We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serena is "where the cool cats meet"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serena is "where the cool cats meet"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My first trip to Kampala for business and stayed at Serena, even though I am a hard to impress person and the biggest critic ever! Serena melted me down! From their gorgeous hotel to their polite staff, their magical Spa rooms and fantastic massage therapies at very affordable prices! The rooms are sound proof and very comfortably managed to suit anyone’s needs (with everything found in any and every home and over) and beautiful sceneries over the balcony. Delicious variety in food. For me an overall magical experience….!!

Room Tip: finish your day with a steam
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satnam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Satnam K

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and rave review of our property and service!

What a delight it was to read your amazing review; we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    162
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
79
42
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Best Business hotel in Uganda!
First of all great staff! Genuinely engaging, from the waiters at breakfast to the concierge & doorman.
Innovative. I like their breakfast detox shots. Proximity to clients. Excellent sound proof rooms & gym facility. You also get to meet a lot of influential contacts at Serena.

Great for the business traveller!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRariewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear FRariewa,

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Uganda and for taking the time to write the above invaluable remarks and rave review of our property and service!

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the property outlay and generally the guest amenities offered.

I would also like to extend my appreciation for your recommendation of our team, I shall ensure to share this with them as I believe they will be very motivated by your positive recognition

Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice place to be but only few comments.. The location is not exactly good as there is lot of of traffic while getting out or in at some times. Although it's very clean, the staff needs to be more friendly with customers otherwise everything else is quite nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghv999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Meghv999

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and rave review of our property and service!

I would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience the flow of traffic may have caused you on some of the days you stayed with us. The Serena Hotels have always endeavored to provide and maintain the high level of security for all our guests so in the process, the queues get lengthy at times. However there is always security presence to ensure every guest’s safety.

With regards to your feedback on pricing; we have very competitive pricing as compared to the other hotels in the same segment however, Management guarantees value for your money through the superior product offered and the best of the Serena Hospitality.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stayed at the Kampala Serena several times now for work and it is hands down the best hotel in the city. The staff at the hotel go out of their way to take care of you and you get treated like you are a king/queen. There are at least two good restaurants, one serving Italian food and the other which is a buffet. There is a nice pool area that has a bar and serves bar food. The staff make sure that trouble stays out of the hotel, unlike other African hotels I have been to. Overall the Kampala Serena meets my standards and I would definitely stay there again if I ever travel back to Kampala.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle-Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Truofrehryan2014,

Thank you very much for always choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence on your visits to Kampala and for taking the time to write these priceless remarks and rave review of our property and service!

We are very delighted and honored to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us and that we have managed to maintain consistency in service.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back, we pledge to continue offering you with the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I liked the Sunday Lunch meal i had with my family. It was really a very nice meal with good customer care. From the Starters to the desert it was all excellently done. Thank you guys keep it up . ~Betty N

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyShalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear BettyShalom,

Thank you very much for joining us for the Sunday Brunch together with your family. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed it and deeply appreciate the rave review on the product and service offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back and pledge to continue offering you with the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. We had travelled from the southern part of Uganda by road and reached here by midnight. We checked in without seeing the tariff. Although the hotel is good , it is definitely not worth 420 USD per night. Since the checkout time was 10 am we left the hotel by 9.30 am. There are many hotels in kampala which are more value for your money than serena.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1960manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear 1960manu

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for taking the time to share your dissatisfying experience with us.

We highly regret that your short stay with us was unpleasant due to the pricing and this could have been as a result of the room category you were booked in and the number of occupants in the room. Kindly also advise if you were booked through an agency because some agencies have commission-able rates that usually have an additional fee in-addition to what the hotel would normally bill you.

However, i would like to assure you that as compared to the other hotels in the same segment, Kampala Serena Hotel offers very competitive pricing and Management always ensures to guarantees value for money spent through maintaining the superior product and offering the best of the Serena Hospitality.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to extend our hospitality and thank you very much again for your comments.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I wrote a glowing review of the Explorer Bar in the Serena in January 2014 but TripAdvisor didn't publish it, probably because I also did a separate one for the Serena which they did publish. So, here goes, again. This review is mainly about the Explorer but also about the Lakes buffet restaurant.

The Explorer is themed like an old Egyptian building of some sort. It's very cosy and has a nice little courtyard outside where you can eat. We ate in the courtyard on our previous visit and inside the restaurant on this recent visit.

The food was nothing short of excellent and it went down very well with a good wine from the wine list. This is really a fantastic restaurant / bar but it very rarely seems to have any customers. On the Saturday night that we were there (at about 9.00pm), we were the only people in the entire restaurant. So, if you are reading this and planning to stay at the Serena, get yourself down to the Explorer. You won't be disappointed.

On a further six nights during our stay in Kampala, we ate in the Lakes buffet restaurant. It was excellent on every occasion as it always is.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Kenc,

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for always choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your visits to Uganda and for sparing time to write such a thorough and rave review on the Explorer Restaurant in particular.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again soon. It’s always a pleasure hosting you.

Thank you very much once again for your amazing review/recommendation and for your patronage of our hotel

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#11 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Property: Kampala Serena Hotel
Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing