We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Suites(Kampala)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$775
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Suites(Kampala)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
129
137
54
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
137
54
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantrock gardenkhyber passoldest hotelpleasant staydecent hotelcentral kampalaspecial thanksrooms are cleanbusiness tripvisit kampalaeast africahome away from homepizzeriaugandagmproperties
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The hotel management is a bunch of deviants to say the least. They fail to keep their word on agreed rates. At the time of checking out the agreed rate does not appear at all on the invoice with silly excuses such as "manger is having dinner", "the lower rate is for longer stay" etc etc. The reception staff are terrified of the Indian managers. One of the Indian managers is a slime ball. Don't trust this man. Also, they play tricks with the exchange rate and if payment is made in the local currency one is likely to upto 20%. For some unknown reason pre 2000 dollar bills are not accepted and bills smaller than 50 attract a vastly inferior rate. All signs of customer being ripped off. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deny058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

A mixed bag of a hotel. Poorly trained and motivated staff and very difficult to get anything done; there is a "can't do" attitude. The attached rock bar goes on late, is very noisy and single men will attract a lot of attention from local women.

The rooms are a mixed bag; some good, some not. It is hard to get anyhting fixed.

The Italian resturant on the terrace is good and it is a nice place to sit and watch the world go by. Service is better than in the hotel. The rock bar is busy and lively, sometimes with live music. Great is you want a night out; not if you want to sleep.

I would say it is overpriced for what you get and not place to spend more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank west1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My family and I stayed one night at the Speke in Sept/10 and cancelled our second night. Both our rooms were above the all-night club, pounding out music until 3:00 AM. When I called the front desk at midnight, I was told the music sometimes plays up until 5:00 and offered a quieter room - why didn't they just put us in a quiet room to begin with? In addition, we were kept awake by prostitutes arguing outside our windows - a nice family environment!

We had an early start the next morning so went down to have breakfast at 6:30. They advertise their breakfast from 6:00 but there was no sign of it at 6:30. The woman at the front desk was incredibly unhelpful - offering a variety of excuses from "the person responsible for breakfast slept in" to a car accident to a traffic jam (at 6:00 am?). She hoped he would arrive in time for us to have breakfast before we had to leave. I finally found an assistant manager and he offered more excuses but managed to rally some staff to get breakfast served. All of the sudden there were 10+ staff to serve breakfast who apparently had been sitting around waiting to be forced to work. Not impressive and won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RJDemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We liked the Speke Hotel very much, our room was large comfortable & very clean.
Two good outside restaurants, with excellent food , service & very friendly staff.
A good one or two nights stopover in Kampala, with plenty of atmosphere.
Our only slight grump being the bar, it was attached to one of the restaurants, & more like a disco, but perhaps thats our age!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I was asked to pay in advance, which should have warned me that something was amiss. My room overlooked their nightclub which boomed out dance music all night. Only after my several complaints, did they put me in another room with less din. I was accosted several times by prostitutes while trying to have a quiet drink in the outside bar area and was telephoned in the middle of the night by another. The hotel claimed they had no control over them. The charges for outside telephone calls are exorbitant.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Equality123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews