We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Tal Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tal Cottages
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This property lies west of Kampala town on a terraced hiily landscape overlooking the Kabaka Palace hill with the Kabakas (Kings) lake in the valley in between.
A quiet place especially so with the single storey cottages which offer a perfect hide-away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
Good for stay in conferences, seminars and workshops. A beautiful garden for outdoor occassions complimented by two swimming pools.

Room Tip: > Top floor on the lake side a very good view > Storeyed cottages private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We decided to stay at Tal cottages partly because of the swimming pool and gardens.. This was our 7th visit to Kampala. We were met at the airport by the son of the proprietor. Expect to pay 80,000 Ug sh. The pool was functioning and seemed to be properly maintained.. There were sun loungers round the pool and a pleasant outlook from the gardens, over the Kabaka's Lake. The access road is rough but once in the compound things look better. The staff were pleasant and willing to assist; the cleaners appeared cheerful and consciencious. There was a mosquito net, but few mosquitos visible so we did not use it. Sheets and towels were clean. Our double room ( upstairs in one of the 2 story pinkish buildings) suffered from the often found issues one encounters in Uganda. There was only one light bulb in our room, ( several missed opportunities), but the lighting in the shower/ toilet was fine and the loo flushed adequately. We had 2 x 3 pin electric wall sockets and they both worked, We did not try the TV but heard one in the next room so it probably worked. There was an electric hot shower with also a mysterious assortment of pipes and taps on the wall. We needed help to get it to work, but it did if we were not using it at a time of peak demand. The dinners ( hot buffet style) were tasty. Dinner was put out at 7.30pm. Go punctually if there are groups staying or you will find all the food has gone by around 7.40pm. Should not be no more than 20,000 Ug sh for dinner including a soda. There are also 'Cottages'. They are a row of single story dwellings attached to each other. They are potentially suitable for family groups and have a sitting room and very basic kitchen. The one we saw had a fridge but no way to plug it in and lumpy pillows. Plumbing needs attention. The cottages are overdue for refurbishment but might be pleasant if updated. There is another block several stories high overlooking the pool. We did not see these rooms. They often seemed to be used by groups. If you do stay, try a walk around the Kabaka's Lake around dawn ( not alone and not with valuables) and see weaver birds and others and experience a cross section of urban life. Would we visit again?............possibly.

Room Tip: first floor ( upstairs) rooms might be more secure than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

No hot water the first night and no water the next night. Restaurant has poor service and hotel staff don't communicate with each other on reservations. Light fixtures hanging loose and cracks in doors. But, maybe that's Africa. It compared to another place we stayed in another city.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JjuukoM, Guest Relations Manager at Tal Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear jay
Thank you for the review we apologies for not being able to meet your expectation,the whole Rubaga area of the city was expriencing repair of water system.we promise to serve you better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank silberfuchs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Global Hotel
Grand Global Hotel
#57 of 104 in Kampala
21 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#21 of 104 in Kampala
27 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Miltu Hotel
Casa Miltu Hotel
#49 of 104 in Kampala
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#38 of 104 in Kampala
10 reviews
0 mi away
The Sanctum
The Sanctum
#33 of 104 in Kampala
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivys Hotel
Ivys Hotel
#63 of 104 in Kampala
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal Cottages

Address: Rubaga Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £49 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tal Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tal Cottages is located on a hill overlooking the scenic Nabunya valley and the kabaka’s lake (a historical manmade lake and major urban tourist attraction), 45 minutes to commute to Entebbe international Airport and 10 minutes to Kampala city. Tal Cottages, “TALC,” has 65 rooms, 4 conference rooms,self-contained cottages, two swimming pools, , conference facilities with fast and reliable internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Jovago.com so you can book your Tal Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing