We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like Family”
Review of Adonai House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adonai House
Ranked #10 of 195 Kampala B&B and Inns
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Felt like Family”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stay at Adonai on almost every visit to Uganda and am never disappointed with the hospitality. The staff are welcoming and attentive to personal needs. From menu selection to assistance with special needs they offer superior service in a family like setting.
The guest house is great base while in Kampala. Internet was a bit faster than my last stay in Nov 2013.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
8
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at a number of places in Uganda and Adonai House was by far our favourite! Very secure, comfortable and with great on site meals, it made our stay very comfortable. Also, the internet was very fast, allowing us to upload our photos daily and keep our friends at home connected. One of the best parts is the common area where you can meet very interesting people, staying there. Much better than a hotel/motel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibadan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

i stayed one night in Adonai guest house, very nice and quite place , very nice and lovely staff.
it is always like 15 mins to the town Kampala.
we paid 70$ for a twin bed room.
breakfast was very good, internet also was very good.
it is really very good but i found the price is a bit much...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaher f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This is the best guest house I have stayed at in the Kampala area! Comfortable rooms, good breakfast, and very friendly and accommodating staff. Last time we were here (November of 2013) the Internet was almost non-existant. We were assured that this time it was fixed, but it is still barely usable. If you need the Internet for business or to stay in touch with home, you should stay elsewhere. Otherwise, I highly recommend this guest house!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This is a basic and simple guest house based not too far from the airport. It is basically a stop gap between adventure and airport, and due to its city location it maintains simple standards. Many people working for local charities use this as a base. Beds are singles in the main and covered in mosquito nets (something you'll get use to during any trip to Uganda). It has a hot shower and if you are doing a budget or even mid range trip, make the most of hot showers when you can.
But the food is great and cheap. For $10 a head, you get a great home cooked dinner. Superb! And the hospitality is always with a smile ... At 1am and at 5am. Thanks Anne.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ando11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this property at the beginning and end of our Uganda trip. On arrival it was mid-night, yet the staff greeted us and showed us to our room. It was basic, but consisted of two single beds, with mosquito nets, and shower ensuite. After just 5 hours we were all back up and again the staff were there to serve us breakfast. I have to admit, I left with a neutral view of this property, but that was changed when we returned and were able to experience it in the day too. We had a warm welcome back and spending time in the communal lounge and having dinner it felt very homely. The dinner was local cuisine, so gave us a chance to try things in a safe setting and the free WiFi was a link to the technology world after 9 days offline. With a gated front and full-time security guard, it felt safe and was conveniently located to a local supermarket.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have stayed at Adonai since 2011 and always find it to be functional and clean. The atmosphere is "homey", meals are "home-cooked" and very good. Breakfast is quite good and included in the rate. The evening meal is extra and must be ordered in advance. Wifi is very good throughout. I think the rooms have a bit too much furniture. Location is fine but there is nothing to do in the area. Note thast rates are per person (USD35) not per room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 100 in Kampala
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#12 of 195 in Kampala
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apricot Guest House
Apricot Guest House
#4 of 195 in Kampala
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
637 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonai House

Property: Adonai House
Address: Plot 2431 Adonai House, Lower Muyenga Lubbobbo Close Off of TankHill Road, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Kampala locations providing clean, affordable lodging in safe and secure settings in the greater Kampala area. Perfect accommodations for travelers from all over the world. Thousands have found Adonai Guesthouse a perfect place to stay while visiting Uganda-Africa, from Individuals to groups-Adonai Guest Houses are the place for you in Kampala. Located in Lower Muyenga, off of Lubobo Close, Tank Hill Read a 10 minutes drive from downtown Kampala, within easy walking distance to banks, restaurants, swimming pools and health club. This facility has served countless travellers with a well deserved rest after a long trip, a long day or simply a place where to relax with a wholesome dinner. Sit on the veranda and watch the sun set in the distance. There are 11 self contained clean rooms and 5 with shared bath facility, a spacious dining and Lounge area to accommodate visiting teams. We have comfortable and quiet outdoor sitting areas to enjoy you tranquility and reading. There is ample parking should you have a vehicle and we can always arrange for transport to almost anywhere. The Guest House is located within a short driving distance from Kabalagala town centre ,Shopping malls, Restaurants and eateries and an International Hospital. We can provide transportation and safaris for groups and or individuals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adonai House Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing