We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cassia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arrived late night at Cassia Lodge.
Waking up the next morning with the most beautiful view on Lake Victoria was the best start ever to begin our African journey.
Cassia Lodge offers all services to enjoy a most pleasant stay in Kampala, comfortable rooms, good food, nice large pool and friendly personnel. We especially enjoyed a great performance by a traditional band and dancers in the garden.
Looking forward to returning soon !
Jeroen

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeroen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    149
    44
    12
    10
See reviews for
70
113
45
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I must be missing something. It's not a place for sleeping. We stayed 1 night at the beginning of our safari and 1 night at the end (not our choice) and couldn't wait for the stay to be over. Kampala has so many better places to stay.
* No air-con in the room (and the night was HOT). Rubbish fan didn't help.
* The mosquito net was full of gaps at the top, got bitten 3 times.
* Room safe didn't work, no power to it.
* Rooms are more tired than I was. Saggy bed

Restaurant and bar were it's saving grace. Great food, cold Nile Special and a killer view of Kampala at night. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms #7 #8 #9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HedgemeisterHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Really comfortable lodge just outside of Kampala. Be prepared for a taxi ride to town, but the ride helps orient you to the city, so it's not really a disadvantage. The pool is quite nice and refreshing after a day exploring the city. The dinner took a while to deliver, so be prepared for leisurely eating. Breakfast is pretty typical, and the staff quite friendly. Ask for the Spanish omelette. Wifi pretty reliable and location safe. This was my first night in Uganda and I was pleasantly surprised.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AHB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

we had a three night stay in Cassia Lodge . the view on the Victoria is so different every morning and evening , the mist, the clouds, by clear weather,... overnight with the frogs making their lovesongs, and allways so quiet and peacefull. you should forget the slums you came through as you arrive in this garden of Eden... Johan and Els are great guests, we love the discussions, the exchange of experiences, the backgrounds of Uganda, the political questions,..
we like to come back and come home in this place, now for the third time, with 39 volunteers at the beginning and end of our medical mission to the poorest people in East Uganda.
'chapeau' for the kind reception, the food, the garden, the rooms... hope to see you again in two years (or earlier...) Peter and Veronique Vandendriessche-Lamoral

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damme, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The view on Lake Victoria is splendid! The management is helping you to direct you to the safaris and to explain the African culture and how the Ugandans live. Cassia Losge is the place to be to start to travel through Uganda and its neighbourging countries.

A remarkable plus point is that the hotel can easily manage groups of 40 pax.

Jan Cordonnier

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location looking over lake Victoria. The beds are comfortable, the staff are friendly and the food is great. If this had been an overnight stop I'd have given it full marks.
But it wasn't my plan to sit by the pool for a day and recover from the long flight was spoiled when the locals arrived. The hotel allows access to the pool area for the locals and their children for a fee. So a planned peaceful day became a headache as I listened to the kids scream and fight and bang on, well anything really. Would not stay again

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samsungKampala, Owner at Cassia Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
I would like to thank our estimated client for appreciating the views, the rooms, the staff and the food at Cassia Lodge. And...the fact that he wanted to give us five stars...if the locals would not have been at the pool on Sunday.
These -so called- locals are kids of our neighbours They are allowed to use our pool. The symbolic fee is 5000 Ugsh (1,5 euro).
This is part of our social responsibility towards the local community.
In Africa, and Uganda in particular, one cannot do business in a cocoon.
I really feel sorry that our client could not rest during that particular Day. But I wonder why he did not ask to be shifted to another room -far away from the pool..
Anyway dear client. Accept our apologies.
Cassia Lodge will always try to be a home for Bazungu (whites) and for locals (we call them Ugandans). With respect.
Johan, M.D. Cassia Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Splendid view on Lake Victoria from one of the most vivid places to stay of Kampala. Good restaurant with beautiful terrace, visited by a unique mix of locals and tourists. Owners are a former European MP for Belgium and an well-known journalist.

Room Tip: Rooms ground floor air-conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GroepC-eet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#17 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#14 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Property: Cassia Lodge
Address: 15 Plot | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cassia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing