We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cassia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Zoersel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a great time in Cassia Lodge - Kampala! Our travel across Oeganda, started & ended at this place, a beautiful place with a fantastisch view over the city of Kampala & Lake Elisabeth.
The service was TOP (people were so kind). Nice food, great diner in the evening too!
If we go back to Oeganda, we go back to Casia Lodge too....
Fam. Verbruggen-Torfs

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    155
    48
    12
    11
See reviews for
77
118
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We were warmly greeted with tasty passion fruit drinks and the check-in process was straightforward. We loved the mosquito net contraption in our room. Our fridge was turned off when we arrived and there weren't enough sockets next to the tv to choose all of tv, digital channels and fridge! Tv digital channels had poor signal. Shower did flood a bit, but that wasn't a biggie for us. Curtains are lined and keep light out very well. Bed was very comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious (I had the catch of the day). Breakfast options weren't as strong (avoid the horrid butterscotch and mango yoghurts! But the vanilla was nice). WiFi signal in the room was on the weak side. All in all a nice place but probably a bit pricey at $150 a night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena CA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

After a marathon flight from Los Angeles to Uganda, the Cassia Lodge was a welcomed rest and beautiful place to land! The views were spectacular, the food was surprisingly good. Unfortunately, we only booked one night here: two would have magnificent, and a wonderful place to unwind from a flight and prepare for a safari (we used Great Lakes Safaris and we were very happy). The room was comfortable and quiet. We didn't have time for the pool, but it was very inviting. The location is a respite from the wonderfully wild Kampala!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights after arriving in Uganda prior to joining a safari. It is a small hotel situated in a quiet reasonably nice area of the city. All the rooms have great views over the city and the lake beyond. It has a nice small garden together with a pool which we didn't get to try out as the weather was not great while we were there. The staff were friendly most of the time but there is obviously a cultural difference which would explain why some are not over friendly. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was very good. Breakfast was simple but acceptable. We didn't travel far from the hotel during our stay so don't know what other restaurants were nearby and Kampala although probably fairly safe is not somewhere I would want to walk around on my own! Overall we enjoyed our stay, had a clean room, friendly staff and good food so couldn't ask for much else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petersuffolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This place has the most amazing views over lake victoria, we were only there 2 nights, evening meal was amazing, but sadly the breakfast was not as good, we were later down for breakfast and a lot of the heated food had dried out, so would recommend you go early to get it fresh. Swimming pool is in an excellant setting, over looking lake victoria, stunning views across the lake to kampala. While we were there there was a lot of renovations, Once completed i am sure the hotel will be brilliant. Dissapointing thing for me was there was no air conditioner, and only fans that stood at the side of the bed which blew the mosquito nets, and i woke up we quite a few bites, despite the room being sprayed :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1satchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Not that we saw a lot of it , only arriving at 1.15am and leaving at 7am, but what we did see was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the views fabulous. Breakfast choice was excellent and service efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madtraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

On our trip through Uganda we stayed also at Cassia Lodge in Kampala. The location of the hotel is tremendous with a beautiful view over Kampala. The rooms are nice & clean - the bathroom as well. The kitchen offers a nice variation in food and drinks. The quality overall is more than average! And very important: the staff of Cassia Lodge is very friendly and helpful - and so is Johan, the managing director!!! We had a wonderful time there and we recommend this place strongly!! We really hope to come back once...
Karin & Folke & kids

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinSorbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
205 reviews
4.8 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 103 in Kampala
331 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 103 in Kampala
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#16 of 103 in Kampala
85 reviews
5.8 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
4.1 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Property: Cassia Lodge
Address: 15 Plot | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing