We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and helpful staff”
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Speke Hotel
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and helpful staff”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here in Jan., 2012 and had a very good experience. The rooms are nice, but you can see the age a bit. All of the amenities are there though. The best part was how helpful the staff were. We had lost our luggage and had to make repeated calls to the airline to find out the status, and then get it delivered, and they could not have been nice and more helpful.

Room Tip: I think on one side you can hear the club downstairs a bit more. I can't remember which, so jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    122
    49
    24
    13
See reviews for
27
22
35
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Speke Group owns/manages various properties in Kampala, including self-contained "executive apartments", and we have stayed at three of them over the past five years--the best being Kabira Country Club. The gym is absolutely amazing with an open-air aspect next to the huge swimming pool surrounded by lawns and palm trees. The restaurant also takes advantage of this outdoor environment with tables set along a shaded terrace. As at all the Speke properties which have restaurants, the Indian food is quite delicious, but pricey. Everything is kept very clean, but sometimes the apartments can become a bit shabby because Management seems reluctant to invest in new furniture, appliances, cooking utensils, fresh paint, etc. Whenever I have moved into a Speke apartment for an extended stay, I have always found it less of a hassle to buy/bring some of my own cookware, pillows, towels, and a couple of lamps rather than trying to get anything replaced by the management. By far the worst property is the Speke Apartments opposite the Africana Hotel. We only stayed a few nights and had to move out because the apartment was absolutely and totally disgusting (there is just no other word for it) and the noise from the Africana's outdoor entertainment venue was deafening--all night long. We are currently living at Speke Apartments Kitante (have been here for six months). It was the same story when we moved in: Buy pots and pans, cooking utensils, pillows, some extra towels, etc. The furniture is probably hand-me-downs from Kabira Country Club and could use a good cleaning, especially the upholstered living room pieces. Electricity is iffy in Kampala, and the generator is not always switched on when the power goes out, especially during the night when it can get quite hot without air conditioning. Don't be fooled by the advertisement that says guests at Speke Kitante have access to "the gym, steam room, sauna, pool..." etc. Guests are given complimentary passes to Kabira Country Club which is quite a long taxi ride from Speke Kitante and costs the equivalent of about $25 for a round-trip taxi fare. Speke Kitante is in a quiet area on a rough dirt road that is alternatively dusty or muddy. There are some office buildings in the neighborhood which means that the weekends are especially peaceful. The internet is ok, but really slows up at night. It feels safe here, and it is possible to walk around. The nearest shopping is at the Garden City and Oasis malls, both of which are about ten minutes away by car when there isn't any traffic. There are plenty of good restaurants within about the same radius. All in all, Speke Kitante is fairly typical of the type of self-contained apatments available in Kampala, but if you have the option and don't mind a longer commute to town, I would recommend staying at Kabira Country Club.

Room Tip: If your apartment is close to the front entrance, the large security gate can be noisy whenever a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment for Kabira Country Club. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services.

In reference to your mentioned concern for Speke Apartments kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Usually I stay in Sheraton in Kampala, but this time I felt like trying out Speke again, after so many years. Since you have a disco besides it, You absolutely have to ask for a room as close as possible to the reception area. I had room 125 and I paid usd 125 a night for it. Good quality, nice bathroom, good bedding, good business center; ideal for business traveler. Only breakfast is a bit poor. Good Indian restaurant as well attached to it.

Room Tip: above reception area, and then preferably still not the streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kortenbergtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I definitely try to get a few nights at the Speke when passing through Kampala. An old colonial hotel that some may say is tired but most see as having great charm. The hotel is not perfect but the atmosphere is excellent and this is not London or New York after all. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are nice and clean. Food is good. Pizza was excellent on the patio and the Indian restaurant on site is very good. Would agree about the noise from the bar and I would definitely try to avoid a room overlooking this area unless you are planning on being up late anyway. Definitely a very active site for prostitutes at night but generally well turned out and not aggressive. A very easy walk to the market and other areas of the city.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6mith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I am a 40 year old professor from Canada and I spent my last night here after a long journey through Uganda staying at not-so-great places. The Speke was amazing -- my room was renovated, but the rest of the hotel had been restored to maintain its colonial charm. The bathroom was huge and spotless. The restaurants were reasonably priced and served great food, with an outdoor cafe. The Speke is also in an excellent part of town with lots to do. The senior staff was super friendly and welcoming. This was also very reasonably priced. I would recommend this place to anyone and will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Speke Hotel was once aon of the great hotels in Uganda.
Unfortunately, years of underinvestment and generalo lack of care, has taken its' toll.
The staff there are genrally helpful and friendly but there are amny areas that require attention.
The first is probably Rocks Bar. It is in the garde grounds but is full of prostitutes and other undesirables. It goes on until 3am or so. If you have a room overlooking it, beware the noise. Also, this environment is not suitable for children or those of a religious or moral pursuasion. The hotel needs to serious do something about this rather than just looking at the high takings from the bar.
The interior of the hotel could use a facelift as could to rooms. During my stay, much of the TV system was out of order and some chanels seemed to switch, depending on the football schedule.
The Italian restaurant has good food but is spoilt by the tatty decoration and lousy ambience.
Breakfast is generally OK (nothing to write home about) but is clearly done under sufference as no-one seems to care about the guests. Supposedly open from 6.30am. The palce was deserted until 7.30 with no sign of any breakfast.
Such a shame that such a great hotel should die this long, lingering death.
SHAME.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the main building at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Speke Hotel is I think the oldest hotel in Kampala. Full of charm, very slightly tired. Enormously helpful staff, and the food at both the Italian/European restaurant and the Indian restaurant very good. The Indian restaurant, with its Gujarati curries frankly right in the top drawer - never had anything better and very few to equal them.

The hotel organised everything we asked for and promptly, rates were fair as and as quoted, rooms were clean albeit a little tired (mainly in terms of decor - but if you want to stay in a Sheraton and pretend you are not in a foreign country then dont stay in this hotel).

A great stay and highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony as far away from the Rock Cafe as possible - it runs late
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonB-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
638 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 100 in Kampala
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 100 in Kampala
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#10 of 100 in Kampala
656 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
1.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Property: Speke Hotel
Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing