We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2007

This hotel was beautiful, had all of the services you might need. I loved the free in-room wireless internet, as I was there for work, and the room itself was great. The bathroom beautiful, with fantastic water pressure, great bath products. The place is immaculate. The gym/spa are AMAZING. The food was the only underwhelming part of my stay, but it was fine in the scope of how great the rest of the hotel was.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank inarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2007

I emailed five hotels in Kampala reference a two week stay for the month of April and the Serena was the only hotel to email me back. I have just returned and am glad the other hotels did not respond to my emails, as the Serena was a wonderful choice. Have nothing but good things to say, from the rooms to the staff. One evening when we returned to our room, the staff was waiting for us and pointed out a problem with our air conditioner leaking. They had already set us up in the room next door, moving all of our items...no hassles, no problems. The hotel is very secure, close to the city center and very much lives up to being ranked #1. It may cost a little more than other choices, but you really receive value for your money and I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
23  Thank AlDeepSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2007

The Kampala Serena is a wonderful hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant was great, and service everywhere was fabulous. It has a huge pool and beautiful, well maintained grounds, and is conveniently located.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeyfan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2007

Very friendly service, spacious, tastefully decorated rooms and warm atmosphere all over the place make it the No. 1 in Kampalas City Hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gustavgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Incredible, beautiful hotel. Professional, courteous staff. Rooms are perfect, no detail left unattended. Lighting in rooms the best I have experienced. Food is good, bars are a delight to visit and have a drink. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LoveKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2006

After having endured many nights in the former Nile Hotel I finally got the chance to try out the new Serena Kampala. Except for the location of the lifts there's very little which reminds one of the former hotel, and that is definetly a big plus.
It's encouraging to see that Serena retained a number of the staff of the former establishment, the welcome was charming and warm - with the General Manager personally welcoming guests at the reception.
The interior design of the public areas is spacious and tastefully. The landscaping of the gardens outside the 'Mist Bar' creates a jungle atmosphere. With frogs croaking in the lake and lush tropical vegetation one feels to be in some remote rainforest rather than in the heart of the capital city.

The rooms are tastefully decorated, with lots of well illuminated Africa artefacts creating a unique atmosphere. the bathrooms are spotless, with a great shower and separate bathtub.

The free wi-fi is being advertised as an 'opening special' , let's hope they will keep this as a free service. Their rates in general are quite steep, this probably keeps away a number of corporate travellers whose travel budget won't allow +200USD a night.

The pool area still has a very new feel to it, and so far they don't seem to be busy, so service is a bit slow, but charming.
The Kampala Seren has set new standards in this upcoming city, the other establishments in the city finally have a real reason to get their act together. In aprticular the management of the infamous 'Grand Imperial' will have to think twice about advertising their establishment as a luxury hotel.
Well done to Serena!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HavanaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

This hotel just recently opened under Serena, and it used to be the Nile. It's a great, great, great hotel. Everything is perfect, from the beautiful grounds and lobby to modern rooms, amazing service, good food and a spa/gym that is every bit as good as the nicest ones at the best hotel/casino properties in Las Vegas. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, and I really appreciated getting a very late check out when I departed, as my flight didn't leave until very late at night. It's well located in downtown Kampala.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank madlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 104 in Kampala
342 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 104 in Kampala
764 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £209 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing