be a good idea for the landlord to load enough Kilowatt-hours for the whole rental period to avoid surprising black outs.

The neighborhood is peaceful. Shopping facilities are around. There are small local shops for the basic needs as well as a good supermarket at a petrol station nearby. There was quite some building noise from a neighboring construction side; and from time to time one has to accept smoke caused by burning litter in the neighborhood. In fact rubbish seems to be dumped here and there (about 150 m from the house there is an illegal local litter dumping area); we were told that not everyone can afford the fees for waste management...

Kireka is easy to reach – even by foot. For Kampala public transport is available.

As initially said, the house is spacious and nicely arranged. However it needs some maintenance and care to turn it into “luxury and beauty”, especially since the price competes with rental houses in similar areas of Europe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Security
Liked least: General maintenance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Dear Olaf
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our Home.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve the renter experience with each and every stay.
We are proactively making improvements that will be completed in a few days.
Please contact me if you have any questions.
We hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Uganda

Kind regards.
Ruie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the house in December 2013 and January 2014.
This is a spacious holiday rental with pleasant staff.
The owner of the house lives in Canada.
John is a superb man!
Any questions and complaints are transmitted to him via Akiim Ssenfuma.
Akiim too, is a very nice chap who will collect you from the airport and take you back at the end of your stay.
Akim will advise you on most matters relating to your stay in Kampala.
He is a trustworthy man.
I recommend you stay here.
There are some poor accommodations in that city...... this is certainly not one of them!
If you need any further advice or information, please contact me in England on +44 7527 258 681.
I look forward to my next stay there!
Steve Thorpe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing