We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true resort by the lake Victoria”
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Speke Hotel
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true resort by the lake Victoria”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

An excellent resort just outside city center Kampala by the famous lake Victoria. It has every thing you want in a great hotel and resort. A huge property of its own you can spend all your time in side the resort compound even if you don't want to go out. Very green with lush green gardens and walk ways from the guest rooms to the reception, restaurants, stable restaurant, swimming pool and bar. All located over a large area and separated. The breakfast in the Calabash restaurant is classic with wide choice of Indian and African foods.

The guest rooms are very basic compared to the other facilities. No wifi in the room only broadband but the speed is very slow.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    120
    48
    24
    13
See reviews for
27
22
34
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This institution in Ugandan colonial history is well located for the business traveller, provided you get a room facing away from the entertainment and restaurants. Be aware the 'escorts' that frequent the Rock Garden. Variety of options as far as meals are concerned, all reasonable quality, Mamma Mia for Italian, hotel's weekly Mongolian fare, as well as a really good Indian option. Good shuttle service to and from Entebbe airport. The staff are friendly and helpful. This hotel,is OK for a short trip, 2 nights max, longer than that the noise will get to you. PS avoid any rooms near the staircase, these are by far the noisiest.

Room Tip: Keep away from staircase and rooms facing Rock Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotiafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed at the Speke Hotel for 8 days in February. The Speke is excellent value -- clean, spacious rooms, very friendly staff, and a superb central location. It is not a luxury hotel, but we wouldn't have wanted luxury in Kampala. It is simple and appealing, and we felt much more connected to the city and the people staying at The Speke. It is an old hotel surrounded by huge trees which muffle any street noise and provide a quiet setting for several restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Indian restaurant -- the food was fabulous. WiFi works well, and there are several open sitting areas in the hotel for relaxing. The shower is excellent and there was always plenty of hot water.
It is worth noting that the hotel adds a 5% service charge for its restaurants, but we learned that this 5% doesn't really go to the staff -- it is just part of the cost of food etc. so if you get good service, be sure to tip a bit extra.

Room Tip: The first room they showed us was small and smelled of smoke. When we said we needed a larger room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The Speke Hotel is located near the city center in Kampala. It is within walking distance to downtown, a large shopping all, the golf course, and a longer walk to the Uganda Museum. The reception area is nice with comfortable seating, good wireless Internet and a large painting featuring John Hanning Speke the explorer. The rooms are very nice and are accessed from outside, a short walk from the reception area. My room was located adjacent to one of the restaurants and fairly near the street in front of the hotel. I know other reviewers have noted the noise, but it was not a problem for me. I did not notice much noise at all.

The rooms were wonderful with all of the amenities you would expect. The toilet and shower facilities were excellent. The bed was comfortable and the room had air conditioning. There was wireless Internet in the room and they also provided an Ethernet cable if you had a laptop.

There is a lot happening at the Speke Hotel at night. It is located next to a busy street. There are there restaurants associated with the hotel (Indian, Italian, and Continental). I ate at The Rock Garden and the service and food was very good. There is also an open-air bar and “night club” with a band the night I was there. Yes, as some other reviewers have noted, there are many “ladies of the evening” at the bar and they will approach you when you enter. However, with a firm, polite “No Thanks” they did go away. You can make your own choice. I did not find it intimidating in the hotel and restaurant area, but I got the impression that you would not want to wander too far from the hotel at night. Overall, I would recommend the Speke Hotel for a stay in Kampala.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenLivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Greeted with very friendly service on arrival and throughout the stay. The wifi worked well in the rooms and the food in the on site Indian restaurant was good - large portions as most places in Kampala. The rooms however were dated, old and uncomfortable. The pillows were very thick and the AC was super cold even when the temp was adjusted. The shower however was very powerful and the best I've had in Uganda so far. Overall ok for 1 night stop but very noisy if you are near the staircase as people are constantly walking past. Ask for a room away from a seating area or main staircase. I found it overpriced when compared to the room and experience at humura which was cheaper and nicer overall for me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A lovely clean hotel with modern facilities..
Spacious clean bedrooms superb food especially the Indian menu.
The pools a wonderful & drinks reasonable.
If you are there over the weekend ask for the Weekend deal it includes all meals & is not advertised!

Room Tip: Ask for a block close to reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenettedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addis ababa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I have been several times in this hotel and I must say that the service, the positionning (location) and the food choice are one of the best I could find in Africa. Plus I had several times a good discount for staying there, especially because I was there for 3-4 nights every time... the nice think is also the bar-club included.... what can be bad of this is that some nights can be noisy but there are also rooms not facing that side

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#13 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Property: Speke Hotel
Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing