We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kampala highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“kampala highlight”
Reviewed 15 January 2008

After working in the outskirts of Kampala for two weeks with Habitat for Humanity I decided to treat myself and spend the last two days of my Uganda Experience in Kampala at The Serena.

An outstanding facility and staff. Having spent two weeks in the jungle, I could not have been more pleased with a Hotel of 5 Stars quality. The first thing I noticed was the air conditioned main lobby and atrium and how pleasant the clean filtered air smelled and felt after being in the amazing but congested and smoke filled air that is all part of the Ugandan experience. I made my reservations via the hotel's website and was pleased that upon my arrival all was well and my room was ready.

The room itself was very well maintained, king size bed (still a little uncomfortable to my western standards but more than exceptable) large main room with working desk and comfortable lounge chairs. Bathroom was clean and gave the option of shower or bath with private water closet and double basin sink.
Safe located in the room and a great balcony looking over the grounds - pond, lawns, well landscaped grounds and a terrific pool design. Staff was well trained and and did not experience any problems with reception, bell hops, or housekeeping.

Facilties have a great pool, beautifully maintained landscaped grounds, three choices for dining, and a very comfortable bar and scene to enjoy a glass of wine.

A touch on the pricy side at $350US but well worth it in the end.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrooperSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    165
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
41
79
42
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala LUmpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

This must be one of the nicest hotels in East Africa. The service is good and so is the food. Even room service is excellent. The spa is of international standards. Most of all, the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms amazing. All the amenities are well placed and thoroughly thought out. Lighting is perfect. I especially appreciate the night light for the toilet.

  • Liked — The rooms, the spa, the pool area, the food and the coffee.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

My first time to Kampala -- to Africa, for that matter -- and had no idea where to stay. Checked TripAdvisor and Serena was #1. So called up the Serena in Kampala -- which turned out to be not very easy from either my VoIP phone or mobile in Japan -- and waited to see what I would get.

The Serena did not disappoint. In fact, it ranks as a world class 5-star hotel. Room was great: modern, clean, plenty of space, firm bed, plenty of outlets, in-room safe, and excellent bathroom with a rain shower. I understand that Queen Elizabeth will stay here in November.

Service was very good, which is hard to come by in Uganda.

The hotel is smartly designed with a nice lobby. The bar across from the bell desk is very nice. Only complaint there is they don't serve food of any kind, including snacks.

The buffet restaurant on the first floor is top notch. Had breakfast, brunch, and dinner there and all were excellent with a wide variety of cold and hot dishes, cheese, pastries, fruit, juices, and desserts. Ordered a Pina Colada even though it wasn't on the drink menu and was brought one of the most potent I've ever had.

The metal detector at the front door was a bit annoying, but y the extra sense of security much than made up for it.

Location is also a plus. Walking distance to both downtown and Garden City -- the biggest mall in Kampala. Taxis and Bodaboda (motorcycle taxis) right outside the front gate.

Some minor issues:
- Tried to reserve online but never got a reply
- room did not have digital clock next to the bed
- concierge was not particularly helpful when it came to suggesting tours/safaris

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RoppongiGaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip to Kampala in March. The hotel is very nice and spacious in all respects. Its less than a year old and was revamped by the Serena Group.
The hotel is very modern but with a distinctly African feel.
The rooms are surprisingly big and well finished. The beds are very comfortabe.
Intenet Access was free although you need to call the reception to set it up.
The food is very good although I ate out at restaurants close to the hotel most of the time.
I did not get to use much of the facilities although the pool area and gym looked great.
If you are a business traveller or tourist to Kampala I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Liked — 5 star quality
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

This hotel was beautiful, had all of the services you might need. I loved the free in-room wireless internet, as I was there for work, and the room itself was great. The bathroom beautiful, with fantastic water pressure, great bath products. The place is immaculate. The gym/spa are AMAZING. The food was the only underwhelming part of my stay, but it was fine in the scope of how great the rest of the hotel was.

  • Liked — Big, new rooms, free wireless internet, gorgeous bathroom
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank inarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Al.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

I emailed five hotels in Kampala reference a two week stay for the month of April and the Serena was the only hotel to email me back. I have just returned and am glad the other hotels did not respond to my emails, as the Serena was a wonderful choice. Have nothing but good things to say, from the rooms to the staff. One evening when we returned to our room, the staff was waiting for us and pointed out a problem with our air conditioner leaking. They had already set us up in the room next door, moving all of our items...no hassles, no problems. The hotel is very secure, close to the city center and very much lives up to being ranked #1. It may cost a little more than other choices, but you really receive value for your money and I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Liked — No Problems
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
23 Thank AlDeepSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labadie, Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

The Kampala Serena is a wonderful hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant was great, and service everywhere was fabulous. It has a huge pool and beautiful, well maintained grounds, and is conveniently located.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeyfan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#12 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Property: Kampala Serena Hotel
Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing