We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hotel in Uganda”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Bougainviller
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
LelaRain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite hotel in Uganda”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Beautiful setting, superb service and great food. I love the apartments and find them to be an excellent value. Several restaurants are available with a walk of less then 5 minutes and a supermarket is just across the street. Bugolobi is a lovely area and I feel safe walking the streets, even as a woman alone in the evenings. I've been coming to Le Bougainviller since 2010 and have never been disappointed!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LelaRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    42
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
9
11
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hotel de Bougainviller is a nice option for a getaway in Kampala. It's decorated like a little French village, and every time I step out of the hotel onto the streets of Kampala, I find myself having a 'wait, where am I??' moment. There are TVs in the rooms (though channels are limited, there is a good mixture of French & English), HOT showers, comfortable beds, and *cue drumroll* air conditioning. The included breakfast is simple, filling and tasty.

I've stayed here twice, and both times it was a great stay, though there always seems to be something that is a little 'off,' But really, considering where they are and that I feel transported to the West for a few hours, it's an excellent option. Others have mentioned that room 28 is next to the staff room, and you'll have loud voices from 8am to about 6pm. The family room is nice, but the air conditioner there was weak last time I stayed, so the smaller bedroom got really warm...opening the windows worked because each bed had mosquito nets, but the window didn't have a screen, so if you're not a fan of mosquito nets, opening windows isn't an option.

Overall, I'd recommend the Bougainviller to anyone looking for a comfortable, pleasant place to stay in Kampala. There's an Italian place around the corner that has good food (though slow service) and Jazz Supermarket is a great place to find some snacks.

Room Tip: Avoid room 28 if you like to sleep in past 8am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

After visiting 3 "upscales" hotels in kampala, my only conclusion is that Le Bougainvillier wins hands down.

Sure they are some things that could be improved...but given the general quality of the competition in the 100/150 usd bracket, the property seems good value.

The hotel is pretty nice, reproducing the atmosphere of a little town of south france. The rooms are very nice, as are the bathroom. All very clean.
Simple but okay breakfast is included.

The main issue on my side : if your room is near the staff room, expect loud voices starting 8am for much of the day...

I would def go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potosi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had only average expectations for this hotel which were exceeded in almost every way. The French décor/ setting is superb, it really is a lovely, quiet escape from Kampala's hustle and bustle. The rooms are quiet, spacious and nice, no complaints. The restaurant was good, food was of a high quality and the free breakfast was top notch. Service at the hotel and at the restaurant wasn't great would be one complaint - and they had no Bordeaux wine despite it being on the menu, in a French restaurant! Had thought the location was going to be a problem according to some reviews but it really wasn't. Jump on a motorbike and you're to town in 5 minutes. And the price was ok. So I'd recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

the prices on the internetsite are incorrect, they are at least 30% higher, the price in the restaurant do not match when yoy pay the hotel bill. swimming pool is 3 by 3 mtr.

During my stay there was very loud construction work,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel is definitely beautiful and relaxing. The breakfast is less than basic: bread is not fresh, omelet is greasy and orange juice comes from a cheap pack. What happened to the french croissants and lovely breakfast served a year ago? No way to get a beer at the bar after 20:30. The staff is barely polite and the cleaning ladies are shouting outside from 7:00 in the morning. Light in the bathroom is insufficient for anyone trying to put make up on.
This became too expensive for the current service offered. Shame!

PLA, The Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our first night on a Uganda tour, and it was a lovely experience: quiet, clean and spacious rooms, a nice setting for breakfast... Not entirely sure what happens with the swimming pool (in the "main" building), some renovation ongoing ? But it doesn't harm, since it's in a different building.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#20 of 97 in Kampala
72 reviews
3.1 mi away
Emin Pasha Hotel
Emin Pasha Hotel
#17 of 97 in Kampala
139 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#46 of 97 in Kampala
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silver Springs Hotel
Silver Springs Hotel
#30 of 97 in Kampala
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premiere Boutique Hotel
Premiere Boutique Hotel
#22 of 97 in Kampala
17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bougainviller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bougainviller

Property: Hotel Le Bougainviller
Address: Plot 1-7, Katazamiti Road | Kiswa, Bugolobi, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 kilometers away from the heart of Kampala, Hotel Le Bougainviller offers you a unique Mediterranean flair: surrounding a lush terraced garden with a swimming pool and plenty of private hideaways to sit and relax, our hotel rooms are accommodated in a number of luxurious bungalows that combine the comfort of international hotel standards with the charm of a 'village provencal'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Bougainviller Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing