We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Speke”
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Speke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Speke hotel is excellent, I always stay in one of their outside rooms, those are great in size, clean and quietness with the exemption of the evening hours when the rockbar is open.
The restaurant is very good special the Italian restaurant, for breakfast you can take this in the open air, perfect.
A recommendation for everybody that visits Kampala.

Room Tip: The rooms inside the hotel I don't know bud the outside rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfons v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team specially The Bar Staff for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We also assure you that Rooms on first floor is also of the same quality. We do wish that you experience it on your next stay.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Conclusion:
Tight payment terms – you feel unwelcome
Still housing red light district women
Security looks impressive, but is not of any use
Pricelevel in restaurants way too high by quality and country
Slow performance and not ready in the morning for breakfast

When we arrived in the hotel, they couldn’t find our booking and we had to show the email correspondence. After that we were immediately presented with the bill for our 2 nights full payment. The price was 166 USD for a double room as agreed (Others seems to have had trouble here and Hotels.com listed 169 USD as the lowest rate) plus 5% Mastercard commission add-on.

Abstract from “House rules”: “Company’s lien on guest’s’ baggage and belongings: In the case of fault in payment of dues by a guest, the Management shall be entitled to lien on the baggage and belongings to detain the same and to sell or auction such property at anytime after the day of departure without reference to the party, and appropriate the net sale proceeds towards the amount due from the guest”. I’ve never seen anything like to it. I must admit that this is my first visit to Kampala and this could be the going rate, but the hotel needs to trust the clients just a little bit more!

At the entry to the hotel they have a metal-detector frame and manual inspection. My daughter was detected in detector, but she was not checked manually. And my luggage including a lot of photo equipment was not checked thoroughly. This is as it often is in East-Africa, but must be for the show… By no means an Israeli check!

The rooms are old-fashion and well maintained, but as a top-5 hotel in Kampala you could expect higher quality. No marble in bathroom. The shower fluctuated in temperature a lot, almost burning at times and colder at others.

Wifi is using usernames and passwords, which means you fall off from time to time. We got two usernames, one didn’t work. Fortunately the passwords has a system, so you can grab a neighboring rooms username and password, so we didn’t ask for a new one! When you get on, the access is really great, much appreciated!


Breakfast is served outside and the tables are cleaned after nightly rain. The coffee is cold and for a non-indian guest there is not so much to choose from, the tailor-made omelettes are great though. You are asked to sign for having breakfast, which is a bit ancient. On our second morning at 7:10am in the morning, nothing was ready and the waiters just moved slowly around without any food…


We also had a dinner at the Khyber Pass restaurant, which has a Chinese menu. The order was misunderstood due to bad lighting at the table from our side and misunderstanding from the waiter. The hotel uses the netto price system, e.g. lists a basic price for sweet & sour, then you have to add the price for rice, a small bottle of water for 3000 UGX. After this they add 5% for service and another 20% for VAT. My daughter had something – it turned out – which was not on the menu-card: chicken-fingers. This meal with all taxes ended up in 65.000 UGX. I’m happy we weren’t really hungry, by Uganda standards this is extremely expensive. Some of the food was overcooked, some okay.

Other travelers have reported about “red light district” conditions. These seems still to be there: I’ve never seen Ugandian women with bare stomach and other trendy women seemed to be known among the guards at the main entrance security zone. It isn’t a problem for me, but if you don’t like it, find another hotel.

And as final note – as other travelers has also reported – the hotel charges 5% commission if you pay with creditcards.

I know the manager is going to comment on this and in general the hotel is ok including the location. Please read the above and ignore manager notes…. He’s not going into the real issues anyway!

Room Tip: There is some traffic in front of the hotel 24hours a day, but the rooms are not noisy anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GLOBETROTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

From the management side, I would like to highlight clarify few things
1. We do have policy of advance payments specially when the Hotel is running on high occupancy and when it comes to credit card payment. The card payment attracts 5 % as the bank are charging us.
2. We have provided safe in individual room for valuables and there is also safe at Front office for valuables. House rules is to protect Hotel from any unexpected claims from the Guest as we do not have policy to disclose the guest valuables.
3. We have taken your complaint against the Breakfast seriously and you will find remarkable change in next visit.
4. The pricing of Restaurant is par with the restaurants around in Town. The break up of Taxes is to give you clear picture of Base amount and taxes.
5. We thank you for the remarks that you never found indecent woman or was disturbed by any of them. This is due fact that whenever guest comments on trip advisor, we do take matters seriously and try to change it.
6. Security is one of the most of important issues to us. I have personally briefed them about your complaint and you will definitely find the change in the next visit
I would personally would request you to give us one more chance to serve you and to compensate for the inconvenience caused to your stay.

Warm Regards
Chetan Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Overall it's a good hotel..clean and convenient(many travel agencies nearby so it's easy for me to buy my ticket from Uganda back to Tanzania...)but I think accommodation in Kampala is expensive..
Breakfast is so so.
The Italian restaurant of the hotel is good!
My room is at the end of the corridor..not very noisy.
Staff are good!!help me to join the Jinja rafting group!!yay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ywyjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel, fabulous staff ( emmanuelle in Mammia Restaurant just great) it's relaxed, unpretentious, great choice of 3 restaurants, but cool and sophisticated at the same time, without being stuffy...that rubs on the guests, you say hello to everyone, spontaneous chats...you order tea and cake for the afternoon, drinking on the terrace as Kampala goes by. The Kyhber pass restaurant is one of the best Indian restaurants I've every tasted ( I lived in Bradford, UK, for years and thought they had the best ) .
The rock Garden bar, is loud and brash and lost of fun, but like every western businessmen bar attracts ladies of adventure, this is Africa everyone, your polite, no thanks and no worries, no hassle, no pressure....sit and enjoy.....great value for money, your not cut off from an African experience like the big hotels. This is intimate, a real old fashioned colonial style hotel with a tea terrace and fab food and staff.....come again, yes.

Room Tip: rooms away from rock garden end......if you need total silence to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Markus,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed at several hotels in Kampala, and overall Speke is great value and one I return to time and time again. It can be noisy but has city centre character and great restaurants - an Italian and Khyber pass (Indian). Helpful and friendly staff. Rooms vary - some are better than others.

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Joseph,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team specially The Bar Staff for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Splendid Hotel will stay at Speke all the time I visit Kampala...excellent!!!
The staff are friendly and make you feel homely.
The restaurants have some of the best food in Kampala. I recommend Speke Hotel to anyone visiting Kampala.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Joseph Foroma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team specially The Bar Staff for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Speke Hotel , is the best hotel for the business travellers around the center of the town and saves a loads of times and serves as a center of business point.

I have always stayed in speke for the last 5 times of my visit to KAMPALA.

This time , it was quite different , I met this guy Mr Abdul Lateef Chaaku. , what an hospitable person , irrespective of him being in a different department , he took full care of needs and wants.. amazing person and speke hotel is gifted to have a talented person like him.

Whoeva goes to speke , please find this guy. he is normally in BAR division.

By the time I left , we have become buddies.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDAnsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Ansar,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team specially The Bar Staff for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 107 in Kampala
689 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#13 of 107 in Kampala
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 107 in Kampala
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 107 in Kampala
786 reviews
1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: £77 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing