We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kampala Serena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is one the best hotels in Kampala, the staff and management seems to take very careful comments from their clients.
The ambiance and atmosphere of the hotel was excellent.
I do highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Asha Y,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments.

We truly are honored and are very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable. Management promises to continue striving to provide a superior service/product in the industry.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Kampala Serena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Best hotel in Kampala, centrally located in the city. The hotel has fabulous amenities such as a gym and spa, selection of good quality restaurants serving quality food. The rooms are spacious, clean and very well maintained. The best part of it all is the friendly staff and most efficient service, makes you feel most welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Mohamed E,

Please allow me take this opportunity to extend my appreciation to you or choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to rate our service and outlets.

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable. Management promises to continue striving to provide a superior service/product in the industry and the best of the Serena hospitality.

Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A key ingredient to hotel excellence is management's response when a guest is made unhappy. The Serena is lovely in all the ways described by other reviewers; clean, spacious, elegant, comfortable beds, well-appointed bathrooms, wonderful gym, beautiful pool, good food, quiet meeting spaces, strong wi-fi, convenient well-stocked gift shop. I also found the management was genuinely concerned and responsive when staff members made two serious errors that disrupted my sleep and my comfort for two different nights during my two week stay. I will stay at the Serena for my future business travel to Kampala.
Unrelated to the errors I experienced, please note that the Serena is the go-to hotel for Uganda's government officials, and the management is sometimes commanded to fill reserved rooms. Serena will seek similar accommodations for disappointed arriving guests in one of the nearby hotels, if needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drsh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Drsh99,

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and you for your rave and detailed review of our property and product.

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed most of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies where we had a lapse in service.

Thank you once again for your invaluable commendation and we look forward to hosting you again.

kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights during business trip, the hotel is nice, the garden is lovely, and the many outdoor spaces make it truly nice. the rooms are nice and super clean. the service is excellent, the breakfast is lovely.
it is probably the only place to stay in Kampala.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Wael2011,

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and you for your rave review of our property.

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed most of your expectations.

Thank you once again for your invaluable commendation and we look forward to hosting you again.

kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I checked in and out of the Serena a few times over a week during a recent business trip to Uganda, staying a total of 5 nights. The hotel is beautifully appointed inside and out. The breakfast buffet was excellent and you have the option to eat either inside or out. The pool area is beautiful and very tranquil. The rooms are large and comfortable, though the beds were not as wonderful as I would have hoped for in such a fine hotel.I only wish I could have spent more nights in this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: It is lovely to face the gardens.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJSMedfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear LJSMedfield,

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and you for your rave review of our property.

We truly are honored and delighted to hear that we were able to exceed most of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort the beds may have caused you. At your convenience, please feel free to share more with us @ kampala@serena.co.ug because your comments will go a long way in ensuring that our service levels are improved and that your stay next time is a lot more comfortable.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back. It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spent 3 nights during a business trip in December. The rooms was sparklingly clean. The well equipped gym, which opens up early, made worth morning trip and ensured my energy levels were high. The breakfast has lots of varieties. Great services with regards to airport pick up and drop, quick check in and out, WIFI (fast and reliable). Great hotel for business trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbblandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Mr. Kbblandi,

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to write a rave review about our property. We greatly appreciate the vote of confidence and commendation.

We truly are honored and are very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable. Management promises to continue striving to provide a superior service/product in the industry.

Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a holiday back to Africa for our family, especially our 80 year old mother returning home after 42 years away. This hotel is a credit to Kampala. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms are large and clean. My family loved this place!! We travelled around Uganda and stayed in many other hotels but nothing came close to this hotel, it's in a league if it's own in Uganda!! Well done Serena - your the best. Thank you for making our stay and my mothers return to Uganda so good!! We will be back!!! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank som45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Som45,

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your resent trip back home and for sparing time to write a rave review of the property and service.

We truly are honored and are very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed most of your expectations and that you had an amazing time especially for your mother who hasn't been back home in 43years!

Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back. It will be a pleasure hosting you.

We wish you and your family a happy and fruitful 2014!

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 104 in Kampala
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 104 in Kampala
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £221 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing