We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not single good thing!”
Review of Hotel Diplomate

Hotel Diplomate
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diplomate
Ranked #82 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I was there before 2 days, cheap hotel means cheap in everything

rooms are sooting, everything, doors, walls, bed sheets, pillows, even mosquito nets colour turned to black, dare to take shower?, no way!

I broke the ashtray in room and they asked me to pay $24 it!

breakfast is small sample and took them one hour to prepare coffe&omlet!

the view is not as great as one can imagine, very noisy neighbour,

it's cheap hotel, cheap people, never step there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AymanFaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diplomate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

My brother and I stayed there for two nights (two nights too many may I add).
Upon arrival we had our bags searched although I think it was more a case of them wanting to look at our things, then finally got to reception to ask for rooms (3pm) where we were told to wait for half an hour... after waiting for an hour I went back to reception to find the receptionist asleep!!

The rooms were grubby and run down and in massive need of refurbishment. I suspect that the bedding had not been washed. The bed had fleas or bed bugs and I have the bites to prove it and the pillow smelled fungal.

Out on the main balcony of the restaurant you will be treated with a breath taking view, however, the drinks are all warm including the beer, (seemed very hard to get them to put beers/drinks in the fridge/freezer). You can also enjoy two conflicting types of music playing overly loud along with a blazingly loud television.

Almost half of what is on the menu is not available and the food is massively salty and very basic and over priced for what it is.

Although they say that they have internet we were told we could not use it. Why? "because it makes the lights dim."

Paying for anything is difficult and receiving your change takes time (we waited up to half an hour), and more than once were told that they did not have change!!! We were not even paying with large bills.

Although it says in the information booklet in your room you will receive a jug of free drinking water this is not the case, you must pay for it.

The service was painfully slow and any food or snacks ordered took an average of 1 hour to come even though we were the only people there.

The staff were generally apathetic and unhelpful and at times argumentative especially during check out (over the water bed bugs and cleanliness of the rooms).

The Hotel Diplomate has a ton of potential and Id recommend the view to anyone, however, do not stay there as it is laughably mismanaged and its sleeping quarters are hazardous to your health.

Room Tip: Some where other than the Hotel Diplomate
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Lovely sunset from balcony, a million miles from the bustle and chaos below...Staff lovely. Had a fantastic crepe suzettes' as desert! Laundry to be avoided as very expensive! Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We went to view HD & left in total agreement we would not stay there.
Good location on leafy & upmarket Tank Hill & the views from the hotel are superb - however this is just not enough. We viewed 3 rooms all shabby with a grubby feel. It is by no stretch of the imagination worth the room tariffs.

Room Tip: Check the place out in person before you stay.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank BongoBongo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The view of the city and the feeling of being secure is probably the strongest attractions. After they warmed up to us, the staff was reason enough to be there. I enjoyed them greatly. Sylvia was sweet. As their number of guests increases, they will hopefully increase their menu, their items on hand and make a few improvements.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rev John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We read the few reviews about Hotel Diplomate and were unsure about whether or not to stay here so we went a looked at a couple of the rooms as the hotel we were already staying at was nearby. We stayed in a room that cost around $35 US and were really happy with it - it had a little balcony with a view, it was clean with a mosquito net. The only bad aspect was the hot water in the shower - a little dodgy but we just went without hot water which was absolutely fine. The staff were really friendly and a generous breakfast was included. The best part to this hotel is that it feels more African than a lot of the hotels, it's just on the edge of the chaos of Kampala but close enough that you can walk to bars and restaurants (about 15minutes down the hill, a 2 min cab ride up the hill). We loved having breakfast looking over the city, or having a beer at the end of a hot day watching the sunset. Would definitely stay here again, were surprised that there were so few guests there at the time.

Room Tip: the penthouse at the top - we had a look but it wasn't worth the extra money compared to the oth...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

... cold food, warm drinks, expensive entrance fee, no music, unfriendly servants .....
spent new years eve in 2006, it was marvellous, the reason I went there again.
but: never again
except: during daytime and evening (sunset and view to kampala) you will never forget... ask for cold beer !





  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wim100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.0 mi away
J-Frigh Hotel
J-Frigh Hotel
#48 of 104 in Kampala
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivys Hotel
Ivys Hotel
#39 of 104 in Kampala
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Biraj International Hotel
Biraj International Hotel
#59 of 104 in Kampala
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#40 of 104 in Kampala
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#55 of 104 in Kampala
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomate

Address: 971 Muyenga Tank Hill, Diplomate Road, Plot | P O Box 6968, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £27 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel with the best view of Kampala city and Lake Victoria. Located on the highest hill, Tank Hill. Family owned by the Katatumba Group of companies. We provide complimentary airport transfers on request. All major credit cards and personal cheques accepted. A Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Diplomate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing