We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
300 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a conveniently located hotel in the one best areas of the city. The room though spacious looked old and I could see that renovation was underway - which created a lot of noise. A manager who spotted me walking along the corridor was kind enough to stop me and apologise for the noise and inconvenience. Being from India, I found the fare at the Indian restaurant just average.The outdoor ambience at the restaurant was however great. The barman at the bar was a novice and appeared clueless on how to get his job done. Breakfast buffet was just average. The saving grace at the restaurants and bar was an Indian manager called Mohammad who always appeared at the right time to assist guests. On the whole, I would say that it's an average hotel which is a bit overpriced for the value it offers.

Room Tip: Ask for a block where there's no renovation work going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunilNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a nice stay at our hotel. We apologize for some of the shortcomings you experienced especially with the renovation going on. The renovations are in there final stages and we hope you will return so we can give you an even nicer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    93
    44
    20
    17
See reviews for
11
23
21
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location. Some areas are in need of an upgrade, and the bathroom in my room certainly was.
Don't expect much of the gym, the equipment is old and not much variety in terms of cardio.
Nice grounds.
Staff is generally helpful, breakfast is good and the Indian restaurant is really excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review and appreciate us. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you an even much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at the Fairway Hotel in May this year for a work trip - I found the hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. My room's balcony door did not have a lock & it was fixed asap. The location is fine; and the restaurant is nice (try the goat) and good for meetings; the pool was nice too. the rooms are fine - I had mosquito nets, hot water, good wifi etc. Breakfast was ok - toast, cakes, and some hot food options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was on a business trip from Europe to Kampala and did not really have big expectations as it was my first trip to eastern Africa.
I had a long flight and checked in late, the staff was still there and welcomed us with fresh juice even in the night when everyone was sleeping :)

They had some AC problems in some of the rooms but were friendly enough to give you a better room. I hade the room in the top floor with good view.

In the morning you get a very nice breakfast buffet with the same man making your special omelet, while you start with the fresh fruit.

The hotel also have a nice pool and gym. The gym actually was bigger than i have seen in many other hotels, so its good if you work out while your on vacation or business trip.

Also it is close to a shopping mall if you feel shopping.

Their restaurant have some of the BEST indian dishes i have tasted ever! Please do your self a favour and eat the indian dinner, its fantastic!! End it with a great african tea spiced with ginger ! You will thank me later! :)
I will come back any day to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DkLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and reviewing us here. We are honored that you enjoyed your stay here. Our goal is to give our guests the best experience through our warm African hospitality and excellent services and we are glad we achieved that with you.
We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Kampala and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The reception area looks promising and I found the staff to be welcoming and attentive but the bedrooms are not up to the standard that would be expected of a budget chain in the UK. This is Africa after all and is where just enough is good enough. The outside areas are well maintained and the pool looked tempting although I didn't go in. If you're looking for a relatively low cost base for a couple on nights then this hotel is fine, just don't set your expectations too high.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nauntongolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you staying with us and reviewing us here. It is our pleasure to offer you the best services. We are currently renovating our rooms in order to give our guests a great experience during their stay.
We hope to host you again and give you much better memories of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Hotel looks nice but don't be fooled by the entrance and the reception. The rooms and in fact the entire building says 1970s. Its a big property and they seriously need to do some face lift here! There are ants in the room...water gets clogged in the bath tub...couple of lights in my room are not working...the linen and towels are rough/hard in texture..maybe because its too old or its been washed in a cheap detergent..and of the ones working..hey are so dim that I can hardly see anything at night in my room.
The staff is no doubt friendly and for those of you looking for some "action" just go to the bar in the hotel and I'm sure you will find some good company.
Overall I would not like to stay here again, as I have visited Kampala before and stayed at much better hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashdeep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us here. We apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay with us. You are indeed right and we take great pride in the fact that our hotel is over 40 years old. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of room renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of my assignment in Iganga. It was heaven to have a hot shower and non-stop electricity after the guest lodge in Iganga. The staff at Fairway are excellent; breakfast was wonderful (I taught the chef about a Hawaiian omelet.) Suggest rooms in the Annex will be quieter. Rooms are very large and well maintained.

Room Tip: If you need sleep, ask for a room in the Annex wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaDSwenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are honoured that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to give our guests the best experience during their stay with us
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing