We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation with good service”
Review of Hotel Ruch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ruch
Ranked #46 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good bits - Very large rooms with comfortable beds.
Internet works quite well in certain areas around the hotel (for Ugandan standards).
15 minute walk to mall with a cafe that offers exceptional coffee and the best hot chips - Cafe Pap.
The pizza served at the in-house restaurant was really really good, especially the spinach one. We had to book an extra night at the last minute due to car troubles and the reception staff were very accommodating, giving us all back our original rooms within 5-10 minutes.
Bad bits - Our shower was not working very well, the shower head wouldn't stay in the holder and the diverter had to be held up by hand.
The in-house restaurant took 2+ hours to serve our pizzas even though we had confirmed in the morning that 9 of us would be dining that evening.
Quite expensive for what is is - about USD100 for a room without air conditioning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank smwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

The maint thing about it is location. Just behind Sheraton. Serena is close. It looks kinda old outside, but the rooms are in very good condition. Garden City Center, Bubbles, Mideterrano are 5-7 minutes driving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxim_Yakushev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Not worth the money!
When we arrived at the hotel, we have booked a room without AC. We went up to our room, and we found a very mediocre, relatively clean and very simplistic room. The washroom looked old, the towels were old too, and there was absolutely no garbage can in the room. First disappointment: even though the room was ok, and I have stayed at much simpler and worse places, but for the money we paid it just wasn't worth it! When you pay $90-$130 for room, you expect it to be much more decent and things to be a bit more organized. Ok, so after half an hour we realized that it might be a bit too hot in the room without AC so we asked to upgrade to a room with AC. The ladies working downstairs were very nice and accommodative and were able to provide us a new room with AC in 15 minutes (for extra cost of course). So we move in to our new room...and well the quality of the room is about the same, but few more things were missing: our AC didn't actually work, the safe wasn't opening, and we found a rotten banana in the fridge. Again, we had to go downstairs and ask for all these things to be fixed. As the ladies were very accommodating they gladly helped us and fixed everything there was to fix, so that by the time we went to bed everything was fine. Again, would I pay that much money for a hotel like that? No. If I paid about half the money, I would have been much more satisfied.

Very poorly managed!
But that was just one part of a story. My second point, which made our experience even worse is an encounter with hotel's general manager. We were flying home the next day, however our flight was very late in the evening so we still had to spend a full day in the city. With Kampala's humid climate, by the end of the day you become a little sticky...and when your flight back home takes about 20 hours, it is a common sense that you might want to talk a shower before heading to the airport. Knowing that, upon check-out we have asked about the possibility of leaving our bags in the hotel for the day and also taking a shower in one of the empty rooms before leaving. We were told that yes we could do that. We have also asked the same question when we checked-in the night before, and were also told that yes we could take a shower. So after walking outside for the whole day, we come back to the hotel when we are ready to take the shower. Behind the reception desk we see a new person who happened to be the general manager. We tell him that we are ready to take a shower in one of the spare rooms, and that is when we encounter our second biggest disappointment: he says no we cannot take a shower! If that is what we want to do we have to pay for an extra night stay at the room (a min. of $85 or so)!!!!! Are you serious? Just for taking a shower? We ended up getting into a huge argument, because he just wouldn't let it go, even though we were promised that already twice! Where is the customer service? What about making an exception? Half of the rooms were empty...there was absolutely no reason for him to be so stubborn to get his extra dollars! As tourists, we come to Africa and try to help locals with what we can; but as tourists we also end up in situations where we are the once who need the help...where is that help when we need it? After half an hour of arguments, he was willing to let us shower in the room for half the price. But after all of that, we didn't want to pay an extra penny. It also turned out to be that they have a small room with just cold water shower behind the kitchen and that's where we ended up taking our shower for free...but this option wasn't even stated in the beginning.......The manager also seemed to put all the blame on his workers (even though they haven't done absolutely anything wrong, they were super nice and very accommodating!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timeless_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

You booked a simple Deluxe room without AC at $90 per night, and were given the option to view the room before checking in. On asking for a room with AC, your request was conveyed to the General Manager on whose instructions the reception upgraded you to a Super-Deluxe immediately at no extra cost. We find your claim of having to pay extra quite odd and honestly not factual. The Super-Deluxe is at $130 per night, and you did not have to pay a single penny for the upgrade, hence saving you $50 for a room triple the size. Guests can view the difference in both rooms on our website, and appreciate the difference in size and amenities. The GM has e-mailed you asking for proof of payment for the extra cost as you claim. Kindly correspond with him so that he may investigate the same as our records indicate that you didn’t pay a cent more than the $90.

Safes are intentionally kept closed so that guests may contact the reception with regards to operating instructions. All room ACs are equipped with voltage stabilizers that take a few minutes to activate; this does not imply a non-working AC.

Secondly, you had checked out of your room the next day and left your bags in our storage facility, the charge for the storage facility was waived by the GM due to the inconvenience you had experienced the previous day.

Yes, you are absolutely right about having been promised a shower the next day provided you paid the applicable room rate as is normal hotel policy with any hotel world-wide. It is highly unreasonable to expect provision of facilities [in this case, a shower and usage of the room for an extra 6 hours] at no extra cost. You were not prepared to pay the full room rate, and the GM subsequently offered you the same room at a highly subsidized rate of $50 which you again declined. Despite your repetitive threats to the GM of a negative review, he went out of the way to secure a ‘free’ alternative for you.

We treat all our guests equally with respect and without bias and all our staff are customer-oriented and extremely effective in dealing with customer complaints and providing appropriate solutions. This was demonstrated by the quick upgrade to a much larger room with AC for no extra cost on the instructions of the GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was living in that Hotel for nearly two months during my stay in Kampala. After a while I got very familiar with everything. The staff is very nice and helpful. If you have any questions or concern, they solve it and help you. Also if I asked for special things for breakfast I got it. Sometimes there were "loud" music, but just for a few hours. The room I had was very good and always clean. Internet broke down sometimes, but that is normal for Uganda. The location is directly down town and most things are close by. So all in all for that money I can recommend that hotel. Good job!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Ruch is a fairly priced hotel for a quick stopover in Kampala. The rooms are comfortable however the bathrooms are not clean. All tiles need thorough scrubbing, including the toilet. This may also mean some disinfection is needed as well.

Wifi was available but really poor connectivity.
Breakfast is very basic but suffices.

The garden is beautiful with many fruit trees and flowers. This offers an excellent place for relaxation. A bit of spraying may be needed though to reduce the bugs as they kept biting even during the day.

Overall for a quick stopover it is ok. But needs improvement to be comfortable for long stays.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the garden for a good view outside your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you so much for the feedback. We have passed on this to the Housekeeping Department who have taken the appropriate steps to remedy this. The Wi-Fi was a supplier issue which we have no control over, however this is up and running 100% now. The Breakfast we offer is varied, 4 fruits, 2 juices, sausages, omelettes, tomatoes, 3 cereals, Bread, pancakes and is value for money considering that we only charge $5 per person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I booked a room here after a disappointing trip to Fort Portal and the chimpanzee trek (see my reviews of "Great Lakes Safaris," "Primate Lodge Kibale" and "Lake Nkuruba Nature Reserve" for more details.) We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

The location is very central. We walked to the Shanghai Restaurant for dinner, which was delicious. We also walked to the Sheraton for drinks, which was right next door. We were very pleased.

The room was average: comfortable bed. The mosquito net was too short, but we didn't see many mosquitoes so that was alright. The shower was hot, but smelled like sulfur (which we've experienced before other places). The electricity and television worked. They had a wifi code, which we didn't attempt to use.

The staff was moderately friendly. They helped us find our way to the YMCA Kampala, and accommodated a late check out.

The breakfast was good. We ate pancakes, eggs, pineapple and coffee, which was included with the price of the room ($80/night).

Overall, a very solid hotel and a pleasant relief after our trip to the west.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed at Hotel Ruch for three nights, while waiting to get a permanent accomodation in Kampala. The few advantages of this hotel are its position (very central) and the relatively new and comfy blankets. Other than that is an extremely depressing and crumbling hotel, with ultra basic rooms, no restaurant (arrived at 9 pm, found out I could not eat and I was referred to a crappy chinese restaurant 300 metres from the hotel) and they even charge you 5 USD for an obscene breakfast. For this type of facility 65 USD is outrageous. It is worth less than 15 USD a night. Never again!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scodazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRuch, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for the review. Please allow us to address your concerns.

The area in which we are located is surrounded by 4 and 5* Hotels that charge in excess of $200 per night which many clients cannot afford. Our rates and rooms are designed to keep this in mind and we do clearly advertise our rooms as 'No frills' rooms on our website.

These clients require a quiet, secure, clean, centrally located and affordable place to put their head down, and is the very reason all our return guests prefer to reside with us when in Kampala.

Our Breakfast for $5 is varied continental (Eggs, Sausages, Pancakes, Potatoes, Bread, Cereals, Fruits, Juice, Tea, Coffee, Milk) and is the same provided by the adjoining 4 and 5* Hotels who charge in excess of $20 for the same.

We give all our clients a range of nearby restaurants to choose from, the nearby Sheraton, Serena or the Shanghai Chinese Restaurant which you visited and is a famous premier establishment that has been in Kampala for decades, and is visited by many dignitaries.

Unlike other hotels which inundate guests with noise, loud club music, ladies of the night and other non-depressive events, we have chosen to give our clients privacy and a serene quiet place to reside when in Kampala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.8 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 105 in Kampala
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 105 in Kampala
341 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#12 of 105 in Kampala
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#37 of 105 in Kampala
40 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premiere Boutique Hotel
Premiere Boutique Hotel
#23 of 105 in Kampala
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Biraj International Hotel
Biraj International Hotel
#59 of 105 in Kampala
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: £49 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruch 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruch is a hotel in central Kampala where a warm welcome and a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed. Being a no-frills Hotel, we pride ourselves on providing hotel accommodation in central Kampala, Uganda at competitive rates starting from only $70 per night. We are only 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Kampala with easy access to public transport. Hotel Ruch is in between two 5* Hotels in Kampala, the Sheraton & Serena Hotels ; The city centre, super-markets and shopping centres are less than a 5 min's drive away. Unwind and relax in serene wild-life themed Uzuri Gardens. An experience unmatched by any hotel in central Kampala ; no noise, no distractions, Just you, your thoughts and nature. Excite your taste buds with delicious curries & naans baked in a clay Tandoor, YUM! With a 6-page menu & quality beyond any of the hotels in Kampala, you will be spoilt for choice! We are located in a safe, secure & central area of the Kampala CBD and has ample secure parking for over 30 cars. Relax, have a coffee or read a book all under a traditional hand-thatched roof. We are one of the few Hotels in Kampala giving back to the community by employing local crafts-men. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ruch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing