We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Peaceful Homey Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Makindye Country Club
Ranked #2 of 175 Kampala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Homey Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have really come to appreciate Makindye Country Club. The staff are warm and friendly and know you by name. It's a great place to get away to for a cup of tea or coffee and just be still and relax. The menu is perfect and prices reasonable is you are dining with friends. I mostly use the gym and though it's small it's got everything I need for a complete workout. For tennis players and swimmers you couldn't ask for better facilities. My friends who were just here said the rooms were small but quite clean and pleasant. It's simply a warm, homey place for families, singles, and people just passing through Kampala. The membership fee is low compared to any other club or gym. The location is really a plus for me, too. I'm so glad I joined!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrickcsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    24
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
2
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

MCC is a members' club offering wonderful sporting and B&B facilities in Makindye, a peaceful Kampala suburb. It is a home-away-from-home for many international visitors, and also a centre for many expats and Ugandan families to keep fit and socialise. It has wonderful facilities for children, and great sports facilities, including two squash courts, two clay tennis courts and the best tennis coach in Uganda. It has a unique ambience and exceptional staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The MCC is a beautiful place to relax, or to meet up for social events. It's perfect for getting into daily fitness routines; with it's gym and swimming pool and tennis courts. The menu is amazing and the food is great. I love to go there just to get out of the house and find some space. The area it is in is ideal. It's perfectly casual and pleasant. Absolutely FABULOUS!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have stayed at the Makindye Country Club (MCC) several times, typically for one to three weeks at a time while travelling to Uganda for my work with an NGO. It is hard to find a good mid-range hotel in Kampala, so I was always pleased to return to a serene environment after a long day where I would typically exercise in the gym, take a dip in the pool, dine in the restaurant, and enjoy the use of free wireless internet -- all for a very reasonable price. There is nothing fancy about the MCC, but it has everything you need. What makes the MCC a great place to stay is the community of friendly people that come there. The staff will learn your name and provide great service, while always being extremely helpful. I got to know many of the friendly faces that frequent the club and nearly always met someone new when I stopped for a drink in the bar or watched sports on the TV. All of this makes it a great value and, I believe, the friendliest place to stay in Kampala.

It truly became my home away from home while travelling back and forth from the U.S. to Uganda for several years. I live in Kampala now and continue to use the MCC regularly as a member and recommend it to all of my visiting guests, personal or business.

Room Tip: Your room choice depends on what you want; each room is a little different. There are three separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kampala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I LOVE this place! It has become an oasis for our family in Kampala. For any visitors wanting to find a comfortable place to base themselves while in Uganda, this is a great place to stay, providing beautiful accomodation, an attractive swimming pool, tennis courts, gym, restaurant and bar, pool & table-tennis tables, an in-house masseur therapist. MCC has been recently been reopened under new ownership but has been able to maintain the very things that make it a unique, home away from home sanctuary. On top of this they have Uganda's champion tennis player available on a daily basis for tennis coaching. If you're looking for something exciting to do on the first Friday of every month, MCC have an open-mike, music night along with a wonderful Mexican buffet. It's usually packed and overflowing with music lovers from all over. MCC have also just re-released a new , more refined menu including fish and chips you won't find anywhere else in Kampala and other open deli sandwiches, home-made cakes and 'Gorilla bean' coffee. Our kids love coming up to meet friends, play in their playground, chill by the pool or the tv room. For families based in Kampala, this is a great place to become a member. Come and check it out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

MCC is a very warm and welcoming place on Makindye in a suburb of Kampala. It is a home away from home for many short term and longer term international travellers. It is also a centre for many expats and Ugandan families to hang out and therefore has a lively 'buzz' especially at the weekends. It has a good pool, and safe, fenced off kiddie pool. It also has a small gym which has all the essential equipment, 2 squash courts, volleyball court and a great play area for kids. For those of us without large gardens, this is a perfect place to allow the kids to blow off some steam. It is away from the city centre, and therefore away from all the hustle and bustle...but within easy reach of a taxi to the centre. Staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. For those without kids, there are plenty of spaces to be away from the children too. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: As I live in the area I have not had to sleep there, although know plenty of happy customers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
4.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#16 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
3.2 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
4.8 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#11 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makindye Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makindye Country Club

Property: Makindye Country Club
Address: Plot 59, Mobutu Road, Makindye Hil | P.O. Box 1097, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the sleepy Makindye hill of Kampala, set in lovely grounds with beautiful gardens, Makindye Country Club (MCC) is a family-orientated Club that offers "Accommodation, Sports and Leisure" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Makindye Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing