We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite expensive, bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eureka Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lusaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eureka Camping Park
Ranked #22 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite expensive, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in one of the A-framed which was really good, especially after sitting in a bus for 10 hours.

The service is however quite bad. The prices are very high ($8 for breakfast, and we got this tiny sandwich..) and by the time we had to pay we found out we couldn't pay with credit card! We ended up borrowing money from other guest and we transfer it to them through our banks.

My friend was flying out quite early and I was flying out at night so I was planning on spending the afternoon at the pool, but there is nothing there. No chairs, no tables, no parasols. So I decided to go to another place in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mup24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was the most diry and dangerous place we stayed during our 3 week overland tour through East Africa. The first chalet we were given was pretty dirty with many dead insects lying on the floor. When I had a shower out of a sudden I received an electric shock - the water must have somehow connected to the electricity. There was a constant strong current running trough the water and I was extremely lucky to get out of the shower alive. Turing off the shower was impossible since the handles were also charged with 250 volts. When we called the Manager he just mumbled an appology and gave us another chalet. In the second chalet we were greeted by a massive cockroach which was trapped inside the tucked up mosquito net. The net didn´t have any holes, was completely see-through and the bottom part was knotted together - thus whoever cleaned that room must have knowingly trapped the cockroach in there. What kind of cleaner would do something like that?! The general facilities (bar, toilets for campers, etc.) also showed clear signs of neglect. Avoid to stay here at all cost!!!

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milkyway85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lusaka hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Background: Upon leaving Livingstone and heading north in Zambia, just before Lusaka - the Capitol, our overland tour group had an overnight stay here at this campground. It is a mixed-use facility consisting of 15 small, thatched-roofed bungalows as well as space for pitching tents. (As our group used tents, I cannot comment on the bungalows/chalets.)

PROS: It is located along Kafue Road (Rte T2) on the southern outskirts of Lusaka so it is highly accessible. Unlike many other campsites, this one has lots of grassy campsites underneath large shade trees. There is a swimming pool and a bar on site. The property is inside or adjacent to a game reserve and, because it is un-fenced, all kinds of game animals freely roam and graze inside the campsite. More importantly, it is the kind of animals that will not eat us for dinner. As you can imagine, all sorts of encounters with wild animals does occur.

One such encounter happened one night, when I heard a distinct sound of pawing just outside my tent. Curious, I took my torch and gingerly zipped open my tent door. As I slowly poked my head out to sneak a peek, I was nose-to-nose with a zebra! Both of us was startled and the entire camp must've heard this loud, blood-curdling scream ring out into the darkness. And it didn't come from the zebra.

CONS: It was quite a distance (~10km) from the city centre of Lusaka and the public minibuses that service this route are notoriously unreliable. And, for all its easy accessibility, the lack of signs make it difficult to find at night. Because it is quite popular among the overland tour groups passing through the area, it can get crowded, noisy and rowdy. The ablution's condition and cleanliness could be better. And electrical power is an on again-off again affair.

Verdict: This place is pretty much your basic, standard, run-of-the-mill campground catering to large overland tour groups and the amenities and conditions may as well reflect that fact. Averaging about £3 pp per night for camping, it is of excellent value for what you get -- which isn't much. Par for the course. Your call. Grade B+.

.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were going to stay several nights at Eureka, but the warning signs were already there on arrival....at the entrance gate we were stopped and asked to sign-in (very good), but while we were doing so a local car tried to get past security at speed - the security guy managed to stop them (but only just). Reception is in the bar - the barman is locked inside a heavy steel cage - this seemed suspicious for a campsite.....
The campsite itself is surrounded by chalets, creating the effect of being squeezed together, particularly when "overland" buses arrive with large groups.
The ablutions just aren't large enough to cope with the quantity of people using them (in the mens there are only 2 toilets and 3(?) showers - for a campsite/dorms that could potentially have over 70 people staying! Even when quite empty there were long queues in the morning.
After dark a large group of locals arrived, pitched a couple of tents and started to party. The noise level started to rise until by 10pm it could only be described as loud. By midnight there was bedlam on the campsite with youths running all over shouting and screaming. They then started to approach other campers vehicles at which point security were called - the one security guy was....in the bar!!!!! Security and management did very little to calm the situation, so campers and people in chalets were forced to guard their vehicles themselves until the gang decided to break up at around 2am.
The management explained that "they had paid to be there, so they had the right to be there"!!!!
We left and went to Pioneer Camp on the other side of town - totally different!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

This is pretty much a standard overlander camp in every other manner (cramped camping area, borderline bathroom facilities), but they get a lower review from me for a few reasons: 1) we inquired about upgrading from camping to a room when we checked in and the manager refused to give us full credit for the amount that had already been paid for camping; 2) the grounds are not well lit which is typical, but for some reason they decided to put a huge light in the middle of the camping area that kept me up all night while they chose not to light the path the bathroom at all; 3) when the power went out, which I understand is a common unavoidable occurrence in this part of the world, the generator kicked on and only powered the bar, not the lights in the bathroom; and 4) the bar was not a comfortable place as it was full of men acting tough who I don't think were staying at the camp.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mullydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Eureka Camping Park on 2 separate days as part of overland trip to Zambia.

Nice shaded camp site. Limited power points (some if which is broken - plugs to be replaced) with both local and SA type plugs. Clean ablution - showers have curtains rather than doors Doors would be appreciated. Hot water if you early.

Friendly gate staff - no other staff visible accept bar man - he was occupied.

No firewood on site - New Pick A Pay grocery store nearby as you enter Lusaka.

Be very careful at turnoff from road (well sign posted) specially if towing as the short gravel road to Camp Site is lower than tarred main road.

Many overlanders stayed over - but noise levels were kept down.

There are small chalets and dormitory available. We did not use these but they looked clean and functional.

We felt safe at all times.

We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius Schoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

The bungalows are great idea to build in traditional Zambian style.
The issue is that besides you there are hundredths of spiders, Mosquitos, flys and other insects. This is due to lack of dense wall in the bathroom.
So you share the room with others, sometimes unpleasant guessts.
Besides that the moisture is in the beds and sheets as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
14.2 mi away
Lusaka Backpackers
Lusaka Backpackers
#5 of 98 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
#2 of 98 in Lusaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
14.0 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
14.0 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Camping Park

Property: Eureka Camping Park
Address: Kafue Road, Lusaka, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing