We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old world hotel without the charm”
Review of Hotel Africana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Africana
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Centrally located...good places to eat in the immediate neighbourhood...lot of convention halls and meeting rooms, hence good if you are attending one or organising one.... that's about it. Rooms are ok to say the least.. Airconditioner badly placed in the rooms, and if it works you must be happy. Restaurant and coffee shop quiet good for immediate needs but not for fine dining.. service in the lawns inexorably late.. money exchange counter could have been more guest friendly and helpful. The staff are very courteous and friendly in the lobby and coffee shop. For the tariff rooms could definitely have been better. wifi works really well in corridors and quite the opp in the rooms.

Room Tip: Take rooms in the new high rise block.. The rooms in the older block are run down and noisy
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayanidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Africana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I am a USA physician, I am a platinum member of Delta Airlines. I fly a lot and all over the world. I stay at a lot of hotels monthly. Compared to USA hotels, this hotel, like most Uganda hotels are substandard but compared to other hotels in Uganda this one is about the average. Average, meaning, the hotel needs fixing up, things dont work that should work, etc.. If you choose to stay here, then know that the gym is also substandard to USA, but there is enough there to get a pump. There is no microwave, which is typical for all of Uganda, but there is a coffee pot, a fridge, and a shower that has very little water pressure at the 9th floor. The swimming pool was under construction so no pool, bummer. The food was average Ugandan food. Over all, I would stay here again, maybe. It was an average Ugandan hotel. Internet was poor on the 9th floor, I had to go to the lobby to do anything online. They cleaning my clothes, it took them 24 hours. There is a in room safe that was to small for my laptop and it was free to use. The bed was not to hard and not soft either. On the 9th floor the view was nice. The bell boys didn't grope me for tips, that was nice. They did have a conciere to help with taxi, that was nice, not all Uganda hotels have that. And, when staying in the tower like I did, you will be a good distance from the front desk. Also, this hotel is used by the locals mostly, if you are white like I am you will be one of only a few there, not many whites stay here, I also add that, although I got a lot of staring at me no one was rude to me concerning my color or race.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBartonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I recently stayed here for a week on a business trip. The hotel is well located, with nice, spacious rooms in the executive section. The garden, where you can have dinner and drinks, is really an asset. Personnel are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WilHOegstgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel has not been maintained properly. They have been expanding in an unplanned manner. The air conditioning wasn't working. Generally hotel looks dated. However the service is good. The food is ok. They a lot of space and a big lawn. They have a big convention hall so you have a lot of guests around. Next to the hotel there is a place where they serve all types of food for a reasonable price. Overall it's a good value for money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank 1960manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and only went back because the event I was attending was there. I thought they may taken the criticism on board and improved, but they didn't.
The key cards still wipe clean every time you leave the hotel. The internet is awful. Rooms are tired. Power still goes off. Generally poor. Will not go back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Outdated rooms, nothing special. In a way everything is there, but at the same time it isn't: airco is present but not working, sockets are scarce and on the added extension cord only one socket is working, the bedlamp is plugged but not functional. Reporting these issues did not solve a lot.
But on the other hand, the hotel offers similar or better quality than many other business hotels in Kampala, the average here is low and this hotel fits in just well. Nice pool, big outdoor area for having a beer, but no garden present. Close by (5-10 min walking) to Garden City, Oasis Mall and downtown just around the corner on walkable distance/short taxi ride.
Mosquito nets are there, but don't work very well since they are on curtain line, and they are needed as well as the airco is not working and the balcony door does not close properly

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed 5 nights and left a bit satisfied and unsatisfied.
Room> 11th floor - splendid view, but the elevator goes only to the 10th floor. So ask for a room on the 10 floor if you want view but don't want to climb stairs. Room is big, but lights are very weak so it feels dark in the evenings.
Very few cable-channels. Good AC and a strong fan makes the room temperature fine.
Bathroom is big, but water pressure to low in shower.
Breakfast buffet is ok but very uneven - some days there is plenty of fruit - other days just pineapple and papaya. Good, quick eggstation. But this morning - coffee was not ready 30 minutes after the breakfast room had opened! (not a good start of day for a swede...)
Conferencevenue ok. But lunch for conferenceparticipants --- hmm buffet was not filled even if long queue of people waiting. Not good.

Also one strange thing is that after 1900 hrs you have to take the elevator to the 1st floor - walk a looooong corridor to find the elevator to the 10th floor. Strange.

But staff is very friendly. Good taxiservice. Quick check in and ccheckout.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 10th floor as the elevator does not reach the top floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#15 of 103 in Kampala
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 103 in Kampala
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Metropole Hotel Kampala
#24 of 103 in Kampala
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
1.3 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Africana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Africana

Address: Plot 2-4 Wampewo Avenue | P.O. Box 10218, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: £85 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Africana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Africana is Uganda 's Premier luxury Hotel. The hotel has over 14 fully furnished well air-conditioned conference halls with seating capacities ranging from 20 - 3000 participants. Our Venue can provide seating for over 2500 people, making it ideal for conferencing, workshops, mega wedding receptions, exhibitions and concerts. Hotel Guests receives access to health facilities including Gym, Massage, Sauna, Swimming Pool, Steam Bath & access to famous kampala Golf club. Hotel Africana offers weekend entertainment featuring live popular bands and pulsating traditional dance music shows along with repeat live performance from our pianist. With option of Ngeye & Kibs restaurant, our gusts can enjoy variety of dishes, freshly made by our experienced chefs. Our coffee shop & live bakery provides enough ways to enjoy uganda coffee beans along with cakes & breads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Africana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africana Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing