We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Emin Pasha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emin Pasha Hotel
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Emin Pasha is not just a hotel, it is an experience. Whether you are on business or using Kampala as a base for a tourism jaunt in East Africa, the Emin Pasha is just something you can not afford to miss. It isn't cheap, but it isn't outrageous either, but by African standards it is 7 star.

Said to be the location used as Idi Amin's home in the film "The Last King of Scotland", the hotel is colonial spledour in real time. The staff are young, bright, and helpful and when they say they will miss you when you leave, they actually mean it!

It is an oasis of peace and comfort, but done in its own way that bears no resemblance to global 5 star chain hotels.

The restaurant was something to look forward to each night. Although a very limited menu, the food is fresh, local, and magnificent, I don't often ask to meet the chef to thank him, but I did this time.

Book early before you leave for Uganda however, it is a small hotel and it has a huge reputation, if you don't book early you will miss out and that would be a dreadful shame, this is one of my all time favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: Just book early, even geting the worst room will be better than having to stay at a chain hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Its evident that you know much about our history here in Uganda.Thank you so much for taking time out to write such a kind review.You were very generous with your comments and we appreciate that.Emin Pasha Hotel is surely "Not to be missed".Cheers and pls visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed in Emin Pasha on business. Would love to go back with the family. This is a boutique hotel with many cool touches, From the home made cake on arrival to freshly baked biscuits at tea time in each room and a small massage hit with an excellent masseuse- it is just perfect. If you get the right room - its an experience. I started with room no 5 ( see photos)- it was palatial with a large courtyard and plenty of space. On my second stay a few days later however I was given a tiny little room ( 23 - I think) and the water heating system collapsed - so i had no hot water for 2 days. Breakfast in the very open was surreal- gorgeous museli, preserves, eggs benedict- fruit- >I felt like a pasha. The bar is also outdoors and quaint - the drinks are ok. Dinner was like in many parts of east Africa-.quasi Indian cuisine. I enjoyed my stay- loved the various spaces for meeting and relaxing- so much nicer than a chain or regular 5 star.Strongly reccommend with the right room.

Room Tip: Room no 5 has its own courtyard. Ask for a larger room with a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerendipityMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello "Pasha" lol.Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review.We are glad you enjoyed staying with us.Pls visit with us whenever you are in Uganda.Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had the 50 minutes signature massage... it was just perfect, and exactly what I needed. After the massage, I had the best shower I've had during my last 2 weeks in Kampala - the water was hot (for the duration of the entire shower!) and the water pressure was so good! It was absolutely heavenly. I will definitely go for another visit soon!

Before the massage, I sat in the hotel garden with a cold drink. It was peaceful and relaxing.

I haven't stayed at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eika_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This place is incredible...I came here several times during my 3-month stay in Uganda, and every time I came it seemed like such an oasis...maybe it was because I had been roughing it volunteering in rural villages, but I think it was because this place truly is a gem. One evening I enjoyed a passionfruit & vodka martini on the rooftop lounge overlooking the beautiful sunset, and another evening I enjoyed Ugandan beef filet over a sweet potato and pea mash. The thing is that to this day, I still think about how incredible my stays at the Emin Pasha were. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This small hotel with lovely public rooms and outside sitting areas is a genuine alternative to the big smart hotels. The rooms are 'functional +' ie a bath with a shower attachment rather than a separate shower, stone floors. But comfortable beds, and well looked after by staff - the service was very attentive.
Good for business - near the centre of town and excellent wireless. OK food, but not amazing - at times a little slow to produce meals.
A little over priced, possibly, though still below the long established majors, which I guess is its target market

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank africaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I had the pleasure to stay 5 nights in this boutique hotel, where I felt at home away from home. Very nice garden, excellent food, friendly staff and a very hands-on hotel manager (the secret of it all). It's really the place to stay when visiting Kampala. An oasis in the middle of the turmoil !

Room Tip: Room with direct access from the garden is perfect to access swimming pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40KarenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I wanted to surprise my Hubby for our 1st anniversary.
Alissa (the receptionist) was such a great help she made sure i was comfortable with the location of the room and that i had a smile :) When we came to the hotel, i was surprised to see the room myself, they had flowers all over, chocolates and fruits it was just an amazing stay!
Very cozy and we enjoyed every bit of it!
Very helpful staff :)
Thanks guys and Alissa!

Room Tip: We had room 2 and it was pretty amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 104 in Kampala
733 reviews
1.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 104 in Kampala
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emin Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emin Pasha Hotel

Address: 27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kampala
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: £183 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emin Pasha Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Emin Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emin Pasha Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing