We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
129
138
55
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
138
55
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock gardenkhyber passoldest hotelindian foodpleasant staydecent hotelspecial thankscentral kampalabusiness triphome away from homepizzeriaugandagmenvironmentsafarilaptop
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This is a centrally located, medium-priced hotel.

The rooms are large with, in my case, a large, very comfortable four-poster bed!

Breakfast is the same very day but good!

The hotel has a range of restaurants and is within walking distance of several others.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of the tourist section of Kampala, near the other hotels.
Its a real colonial gem of a building and has nice restaurants and nice rooms. If that were all, I would heartily recommend this place.
The problem is, at night time, it essentially becomes a huge brothel. I went with work colleagues and we were amazed (in a negative way) at how overt the solicitation by sex workers in the bars and restaurants were.
Beautiful hotel, but extremely off-putting.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Canadaman1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

For the price, this is a terrible hotel. The Rock Garden music is VERY loud, and they could not get me to a room that was quiet. I got sick after a meal there, and the staff and service were so-so. Was awakened by a knock on the door one evening, and a phone call the other evening from ladies of the night. The hotel seems to ENCOURAGE this. Absolutely avoid at all costs. I moved to the Fang Fang, and was very happy there.

  • Stayed: January 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank africatravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

The Speke Hotel is a nice, colonial style, hotel. However, the rooms are a bit noisy because of the bars surrounding the hotel.
The breakfast is rather poor.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LindaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

I have been a frequent traveller to Uganda over the last 3 years and have stayed in many of the city hotels.
The Speke Group of hotels the following: Speke Hotel, Kabira Country Club, Speke Muyonyo Resort, and Tourist Hotel;

The Speke, the oldest established hotel in Kampala, been there since the early 1900's (and it shows), offers prospect of so much more, very noisy and lacks good security, strange non resident solitation takes places late at night - at your door. Could'nt wait to check out of this hotel everytime I was booked in, in fact banned my travel agent from placing me there after my 4th visit.

Kabira Country Club, a fantasy name, a U shaped establishment with a gym and swimming pool, is as far as this extends to being a Country Club, with some tennis / squash courts evident as well. Expensive but decently appointed. I stayed here for 6 months, so that indicates it was acceptable. It is a favoured venue for corporate launches, so it can get noisy in the main courtyard area.

Speke Resort, never stayed there but had meals and used conference facilities, well out of town and a hassle to get to if relying on taxis etc. Setting does not appeal to me, but offers a variety of accommodation from traditional hotel rooms to bungalows.

Beware this hotel group train their staff in the art of profiteering from foreign exchange:
- in house exchange rate if you want to pay in local currency isconverted from USD to Ugandan Shillings at least 10% above the going rate;
- charges to pay by credit card, will add 5% (in USD) plus USD 10;
- payment by bank draft / cheque / electronic transfer can add USD 25 - 30 to the bill.

- will charge you up to a 20% service fee on your bill, then add VAT on top of that charge and the listed menu ordered. Read the fine print on the menus, as each restaurant in the group has different rules.

A WARNING never add a tip onto the bill, especially if paying by card at any of these places - the waiters / staff will never get it.
If the service has been good, make sure you give them cash in hand.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AfricanGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews