We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory but a tad expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Makindye Country Club
Ranked #1 of 234 Kampala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in December just before Christmas after my group was evacuated from South Sudan and this place was a godsend in that rooms were available at a trusted location (previously known as the American Recreation Association or ARA). Rooms are comfortable and service is excellent, also easily accessible via boda (motorcycle) or matatu (mini vans) from the city centre. It's about 30-40 mins' drive from the Entebbe airport. Only caveat is that even though it's much more affordable compared to, say, a hotel, it was on the expensive side if you're planning to stay for longer than a week.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Manager at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks Rebecca.
It was a pleasure having you over the Christmas period and hope you will return in more peaceful times. We would like to mention that for longer stays a discounted rate can be negotiated with Management. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The MCC is well located on the Entebbe side of Kampala, so that the traffic isn't too bad for the airport. It's quiet and very friendly, the pool is welcome, and the rooms and food are good. Turn left out of the entrance and you can walk into relatively green countryside on Makindye hill.

Room Tip: The ones in the garden are quieter than the ones overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJGulland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Manager at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. It is greatly appreciated. We hope you will return someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I highly recommend the mcc. I joined the club during the few months I was in Kampala and found it to be a great place to relax, meet friends and keep fit. The food is good and the place is clean and secure. It's a relaxing place to be, has wifi internet, a bar and very friendly staff. I really enjoyed the boxing classes - they are a great way to keep fit or get fit! Tennis lessons by the club coach, Godfrey, were also excellent and very good value. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank A_RossEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Manager at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Another few days at the beginning and end of two weeks travelling in remote and difficult parts of western and northern Uganda. I feel safe here and know that I will have running hot water, a nights sleep and a friendly and caring staff.
Its so nice to be welcomed by name and be looked after with good food and coffee that is not served from a flask !
Well done to Cathy and the team. The Management are accessible and will pay attention to what you say.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank BruceMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Manager at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

It's always a pleasure having you and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes from all at MCC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a good stay at Makindye Country Club. The personel was friendly. The food was good.
The swimmingpool was ok. When staying with kids, they can enjoy themselfs in the (kiddy) pool and on the playground.
The rooms were good.
I think the price quality rating is ok for the things you get.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JesseMaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Manager at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed at the MCC many times and have never been disappointed. Friendly and caring management & staff, comfortable lodging, good meeting space, great outdoor area for lounging, for children to play, or for just hanging out. The air is clearer in Makindye (and therefore at MCC) than it is in Kampala city center which more than makes up for having to deal with the hectic drive into the city if/when necessary. I expect to stay at the MCC every time I visit Kampala & would encourage anyone else to consider the same.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lower building are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C0nstantTraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Owner at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We truly appreciate your kind comments and thank you for taking the time to write.
Hopefully by the time you next visit we will have completed some new developments at the Club and hope you like them.
Thanks for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I spent my first two nights in Uganda at Makindye Country Club and found it to be a calm retreat from the chaos of traveling to and around Kampala. I stayed in one of the rooms in the back building with a private bath, which was quiet and clean. I was there on two week nights, and I did not have a problem with noise in my my room (#11.) It may be worth spending more money for a front building room as suggested in other reviews if you are going to be there on a weekend because there is an indoor common area in the back building which might be loud at other times. The price was very reasonable compared to 4 star hotels in Kampala, and continental breakfast was included in the rate. The lobby/restaurant area was a relaxing place to hang out. It overlooks tennis courts and the pool and has the feel of a tropical oasis. I ate one dinner and had two breakfasts at Makindye and enjoyed all the meals. This was a great place to start out my travels in Uganda!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakindyeCountryClub, Owner at Makindye Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.
The 2 rooms overlooking the main road can sometimes be noisy up till midnight with bars from across the street but Kampala City Council are taking the matter of noise pollution seriously and have been controlling this recently. We hope to welcome you back again some day and thank you for staying at Makindye Country Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
2.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 105 in Kampala
343 reviews
4.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Explorers Hub
Explorers Hub
#14 of 105 in Kampala
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
681 reviews
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
3.4 mi away
Biyem Hotel
Biyem Hotel
#5 of 234 in Kampala
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makindye Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makindye Country Club

Address: Plot 59, Mobutu Road, Makindye Hil | P.O. Box 1097, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range: £59 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the sleepy Makindye hill of Kampala, set in lovely grounds with beautiful gardens, Makindye Country Club (MCC) is a family-orientated Club that offers "Accommodation, Sports and Leisure" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Makindye Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing