We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mosquito breeeding room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Metropole is along the comon 100 USD/night hotel setting in Kampala with limited charm and rather noisy environment. The room I had (R116) had his window giving to a restaurant room and the room is provided with mosquitoes you will fill the whole night

Room Tip: Avoid street side (car noise) and 1st floor (mosquitoes and noise from hotel staff)
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank 623Yn623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a night at the end of our trip to get a nice bed, hot shower and AC room.

The premises are really getting old, the AC wasn't working well at all(warm even though set to 16C), the toilet flushes every other time, clock not set, bathroom door transparent and loud, etc...

And the lady at reception was really not helpful as the staff couldn't even pinpoint the location of the hotel on their own map. They also spent more time telling us about how unsafe the city was instead of giving us useful advice... They also were very very slow but I guess this is normal there...

I wouldn't recommend the place and would try something else next time. Also staff was much more helpful in simple cheap hostels we stayed at before...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeCacoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very good. Staff are okay and friendly. It is more spacious than protea hotel across the street. The hotel is new however whenever it rains you usually lose satellite. Rooms are clean however I recommend you use your pesticides and detergents when you first settle in. Housekeeping is friendly but make sure they don't clean your desk and nightstand with the same rag they use to wipe tje floor. Food is also very good. This hotel comes right after serena and golf course.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Bishoy_louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very nice & cozy - Budget Hotel.
Rooms are spacious, Clean. Housekeeping is excellent.
Service personnel are very helpful & efficient. View from Golf course facing rooms are excellent.
Restaurant is Ok.
Cons ---- Avoid 1st Floor & 2nd Floor Road facing rooms. Swimming pool not available.
Overall – Perfect hotel for Business Trip.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st Floor & 2nd Floor Road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santu_134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Contrary to some of the other reviews, I found the hotel to be very good value. Food was excellent, staff always helpful and drivers were brilliant. Location was also very well positioned with some fine restaurants nearby. Certainly the hotel is not perfect but unless you are willing to pay at least twice the daily rate you will find issues with air con etc.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The check in took 20 minutes when we reached at 4 pm. Not that we landed up too early or something. We had 2 rooms booked for us, 1 on single occupancy and the other double with twin beds but they gave us a single king size bed and when we protested they took out the table and put in an extra bed which made the room small, no table and no place to keep suitcases.

Check out was no different, it took the 3 ladies at the reception at least 15 minutes to check us out though we were the only ones at the reception.

The bathrooms are bare, poorly lit and showers give only warm water. No toiletries though the hotel is expensive. The towels though clean looking and smelling were not white and the floor mat was frayed at the edges. The room linen was good.

They did provide a coffee kit but there was no glass in the room. Come on, every hotel has a glass in the room!

The breakfast spread was good. The service in the restaurants is good.

The hotel charges 3K UGS for room service delivery.

The airport drop is $35 for one person but for 2 or more it becomes $35 per person! However, they did agree to $35 per trip (even for 2 pax) when we negotiated.

Try and get a room facing the golf course, the other side faced the road which is noisy and the blinds also do not shut properly.

The AC was old and noisy, the remote labels were in Japanese so it took me a while to figure it out.

Room Tip: Gold course facing, don't take road facing as it is too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justanomad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed one night. Got brilliant service, reception, restaurant, breakfastroom. Staff really helpful.
Also a very good brakfastbuffet.
And I do think the hotel was really good some years ago, but now the cracks are starting to show. Really dark bathroom, low waterpressure, noisy fan in bathroom. Even noisier AC. WiFi really slow and the elevator kept on sighing every time the doors closed.
So maintenance might be improved. A lot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 104 in Kampala
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.8 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#21 of 104 in Kampala
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arcadia Suites
Arcadia Suites
#10 of 104 in Kampala
97 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#26 of 104 in Kampala
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 104 in Kampala
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Kampala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Kampala

Address: Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £81 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Kampala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Metropole Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing