We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banda Inns, home base in Kampala”
Review of Banda Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banda Inns
Ranked #1 of 195 Kampala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lelystad, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Banda Inns, home base in Kampala”
Reviewed 23 August 2007

Lelystad, 23-8 2007
Sylvia, Judith & Hans Buis

Because my wife-to-be and me wanted to visit family and friends in Uganda, we looked for a base to start from.
After many ideas about hotels in the areas my girl knows in Kampala we spotted Banda Inns on the internet. The friendly and cosy charisma made us book Banda Inns.
This friendly and cosy charisma came true the day Steven Tamale (the owner) was at Entebbe airport to bring me to Banda Inns. His warm and open approach of people and matters give you the feeling to come home instead of coming to a hotel for your holiday.
This feeling keeps growing when you meet the staff and with every day you stay at Banda Inns.
It doesn’t matter who, Rose, Janet, Steven, Morris or James, they all are making your stay as pleasant as can be.

When you look for a perfect place to stay, location and accommodation, than Banda Inns is the place to be. Both, the “old” and “new”’ rooms are comfortable, clean and well furnished. Worth mentioning are the mosquito nets they use. I knew the old round ones. Here they are square, so they surround your bed like a set of curtains (like the curtains of a four-poster). Comfortable and very effective.

So don’t hesitate and stay at Banda Inns when you visit Kampala. I know we will the next time we come to Uganda.

Sylvia, Judith & Hans

  • Liked — The friendly and cosy charisma
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanzeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    40
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
24
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

I stayed at Banda Inns with my three children for two weeks this July, and I can strongly recommend it to those who want to get away from the plastic, generic-type hotel, and would rather prefer a friendly, homely atmosphere. Steven, the owner runs a very efficient establishment. He has a very calm manner, and was extremely sensitive to our needs. Indeed, he often went out of his way to make sure that we were happy and comfortable, and at times, even dropped what he was doing in order to assist us - all of which made the place very special. The two ladies carrying out the daily household tasks, Rose and Janet, were wonderful and were always cheerful. Rose, has to win the Smile of the Year Award, in our view! Banda Inns is set in a beautiful garden, and it was a treat to sit out on the veranda surrounded by the amazing flora. Breakfasts were a real treat, ranging from fully cooked to continental, including freshly pressed orange and passion fruit juices. Orders were taken the evening before, which saved a lot of time in the mornings. It was always Service with a Smile! The large sitting room was a great place to relax in the evenings, whether to read, watch TV, or just to have a chat with the other guests or with Steven and his staff. Whilst there, extensive building works were taking place to extend the premises, and we were fortunate to receive the honour of "christening" two of the four new rooms half way through our stay. They are certainly value-added for the establishment, although the older rooms are also very pleasant, with each bed bearing a mosquito net. Our stay at Banda Inns was certainly memorable, and I will not hesitate to return there in the future. To Steve, Rose, Janet, Maria and Peter - a huge thank you from the Haas family!

  • Liked — Personal atmosphere
  • Disliked — building extension works taking place at the time
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2007

A group of students of Oslo International School and myself had the pleasure to live in Banda Inns for 13 days. We<were in Kampala doing some voluntary work. We couldn't have found a better place to live. We occupaid the whole house. It was not room for more guestsn and I think that helped us to feel completly at home.
Steven Tamale was a great host, and helped us all the time. His very relaxing personality and kindness made our stay in Banda unforgettable.
I have to mentioned Rose and Jannet, the two lovely ladies who work at Banda. They dis an excellent job, and they were very professional. Breakfast and dinners were not only delicious but on time, something not very easy to get in Kampala. THey were always smiling and ready to please us all the time. My students were very happy and learned a lot from these two African women.
For us it was a great experience and I am sure I am writing on be
half of my students and Kikki, the other teacher who was there with me.
I would highly recommended this place tpo any person who want to live in peaceful, beautiful with a verey relaxing atmosphere and with a very competent staff.

Tita Alonso
Teacher of Oslo International School
Norway.

  • Liked — The friendlly atmosphere and the host
  • Disliked — nothing in particulary
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Soloslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2007

I have been several times in Uganda with different lodging experiences and this is one of my best unforgetable experience, relaxing combined with homely feeling. Rose representing a valueble member of the team, both as mothercare taking and wonderful cook of Ugandan dishes. This place is highly recommanded and thanks to Steven Tamale for his hosipitality.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and African hosipitality
  • Disliked — Late evenning door openning
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2007

The Banda Inn is an OUTSTANDING Bed and Breakfast located in Kampala. Steven Tamale, the Innkeeper, is a friendly and earnest host who truly strives to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Over the weekend, he hosted a BBQ for us (group of 4), our friends who were staying at other accommodations, and his friends where we enjoyed chicken, goat, and a roaring campfire! Rose and Janet prepare delicious Ugandan/African as well as traditional US/European meals, and they are happy to learn new recipes to add to their culinary repertoire. The full breakfast (eggs – made any style, sausage, bacon, pancakes/crepes, toast, yogurt, fruit, freshly squeezed juice, coffee, and tea) is a wonderful start to the day. FREE wireless internet access, satellite TV, and daily complimentary laundry services are significant bonuses. The Inn is perfect for groups traveling together and the garden, veranda, living room, and dining room are all ideal for relaxing, working, or socializing. If you seek a pleasant atmosphere that truly feels more like a home than a business, the Banda Inn is for you! I highly recommend it, and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SuperDadx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2007

I have wonderful memories of my stay at Banda Inns.
The rooms are simple but comfortable and cleaned, there is a terrasse overlooking a luxuriant garden where birds sing in the trees. Ideally located, this guest house is at 10 min by car from the center of Kampala. Above all, it is the smile and generosity of Rose, the hostess, that I will remember most. She goes out of a way to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. Not to mention her delicious cooking!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2007

...but even though i`ve been thinking about it for a few days now, i still havent managed to come up with any negative feedback worth mentioning. we simply loved our stay at banda inns!
it was clean, spacious and relaxing, which was very nice to return to each night. the dinners served there were very tasteful, and the staff very welcoming and helpful. the information/service provided by the owner was excellent and meant a great deal for our stay in Uganda.
highly recommendable!

Tone,
Norway

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank nonicksleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 100 in Kampala
197 reviews
8.8 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
2.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 100 in Kampala
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#13 of 195 in Kampala
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Property: Banda Inns
Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banda Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing