We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a best place for leisure and business in the heart of the city”
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Speke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Kampala : Speke hotel : ''Best place at heart of city"
Date : 4th march 2011
i have booked this hotel directly by sending an e mail. although never stayed before at this place, this time decided to stay at heart of the city. and place seem to be beyond expectations.

First, in comparision to other hotels at Uganda, this comes across as a relatively competitatively priced with good and friendly service. Indian restaurant at the downstairs and the lively bar attached to it adds stars to the hotel.

After a busy day at work and business, winding off at the Bar gives a feeling of remembering the place well after i have reached to India.

Its a value for money.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
Thank balajee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Speke Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

The Speke, i guess was once a grand old hotel. In terms of age, yes it is old, but it is a little tired also as well as old. Unfortunately the company that now runs the Speke, have not bothered to invest in its heritage.

The rooms are clean and simple, the internet is reasonable fast for Uganda.

However the bathrooms that have obviously been upgraded look like they are out of a Miami Vice set, multicoloured circuit board style tyles and glass brick walled shower. This detracts from the old world charm of the Speke, and shows a clear lack of understanding from the hotel management.

B'fast is very very basic, and i cannot understand the lack of choices for fruit, with the abundance of fresh fruit that you can see for sale everywhere in Uganda. the juice they serve is from the carton, and pured directly into one of those slushy machines that slowly stirs the juice. again with the number of staff and the abundant and cheap fruit available WHY!!!!

i would like to see someone restore the speke to its former glory.

oh and the other problem is the prostitutes, too many hookers frequent the bars and restaurants within the Speke compound. its interesting at first to watch, but soons becomes very annoying, when you are getting hassled all the time.

Room Tip: stay on the backside of the hotel for silence
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dxbdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I stayed here in 2003, so this is probably a bit outdated. This is a very fun hotel to stay, full service with all the restraunts you need within the hotel compound, plus plenty of tour operators within walking distance (rafting, safari, etc...). The rock bar is a bit seedy, but there are guards and security everywhere and the rooms are very nice. It's definetly got the colonial feel to the place and judging by the pictures, not much has changed. I'd definetly reccomend it and try to get rooms on the facing the front. The rooms in the back are facing an alley where we saw the cops beating some poor chap!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftpinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I was used to stay in Speke Hotel Kampala during the days when either Tripadvisor was not there OR I was not aware about Tripadvisor-during 2003 to 2006. After a gap of almost 5 years, I had to visit Uganda for my business and stayed in Speke.
As usual, very nice experience. One could give 100 out of 100 marks. They have large, clean and airy rooms, very nice room service, option of various type of food, very well trained and warm hearted staff, excellent location……

What else one needs ??

Keep it up Speke…..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitAdaitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I was really dissapointed at the state of the Speke. The check-in was terrible as the staff claimed not too have received our reservations! We were placed in old and run-down rooms which were in desperate need of a good spring clean. This hotel is not worth the money or time. Rather stay at the Speke Munyonyo.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The hotel management is a bunch of deviants to say the least. They fail to keep their word on agreed rates. At the time of checking out the agreed rate does not appear at all on the invoice with silly excuses such as "manger is having dinner", "the lower rate is for longer stay" etc etc. The reception staff are terrified of the Indian managers. One of the Indian managers is a slime ball. Don't trust this man. Also, they play tricks with the exchange rate and if payment is made in the local currency one is likely to upto 20%. For some unknown reason pre 2000 dollar bills are not accepted and bills smaller than 50 attract a vastly inferior rate. All signs of customer being ripped off. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deny058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

A mixed bag of a hotel. Poorly trained and motivated staff and very difficult to get anything done; there is a "can't do" attitude. The attached rock bar goes on late, is very noisy and single men will attract a lot of attention from local women.

The rooms are a mixed bag; some good, some not. It is hard to get anyhting fixed.

The Italian resturant on the terrace is good and it is a nice place to sit and watch the world go by. Service is better than in the hotel. The rock bar is busy and lively, sometimes with live music. Great is you want a night out; not if you want to sleep.

I would say it is overpriced for what you get and not place to spend more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 104 in Kampala
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.4 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 104 in Kampala
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#15 of 104 in Kampala
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: £94 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing