We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kampala Serena Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$220
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Suites(Kampala)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
US$234
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
US$128
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
474
188
19
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
188
19
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslakes restaurantleading hotels of the worldthe pearlfive star hotelbeautiful hoteleast africamain gatebusiness tripbusiness centerbusy cityairport transferbreakfast buffet isbeautiful groundsmain restaurantan oasisthe food is greatroom service is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
618 - 623 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I would highly recommend the Kampala Serena to the business traveler. The service is excellent and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The location is excellent and there are always taxis available if you don't have a car/driver. I was impressed at the improvement in service from my first stay a year earlier. Clearly the staff is well trained and managed. The only thing that could be improved is the quality of the dinner food at the restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Great hotel with spacious, comfortable and quiet rooms. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is good with a mix of local and western dishes.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psandps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in December and found it to be very comfortable with excellent service for about $200 night. The pool was never crowded. The hotel is mostly business clientele. The food was excellent no matter where we chose to eat. The internet was a bit difficult to use as connections were poor and the signals are weak depending on where you are in the hotel. If you have a room overlooking the patio, be prepared for music at special events until 10 pm- it was not annoying, just wasn't prepared for it. Very clean rooms, with laundry and food service 24 hours. If you dine outdoors be prepared for smokers and lots of noisy frogs at night. Breakfast buffet is included in room charge but you will have to pay extra for bottled water and drinks. They say tap water is treated but we were advised by the locals not to risk drinking it.

It is surreal to stay there once you've walked around the rest of the city, which by the way is very safe. Just a few blocks away are shopping malls and restaurants if you tire of the buffet and restaurants in the hotel. I would highly recommend Cafe Javas- just ask for directions. Great menu with lots of delicious fresh choices.

We had massages in the spa and it was heavenly and reasonable- not more than you would expect to pay in the US. The doormen are well informed on how to get around- Ibrahim was a big help to us in learning about local culture.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

wonderful hotel, especially after living in a giant tent with 60 other guys and having a 3 minute shower every other day. Yeah, we got pretty ripe. As far as the hotel, if you're in Uganda, I definitely recommend this one.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank jfoster8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

The hotel proper, gym, pool and inside restaurants were fantastic! Staff was very nice and accomodating. Business center is a plus for business travellers. Free wired and wireless internet in the rooms is a big benefit. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Only drawback that I experienced was burgers ordered from room service were consistently undercooked even when ordered very well done.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews