We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in Kampala” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kampala Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An oasis in Kampala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Serena before and after a trip to see the Mountain Gorillas in the Bwindi Rainforest. The service and facilities were the best we experienced in two weeks of travel in Africa. We were greeted by name each morning when we arrived for breakfast, the range of foods were excellent and the concierge was most helpful in arranging tours and transport to local places of interest for us. They stored our excess luggage whilst we were in the hinterland.

The Kampala Serena is a hillside, peaceful, green oasis in the middle of a very busy city. The hotel is like a little town in itself with restaurants, hairdressers, gift shop etc. The airport-like security at the entrance to both the hotel grounds and hotel itself was not intrusive.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room overlooking the pool and gardens. There is less intrusive noise than in rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Malcolm B,

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to put together these invaluable remarks and rave review of our property and service!

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the general property outlay and the guest amenities offered.

I would also like to extend my sincere appreciation to you for your recommendation of our entire team. I shall ensure to share this with them as I believe they will be very motivated by your positive recognition

Thank you very much once again for your amazing review/recommendation and for your patronage of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, it will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    159
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
78
42
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, nice surroundings, lovely people, great breakfast, rooms are great and spacious, security too much, nice massage rooms, lovely all around.
Nice garden views, plenty of people around. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Oneluis,

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your resent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to rate our outlets and service.

We truly are honored and are very delighted to hear that we exceed all of your expectations and that you had a wonderful time!! Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I visited Kampala Serena with my partner for a few days...it was a spontaneous holiday and one of the loveliest times I have had. We got in late because the flight was delayed due to the weather. We had a very warm welcome at the hotel and the service was wonderful (so was the menu) I loved the travellers restaurant they had where you're surrounded by a lot of green, flowing water and nature :-)

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LocalTraveller254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear LocalTraveller254,

Allow me take this opportunity to thank you and your partner very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments.

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the service and the property's layout as a whole.

Management has also taken note of your recommendation of the front office staff, i will ensure to share this with them as i believe they will be very motivated by your positive recognition

We thank you very much once again for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon .

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Truly a welcome luxury after a long flight and at the end of a work trip! We stayed here on our way into and out of a much more rural area following severe flooding and humanitarian field work. The room was quiet, peaceful, quite spacious, and in excellent condition. There was a problem with our reservation, and they upgraded me to a suite and sent up a lovely fruit tray, bottled water, and a note of apology from the manager for the inconvenience. It really does not get any better than that! The gym and spa are great, the onsite restaurants are very good, the gardens are lovely and quiet--the Kampala Serena is an oasis in the middle of a very busy city!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capecodrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Capecodrev,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and the rave review on our property and service!

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay but kindly accept our sincere apologies once again for the lapse in service.

Management has taken note of your recommendation of the staff’s excellent service, i will ensure to share this with them as i believe they will be very motivated by your positive recognition.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

A member of the Leading Hotels of the World. This grand hotel is magnificent and gracious. Spacious rooms and very cozy and clean atmosphere. You will sure sleep easy while here. The breakfast buffet is quite good and so is the gym and spa. Large well manicured gardens, take a walk while at it.
About 45km from Entebbe airport, traffic galore so please leave 3 hours early to make it.
Staff here are very friendly and helpful. Non smoking rooms seem to be few. despite mentioning this on my reservation request i still was asked to wait an hour to secure a non-smoking room

Room Tip: Higher rooms will give you better view of Kampala skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear seme l

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and rave review!

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the service and the property’s outlay as a whole. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in service as noted in your comment. Being a business hotel, we experiences very high occupancy on week days so from time to time, we may get a few delays in having a few rooms ready for the next occupant. But in the event that happens, the front desk personnel should be in position to extend a drink of your choice to ease your wait.

Never the less, Management sincerely apologies for the service hiccup and promises to continue providing the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have been in Kampala for the month and use the excellent gym facilities at the Serena daily including the odd meal or drink. I also stayed there for the weekend. It is an excellent hotel - clean, well-designed, comfortable, good food, and most importantly very well-trained and welcoming staff. The only downside is that it is far and away the most expensive place in town, but also the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Peter,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and the rave review on our property and service!

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the health club services and our other amenities.

With regards to your feedback on pricing; we have very competitive pricing as compared to the other hotels in the same segment however, Management guarantees value for your money through the superior product offered and the best of the Serena Hospitality.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon .

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here last Oct 2013. Hotel is cozy and quiet. Atmosphere is so relaxing and comfortable that one should have after a long day of work.

Room is spacious and clean. Liked the Breakfast. A lot of variety.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Occasiontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear "Occasiontraveller",

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and rave review!

We truly are honored and are very delighted to hear that we exceed all of your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#12 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#7 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Property: Kampala Serena Hotel
Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing