We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for downtown Kampala” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Imperial

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Imperial
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for downtown Kampala”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed here multiple nights for meetings in Kampala. It's a good value relative to some of the other big hotels downtown. The rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast is quite good. Dinner is hard to deal with because of the nightly, really loud, live music.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial, responded to this review, 9 May 2015
Greetings Jeff,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.
we’re glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    15
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
4
6
3
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family. We occupied three rooms in total. This hotel pinches pennies to the extreme. In spite of this, the rate is expensive. 100 usd.

Rooms: toiletries were missing from rooms. My cousin didn't even get shampoo. We asked for some
but never got it. They also
admitted that they are so cheap that they'll take a near empty bottle of shampoo or soap and
transfer it to another room as is. Hence why you see near empty bottles of toiletries in your room, if they're there at all.

Breakfast is included but
it's not good. When food containers empty out they don't bother to refill anything.

This was a horrible hotel with ridiculously bad customer service. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetangel7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial, responded to this review, 9 May 2015
Dear SweetAngle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.
The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory.
Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Pretty worn out, and I had to shift a number of rooms to ensure that all facilities worked as they should. Musty cupboards and chipped paint in the room, old tiles and plumbing in the bathroom. A sagging wooden staircase that has been reinforced at the edges such that you will trip if you dont watch your step. No lift. Only reason I continued staying here was that I was part of a group and we werent getting group accomodation in any other place. And the group rate was USD 107 per night, not cheap. Some good wooden doors and wood panelling in the corridor, reminiscent of its colonial past. Staff friendly.

Room Tip: The live band in teh restaurant can be quite noisy, so choose a room away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirajM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial, responded to this review, 9 May 2015
Greetings Viraj,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize that you found your visit disappointing, a lot has changes have been made now, we have a new renovated place.
I'm sure you will love it. we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed here for four nights in May and loved it. The Live band at the main restaurant is great. A pool side restaurant and bar among other choices and its central location means one is not held hostage! The gym is good but could be better. Would be great if they offered an ironing board and iron box rather than having the staff doo the ironing for you.

They also have many conferencing facilities to cater for different group sizes.

Room Tip: Room 319 was spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial, responded to this review, 9 May 2015
Dear Edward,
It is always a delight to read such amazing reviews but most importantly to hear that that you truly enjoyed your stay.we look forward to welcoming you back soon for it will be a pleasure hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel brings reminiscence of colonial time Uganda and could be made into something spectacular with all the old details around the house. Sadly, it seems very little has happened in terms of maintenance since those days. The rooms are worn down, beds not very comfy, staff are tired – but mostly friendly - and the food is not very nice. Breakfast is edible. The location, however, is great if you have business in downtown Kampala. The Grand Imperial is acceptable but not really good value since the rooms are quite expensive. I would stay again if the Sheraton is full.

Room Tip: Check your A/C when checking in. If it is not working, it takes forever to get fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We haven't stayed here but we ate in the restaurant a few times. On a previous visit, having paid the two separate bills in full, the waitress ran after us demanding payment of one of the bills we had already paid.

This time, my partner ordered the Tilapia Meunière. This was described in the menu as tilapia fillets cooked in butter. What arrived were three fish fillets heavily encased in a coating of hot red spices and heavily salted. My burger arrived and tasted a bit like an inch thick block of corrugated cardboard and about as moist! We complained. The fish was replaced but this time the three fish fillets were coated in what looked like a kind of batter. We complained again. As we were discussing the issue with the manager, the fish meal was removed and replaced with a plate of chicken thighs. What the hell was going on? Staff didn't seem to know what they were doing. Eventually, we were told we wouldn't be charged for any food. I should think not!!

The view from the restaurant balcony is nice and you can watch the hustle bustle o Kampala from on high.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial, responded to this review, 9 May 2015
Dear Kenc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Very friendly people , great experience. Food in the hotel was limited but was good, a range of UGandan beers which were very good. As a base for business good.... Breakfast needs to be developed!
Room was well serviced and a nice touch of turning back the sheets before bed time.
I would recommend for people who do not want frills or a commercial. Chain.

Room Tip: Choose away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial, responded to this review, 8 May 2015
Dear Liz,

Thank you very much for sharing your amazing review of our property, your remarks are very valuable. we look forward to welcoming you back soon for it will be a pleasure hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Royale Hotel
Imperial Royale Hotel
#61 of 95 in Kampala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#24 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#11 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Imperial

Property: Grand Imperial
Address: Plot 6 / 6A , Nile Avenue | P.O. Box 7195, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Imperial Hotel Kampala
Grand Imperial Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing