We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent all round service ”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for business including a seminar at Nile conference centre.The seminar for 100 pax at nile was excellent with good conference facilities and buffett lunch. Accomodation , room facilities , room ambience and breakfast is excellent and consistent over the years. All round six star service from airport pick up , entrance security , restuarants , Gym , sauna , gardens , swimming pool etc. . The room rates are much high then similar hotels in nairobi. For corporate and repeat customers special rates should be considered. Currently the best hotel in kampala.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AGM-MARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear AGM-MARTZ

We really appreciate the time taken to write this amazing feedback but most importantly to you and your friends for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence while in Kampala.

I am delighted to hear that the service exceeded your expectations, I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team for they will love knowing that guests truly appreciate their efforts and service.

With regard to your recommendation on extending special rates to repeat guests and corporate companies; we do have such rates available in addition to room upgrades to our repeat guests upon availability. If you consistently use the same details for all your reservations then our system should be able to immediately extract that information even on the second visit and flagging you as a repeat guest.

Nevertheless, at a time of your convenience, kindly send me a private message inbox with your full details and the number of the room you occupied whilst staying with us and I will be delighted to follow up.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to hosting you once again for it will be our pleasure.

Regards

Anthony Chege
KAMPALA SERENA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    173
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
43
82
43
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A huge hotel with everything you could need inside including an ice cream parlor. Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the hilly city. The view was gorgeous and peaceful.
Ask for Bob Sandegai for your driver as he was very efficient and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannefromNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jeanne

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your resent visit to Kampala and for taking the time to rate our services and product. We are very delighted and honored to hear that we exceed your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing your most wonderful and detailed experience with us.

I am pleased to inform you that Management has taken note of you recommendation of Bob Ssendegeya‘s outstanding performance and we will ensure to share the same with him. We believe he will be very motivated by your positive recognition.

Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
KAMPALA SERENA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Serena for a week and had the best experience ever. The Serena is the place you stay when you just want to spoil yourself, so we paid a bit extra and upgraded to the Executive room and we were not disappointed.

The room is huge, I've actually lived in smaller apartments compared to this room. The ensuite bathroom is excellent, large shower recess and large separate bath tub and everything such as bath oils and loofahs is provided, and you know you're staying in luxury when you get a pillow menu so you can choose from soft or hard, feathers or hypo-allergenic. Everything is designed to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The room boasted 2 TV's, 2 bar fridges, double wardrobe, nice couches and sitting area and all the extras that you could ever possibly need. Breakfast brought to our room daily and the quality of food was excellent. We received complimentary fruit platters and newspapers and the room also had an espresso coffee machine with various coffees to choose from.

We booked online and check in was very easy. I don't think I've stayed in a nicer room anywhere. The Serena has a great pool area and a fantastic gym loaded with equipment. There was nothing that detracted from our comfort and enjoyment. The staff were very friendly and only too happy to accommodate to your needs. The on premises restaurants were great and the grounds are very well kept.

There was some maintenance going on at the time and the waterfall by the pool was not functioning but I was still able to get in a great swim after a workout and then back to the room for a relaxing afternoon. They also have day spa full of steam rooms and saunas. They offer massage and aromatherapy treatments, but it was the gym that got me, the range of equipment and complimentary fruit and fruit juices on hand make for a great workout.

The hotel is pricey but you get what you pay for and the comforts are worth the price tag. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have something different so book online as the website has the full run down of what e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FelixMercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear FelixMercury

Thank you very much for your amazing and detailed feedback but most importantly for choosing Kampala Serena Hotels as your preferred place of residence while in Kampala. We really appreciate hearing about your experience, so thank you so much for taking the time to share.

I am delighted to hear that our service exceeded your expectations; I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team for they will love knowing that guests truly appreciate their efforts and service.

We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again. It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Regards

Anthony Chege
KAMPALA SERENA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in a serene setting in the heart of Kampala. Luxurious in every way. Great food and very helpful, charming and accommodating staff. Great spa! I look forward to staying there again when I'm in Kampala.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Susan P

We really appreciate the time taken to write this amazing feedback but most importantly for choosing Kampala Serena Hotels as your preferred place of residence while on your business trip to Kampala.

I am delighted to hear that the service exceeded your expectations and for that, I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team for they will love knowing that guests truly appreciate their efforts and service.

We definitely look forward to seeing you for it will be a pleasure hosting you once again soon. .

Regards

Anthony Chege
KAMPALA SERENA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Stayed our first night in Uganda before starting a Gorilla Safari. It is the best sleep I had the entire trip. Lovely hotel, very comfortable and clean. Large rooms with excellent plugs for charging and both UK and Euro plug options. The breakfast was amazing---wonderful fruit! The service and security were top-notch. Very nice gift shop with helpful staff. If you need a hotel in Kampala stay here! It's delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear UsaJules

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your resent visit to Kampala and for taking the time to rate our services and product. We are very delighted and honored to hear that we exceed your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing your most wonderful and detailed experience with us.

Management will ensure to share your recommendations with the rest of the team as we believe that they will be very motivated by your positive recognition.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

It will be our pleasure to host you once again.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights whilst on a business trip. Although a tad pricey everything was pretty much perfect. Good location, all very tidy and clean, staff and service excellent. Great to have the pool (which is lovely) after a day in the city

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazeSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear BrazeSW1

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your resent visit to Kampala and for taking the time to rate our services and product. We are very delighted and honored to hear that we exceed your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing your most wonderful and detailed experience with us.

Management has taken note of you recommendation of the team and we will ensure to share the same with them as we believe they will be very motivated by your positive recognition.

We express regret for the way you felt about our pricing but I would like to assure you that as compared to the other hotels in the same segment, our prices are indeed very competitive. Nonetheless, Management always ensures to guarantees value for your money through offering a superior product and the very best of the Serena Hospitality.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

It will be our pleasure to host you once again.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arriving in the middle of the night and wake up the next morning with a wonderful leveled garden view. Rooms are great, service is very good and food/breakfast excellent. It was a pity I had to work quite a bit so that I could not enjoy all Hotel amenities such as the Spa or Gym.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Travelbart,

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your resent visit to Kampala and for taking the time to write a rave review of our property and service!

We truly are very delighted and honored to hear that we exceed all of your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing your memorable experience with us.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back. It’s always a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#6 of 103 in Kampala
692 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 103 in Kampala
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Property: Kampala Serena Hotel
Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing