We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest Service at it's Best !!!”
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Speke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am very regular guest at Speke Hotel and i have always liked the services at Speke Hotel. But this time i was compelled to join Trip Advisor and write about this incident that took place, and the manner it was handled by the Management here.

Later in the night after having my dinner when i enter my room, i started bleeding from nose due to High blood pressure. I inform the reception and the Manager (Mr. Alfen) immediately came to my room with a First Aid Kit, thinking i had fallen. When he found out that it was due to the blood pressure, he informed his colleague and took me to the Hospital. By the time we reached hospital the General Manager (Mr. Chetan) and Rooms Manager (Mr. Harsh) had also reached the hospital. They waited till late in the night until the doctors had operated on me and also completed all the formalities of the Hospital. The next day the very rooms Manager had come to pick me up from the Hospital.

I appreciate the concern and thorough professionalism shown by the Management of Speke Hotel. My sincere thanks to Mr. Chetan, Mr. Alfen and Mr. Harsh to care of me in such difficult time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here a few days and was truly unimpressed. Reminds me of the Jacaranda Hotel in Nairobi, and perhaps this hotel has had its better days as well, but it is hard to imagine this was ever anything spectacular. Lots of dark depressive wood and semi-colonial lay-out, but very eerie and empty and virtually no services (no pool, lousy Internet, delapidated restaurant). The sister-hotel Kabira Country Club & Hotel is lightyears ahead, the owners have clearly given up on this place. Even at $ 140k a night it is still too much for the level provided...one to avoid!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalky_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I only ate here, so can't comment on the accommodation. But the restaurant(s), which are divided by cuisine, were very friendly, and the menus nicely varied. The location is pretty (for central Kampala!) and pretty convenient, and the décor and ambience is really nice in a gently dated way. Prices were actually pretty good for the location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WheredMyScreenNameGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you at Speke Hotel, Kampala and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our cuisine and would like to host you and your guests in our rooms. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We value your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Loved the options of food available which is very important when you are travelling. They have one of the best Indian restaurant. Good powerful showers. Nice and friendly staff. They had good break fast as well. Stayed in twin room with patio and enjoyed. Harsh (manager) was very good support! Internet could be improved a little.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Aman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Speke Hotel, Kampala and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the rooms as well as the restaurants and the service of the hotel. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We value your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is the hotel to stay at in Kampala if you want something more traditional and less generic. The building and rooms have the style and feel of the 1930s or 1940s with large, somewhat spare rooms and wooden floors. It is a little run down but the staff are friendly and efficient. There are three good restaurants - including an Indian restaurant - in garden settings and the food was generally very good. I would recommend the Speke to anyone looking for a comfortable, somewhat atmospheric hotel outside the mainstream.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Speke Hotel, Kampala and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the rooms as well as the restaurants and the service of the hotel. We have tried our level best to maintain the colonial look with modern amenities. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We value your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

If you want a typical upmarket sterile hotel, go elsewhere..... I love the Speke however, hasn't changed much since I stayed here last in 1971, but therein lies it's charm.....decent rooms, good breakfast, acceptable wifi, coupled with a great location and a top notch Indian restaurant..... My Idea of heaven!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laflafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Speke Hotel, Kampala and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the rooms as well as the restaurants and the service of the hotel. We have tried our level best to maintain the colonial look with modern amenities. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We value your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The rooms are large, with a small fridge and sometimes a table and chairs for work. The water pressure is excellent. Staff are friendly and reliable. The restaurants serve excellent food, whether pizza, Italian or Indian, and there are other good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: If it is a weekend night you might ask for room on the opposite side of the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank futisaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Speke Hotel, Kampala and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the rooms as well as the restaurants and the service of the hotel. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We value your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 107 in Kampala
689 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#13 of 107 in Kampala
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 107 in Kampala
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 107 in Kampala
786 reviews
1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: £77 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing