We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makindye Country Club
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$378
US$351
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
US$234
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$128
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
78
27
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
27
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtshome away from hometable tennismexican buffettennis coachswimming poolan oasisthe perfect place to staythe food is greatvisit kampalamccsquashgymfacilitieschaosugandaexpats
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed at the MCC many times and have never been disappointed. Friendly and caring management & staff, comfortable lodging, good meeting space, great outdoor area for lounging, for children to play, or for just hanging out. The air is clearer in Makindye (and therefore at MCC) than it is in Kampala city center which more than makes up for having to deal with the hectic drive into the city if/when necessary. I expect to stay at the MCC every time I visit Kampala & would encourage anyone else to consider the same.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lower building are quieter at night.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C0nstantTraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Owner at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We truly appreciate your kind comments and thank you for taking the time to write.
Hopefully by the time you next visit we will have completed some new developments at the Club and hope you like them.
Thanks for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I spent my first two nights in Uganda at Makindye Country Club and found it to be a calm retreat from the chaos of traveling to and around Kampala. I stayed in one of the rooms in the back building with a private bath, which was quiet and clean. I was there on two week nights, and I did not have a problem with noise in my my room (#11.) It may be worth spending more money for a front building room as suggested in other reviews if you are going to be there on a weekend because there is an indoor common area in the back building which might be loud at other times. The price was very reasonable compared to 4 star hotels in Kampala, and continental breakfast was included in the rate. The lobby/restaurant area was a relaxing place to hang out. It overlooks tennis courts and the pool and has the feel of a tropical oasis. I ate one dinner and had two breakfasts at Makindye and enjoyed all the meals. This was a great place to start out my travels in Uganda!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Owner at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.
The 2 rooms overlooking the main road can sometimes be noisy up till midnight with bars from across the street but Kampala City Council are taking the matter of noise pollution seriously and have been controlling this recently. We hope to welcome you back again some day and thank you for staying at Makindye Country Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The country club has 2 tennis courts, a gym, a restaurant, a playroom for kids, a lounge and TV for kids a pool table, a swimming pool and beautiful grounds to have a walk!!
Cathy has just taken over this country club!! She is doing a great job and I would like to thank her for her hospitality and wonderful staff who were always helpful .
When we were there in January 2014 she was trying to improve the internet!! Its a work in progress!!
Will definitely stay at the Club when Im in Uganda again.
Thank you again for making our stay so enjoyable and memorable!!

Room Tip: If you have a large group there is a self contained cottage with a conference room attached that is just great .
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDetox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Director at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. You are right, the internet is certainly something we have been working on but we are confident that we are now able to offer a much improved service and we look forward to you testing it out on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Many reviewers here had used the word OASIS to describe the Makindye Country Club, and I could not agree more! It is a breath of calm fresh air that feels strangely separate from the chaos of Kampala, yet is still conveniently close to town. MCC has some really great mature gardens, immaculate lawns, a charmingly exclusive bar and restaurant, some of the best clay tennis courts in the country, and the most personable and friendly staff I may have come across in Uganda. It is a real gem that has a real healthy vibrant feel to it - a home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Manager at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We thank you for your kind comments and for appreciating our services. We hope you continue to enjoy them and spread the word to others.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Country Club is a nice oasis in the middle of a very busy city. Safe and secure environment.
Good meals and reasonable prices. Twenty hour airline travel, I arrived and needed a good waypoint to recharge. The Country Club fits the bill of a place to relax and rest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank dewey73737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, director at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews