We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless!”
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spotless!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Fairway is located in a good area with access to some main shops like nakumat and also some traditional crafts. I found it impressively clean in particular the bathrooms (in the rooms and the public areas as well) The Food in general was not great in both of their restaurants. The gym has really really really old equipment that has seen better days but the trainer more than makes up for it. This was my first time in Kampala would I stay there once again? Probably not, but more to do with the fact that I would like to see other hotels since for the rate paid I think there might be better ones around.

Room Tip: away from the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing us. We are privileged that you chose to spend your first time in Kampala with us. We appreciate your feedback and will forward it to the related departments for corrections to be made. The hotel is also currently going through renovations to update its facilities.
We would be pleased to host you whenever you return to Kampala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    95
    46
    20
    17
See reviews for
11
24
21
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Fairway. The huge, outdoor pool was refreshing after traveling to the hotel, and a massage (good value - UGX40000 for 1 hour) made for a great afternoon! The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Garden City and the Golf Course Hotel restaurants if you want to venture out for dinner. The room was lovely and the aircon helped a lot. The buffet breakfast was delicious.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and reviewing our hotel. We are honored by your appreciation for our services and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you an even much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My 2nd time at this hotel...... overall I am happy. Apart there was issues like water pressure in my shower head and the air conditioning was not the best. Apart this a nice place to stay..... centrally located to all business and commercial places..... neat and clean. ...... decent food...... Good staff...... Shall wanna come back and stay with them again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vkpatodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your compliments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The issues you have mentioned are currently a work-in-progress that will be rectified very soon.
We would be honored to host you again and give you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabale
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have mixed feelings with this Hotel. Let me keep it simple and give a pro and contra.
Positiv :
Location
Renovated rooms but some details were left unfinished.
Fusion restaurant serves excellent food with often some nice entertainment.
Staff is friendly and helpfull.
The gardens are well composed with some nice shops.
Rates are competitiv.
Negativ :
Non renovated rooms are terrible. Please go on fast with renovation.
Very slow service @ breakfast and often empty plates @ buffet.
Streetside has some noice from kitchen and nightguards who leave their radio on whole night and don't care to talk loud.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms ++
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pablo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review us. Your feedback about noise and breakfast have been forwarded to the respective departments in order for corrective measures to be taken immediately. Our renovations are in the final stages and we are working hard to give all our rooms an uplift to improve our guests' experience.
We look forward to another opportunity to host you again and give you a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a conveniently located hotel in the one best areas of the city. The room though spacious looked old and I could see that renovation was underway - which created a lot of noise. A manager who spotted me walking along the corridor was kind enough to stop me and apologise for the noise and inconvenience. Being from India, I found the fare at the Indian restaurant just average.The outdoor ambience at the restaurant was however great. The barman at the bar was a novice and appeared clueless on how to get his job done. Breakfast buffet was just average. The saving grace at the restaurants and bar was an Indian manager called Mohammad who always appeared at the right time to assist guests. On the whole, I would say that it's an average hotel which is a bit overpriced for the value it offers.

Room Tip: Ask for a block where there's no renovation work going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunilNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a nice stay at our hotel. We apologize for some of the shortcomings you experienced especially with the renovation going on. The renovations are in there final stages and we hope you will return so we can give you an even nicer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location. Some areas are in need of an upgrade, and the bathroom in my room certainly was.
Don't expect much of the gym, the equipment is old and not much variety in terms of cardio.
Nice grounds.
Staff is generally helpful, breakfast is good and the Indian restaurant is really excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review and appreciate us. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you an even much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at the Fairway Hotel in May this year for a work trip - I found the hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. My room's balcony door did not have a lock & it was fixed asap. The location is fine; and the restaurant is nice (try the goat) and good for meetings; the pool was nice too. the rooms are fine - I had mosquito nets, hot water, good wifi etc. Breakfast was ok - toast, cakes, and some hot food options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 101 in Kampala
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 101 in Kampala
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#8 of 101 in Kampala
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing