We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot worse than last stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lot worse than last stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I used to choose Metropole for some trips a couple of years back - spacious rooms, central location and overall good value. This time, there seems to have been a change of management, or good reviews on Tripadvisor have made them lazy.
The rooms are still ok and it's clean and nice, in a very "modern tacky" way. But internet is significantly slower which is a big problem in my line of work. Ten different networks, all of them with crappy, unreliable connections.
The a/c in my room was the worst part of my experience, given I came here during the really hot weeks leading up to the rainy season. Their new card locks mean that as soon as you leave your room, not only all the lights but also all electricity and a/c switch off, which means you can't leave a camera or computer for charge and you'll come back to a boiling hot room which takes hours to cool down with an a/c that sounds like a chopper from Apocalypse Now while on full speed. I solved part of the problem to lock my key in my room on purpose so I got two of them, one to leave in the room, but the a/c seems to be set on motion sensor or timer – my room was just constantly boiling hot.
Do not ask to get a wake up call. The guy in the reception forgot to call me and finally did so about 30 minutes late. Not appreciated.
Breakfast is still ok though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikesbjornsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    48
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
2
5
11
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A very good place with good Ambiance and great hospitality from staff. The rooms are really spacious. I really liked the food & being a vegetarian, it helped. Open air restaurant gives you a the majestic feel. The golf course in front of you adds to the appearance. from the hotel at walking distance you may find a lot of bars, Indian restaurants as well! the hotel has wi-fi which does work albeit slow on a lot of ocassions

Some of downsides are that the breakfast buffet has limited options, the air conditioning unit in my room was bad & what added to my woes was the kind of remote(one may have to call the support staff everytime, just check). I had the trouble of getting warm water as well. corridors are dimly lit

however I still would recommend for the laid back nature of the place & it helps unwind

Room Tip: rooms facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilBabita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel service is generally good for individuals and small numbers of people. However it lacks conference facilities. We had a meeting of 30 people on the 27th November 2013, we were given a room on the 3rd floor, to my surprise the hotel had only one working toilet for participants. This means men and women were required to share this facility, the nearest toilet was on the 2nd floor, however it was not working and was closed. I rose the matter with the management who had no action.

On that day even the lifts were not functioning hence participants with wheel chairs had a big challange accessing the meeting place.
However for residents they have self contained rooms and these can do well

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magelahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A very good place with good Ambiance and great hospitality from staff. they have the best Hotel IT Guy called Jeff this Guy is a Genius. i liked the food too generally the service was good. i liked the open air restaurant looked the golf course in front of you it looks beautiful; Though some have complained about the service but honestly i appreciated the timing and discipline of the staff

Room Tip: ask for a room with golf Course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Spacious and good value rooms are the positives for this hotel. The downsides are that the breakfast buffet is poor and the air conditioning units are very loud. Location is good as the hotel is walking distance from a range of good restaurants. Service was not good due to complications with billing on check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGastroGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Good location ... esp golf course facing rooms. Quiet and green view from these rooms. Staff friendly. Internet barely works in most places , though they claim to have both cable in room and wifi. Breakfast food is always over and 50 % of the items are not on display at breakfast time . It is better to check all services in the room as they are spacious and comfortable - however will have some problem like A/C not working, ventilator not working, shower head not working etc and they do not fix it despite several requests ! Beds and sleep quality is good. Restaurants are passable and do not offer much choice. The Thai restaurant is definitely not Thai food ! Should also link up with a good tour operator who can advise on tailored tourism for guests.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are greener and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pritha63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The location is perfect for the business trip, i liked the open air restaurant looked the golf course in front of you it looks beautiful;
Though some have complained about the service but honestly i appreciated the timing and discipline of the staff.
The price is also fair compared to other hotels of the same standards in Kampala.
Definitely i do recommend it and will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjuni X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 100 in Kampala
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 100 in Kampala
25 reviews
0.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.4 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 100 in Kampala
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Kampala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Kampala

Property: Metropole Hotel Kampala
Address: Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Kampala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Metropole Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing