We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely. Just lovely.”
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cassia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed here in April 2011. The location was good, the vista serene, bedroom clean and on a par with any 4* hotel in UK (actually heaps better than a recent stay in a London 4* hotel, but I digress), the pool and sunloungers were perfectly adequate/comfortable (no flies whatsoever), the G&T (with ice - nothing bad happened) on the deck with the sun sinking over the lake very, very relaxing. Meals were filling and tasty, lake fish yummy, no complaints whatsoever. And they serve wine! Fresh fruit in morning (again, no tummy bugs, all fine).

On one level the service was laid back (but if you've ever travelled Southern Europe, you'll know the mañana way, this was similar), and on another level I was so glad the whole atmosphere was so laid back, something I never expected to feel on my first night in sub-Saharan Africa - I relaxed instantly and felt incredibly safe staying here. It would have been romantic had I been with someone special :) One drawback is it doesn't feel very Ugandan, it feels remarkably like continental S.Europe. It's a very, very stark contrast driving around downtown Kampala and then retiring to this serene location in the evening. A bit guilt-inducing, but there you go, that's what travelling in this part of the world does to you.

You do need to get taxis everywhere, you wouldn't want to wander out solo. You can barter with the taxi driver when he arrives as well and negotiate a price. I'd definitely stay here again in a heartbeat. I just need a reason to go there again!

Room Tip: Ground floor was great. I think I was in room 7, wifi everywhere. Had to ask for wifi password, staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnonymousseJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Excellent location, splendid view on Lake Victoria and a very relaxed atmosphere! Friendly and nice staff with a permanent smile on the face. Dining on the large terras is a gastronomic experience for a modest price. A must for visitors of Kampala!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The baseline of this hotel is really not a lie, it really offers you the most beautiful scenery you can find in Kampala. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip. Excellent place to recover from a long flight or to end your trip in this amazing country. A bit outside the noisy center you enjoy great food, excellent service, clean rooms and not forgettting the relaxing swimming pool. À place to never forget!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JokeHoogewys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Breathtaking view including very colorful sunrises, friendly and competent staff, nice location outside the bustle of the city, nice pool overlooking Lake Victoria.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 231anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We arrived at Cassia Lodge very late after our flight to Entebbe and then the drive to the lodge. Our room was comfortable and when we woke the next morning were amazed at the view over Lake Victoria and Kampala. We stayed at Cassia Lodge again on our last night before flying home and they were very accommodating about letting us keep our room until the evening, this was a real bonus after a dusty days sightseing in Kampala as we were able to shower and change before our flight. The only negative points we would make are that breakfast is a bit lacking in choice and our evening meal took a long time to arrive and looked like it had been siiting around under a hot lamp for a while. Having driven around Kampala we were glad that we stayed here rather than in the citywhich is so congested with traffic.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AshteadCandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This was the second time for us that we stay at Cassia Lodge. We didn't see improvements in the last year. The rooms on the first floor are generally fine with a nice view. The rooms have: TV, Wifi, refrigerator, fan, net, safe and a nice clean bathroom.
The food is OK but is EU food, not local and the menu was the same as last year. Serving food and drinks cost a lot of time and you must ask again and again.

Overall: for some nights it is a niece and pleasant place but not for a whole week or more

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights, had a rough time, I had to move elsewhere for the last 2 nights of my stay.

Half the things didn't work in the room, there were bugs in the room, the bed was really hard. The staff were okay, they tried to help out but failed miserably. For some reason staff in Uganda are always really lazy, i had to like scream untill they thought they should do something....which consisted of spraying my room...not a big help...

There are many other places to stay in kampala, do your research before travelling to kampala.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthony12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
4.8 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 105 in Kampala
343 reviews
5 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
681 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#10 of 105 in Kampala
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
6.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
220 reviews
5.8 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Address: 15 Plot | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: £100 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Jovago.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing