We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value B&B in the suburbs”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Banda Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banda Inns
Ranked #1 of 175 Kampala B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value B&B in the suburbs”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We wanted a cheap but pleasant experience in Kampala and this is nearly what we had. At c. 40 pounds a night equivalent it was very reasonable, and it was clean. The owners were nice and helpful too. There were a few issues, such as the shower hardly working and the food not being of top quality. Yet it is close to the pub scene and you can get a taxi into town very easily. One good thing is that they sent a taxi to pick us up from Entebbe and arranged trips for us around the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaInns, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you SamandAggie for your constructive feedback.

Unfortunately, we have had similar complaints from other visitors too regarding the water pressure on 1st floor. Management have now rectified the problem and hope visitors will not experience the same in the future.

Banda Inns is a bed and breakfast that offers simple homemade meals to business and holiday travelers. It is unfortunate that our food was not satisfactory during your stay. On the other hand Banda Inns is located in Muyenga, a suburb with a variety of restaurants at walking distance. We encourage our visitors to visit some of these restaurants during their stay.

Innkeeper
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    40
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
23
38
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nijmegen
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2009

It was a pleasure to be in Banda Inns , steven and asteria en the crew were verry helpfull and kind, we felt save and everything was possible.
when we come back to Kampala we come again, because it felt warm, familiair and
like home, so i thank you verry much for your hospitality and the good service.

with love from holland sjaak en mariek

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieke83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I can't understand what all the rave reviews are about- this place is OK- certainly nothing special. It reminded me a lot of old fashioned school dorms. The shower cubicle was plastic and rickety and without hot water.
We were only here for the night- arriving late and leaving early next morning- I wouldn't have wanted to linger

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley lancashire england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

a really friendly place where straight away you feel at home. you can relax around the place, go for a wander locally etc and the owners and staff trat you more like a friend than a visitor. really good place to chill out and get a taste of the real uganda and it's people

  • Liked — great homelyfeeling
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I hadn't been to Uganda in 5 years and was looking for a decent place to stay when I stumbled upon Banda. Located in the Muyenga suburb, Banda has pretty every amenity thinkable. Steve promptly answered all my questions prior to and during my stay and the office and kitchen staff were amazing. The rooms are cleaned and laundry done daily - thanks, Janet (just be sure to leave your room key at the office). The only meal I had here was breakfast(A+) but I noticed in previous reviews that there were requests for more food variety...during my stay, there was actually a chef preparing meals so its good to know that the management also reads these reviews. The rooms are well-decorated and lit and though there are mosquito nets installed, its advisable to have some repellant or insecticide for back-up. They accept paypal as a payment method + provide wi-fi internet. All-in-all, Banda gives any hotel in the city a run for their money at just a fraction of the cost.

  • Liked — wi-fi, friendly staff, easy pay through paypal and good communication
  • Disliked — water pressure in showers
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tadm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomad
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I have stayed in this B&B for few days. It is a nice B&B. I recommend the traveler to book this B&B when they go to Uganda. And also Uganda is also a peaceful country in East Africa.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We just recently stayed at this guest house and had a pleasurable experience. The owners are very accommodating and go out of their way to help. The food was prepared by the staff and was delicious and reasonably priced. We often decided to stay in (instead of going out to a restaurant) just to enjoy the yummy grilled tilapia, seasoned potatoes and fresh vegetables. The rooms are basic, but what we enjoyed most was the upstairs balcony. It was the perfect place to relax, read and soak up the sunlight. The kind staff would also bring breakfast up to us on the balcony every morning. We were greeted with a friendly smile, omelets, bacon, tea, coffee, fresh fruit and yogurt. Side note: If you enjoy brewed coffee opposed to instant-you must bring your own. If you are looking for luxurious accommodations you will want to go elsewhere. If you are looking for clean, inexpensive, modest accommodations with excellent service then try this guesthouse. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, great owners, home away from home
  • Disliked — neighbors dogs barking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rollinstones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
191 reviews
8.8 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#16 of 97 in Kampala
80 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
1.0 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#3 of 175 in Kampala
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#9 of 175 in Kampala
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Property: Banda Inns
Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banda Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing