We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Protea Hotel Lusaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
“Protea Hotel Lusaka”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

stayed there for 2 nights from 6 January 2014. the room, the service and the food were very good. i just had issues with the wifi internet. had to change rooms for the 2nd night as the first room had no signal. the second room, which was on the 4th floor, had very weak signal and slow connectivity. as this was a business trip, coupled with my very high reliability on social networks, internet browsing and emails i wasn't too happy there. the alternative entertaining was tv and there were not enough channel variety. other than this, everything else was cool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are better for wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Mr. Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you due to the internet not working adequately. Please be assured that I have contacted our internet service provider and corrective action has been taken to ensure that none of our GUESTS are inconvenienced in this way again.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    104
    48
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
23
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We overnighted here on our way to the Kafue National Park. Amenities and facilities are perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The manager even stopped to have a chat with us. The breakfast is very basic but for what we paid it was perfect. We loved it thank you

Room Tip: Ask for 2 nd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Valued GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient and I assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Lusaka again soon.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had an unexpected night in Lusaka when our flight was cancelled last minute and we decided to try the Protea. We were glad we did. After a very stressful evening dealing with re-booking our flights we were greeted with warm welcomes and smiles by the front desk staff. Check-in was simple and we were soon up in our comfortable room relaxing.

The room was clean, the WiFi worked, there was hot water, the staff were helpful and friendly, and location is convenient. The included breakfast was also great and there was much to choose from. I don't really need more than that when I'm traveling. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChimpChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear valued GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Lusaka and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here as a stop over on our way to Mozambique for a fishing trip. They were very accommodating to us being our flight arrived at 6:15am. We were met at the airport by a very polite gentleman, checked-in very efficiently, and quite thankful for a long nap after flying 36 hours. The hotel being attached to the shopping center was very convenient for us to pick-up last minute items for our fishing adventure in the bush. The young lady on the desk that evening spoke excellent English and I just can't compliment her enough on how helpful she was answering questions for us. We had dinner at the restaurant seated on the balcony - an excellent way to end the evening. Food was great, and the service was superb. Check-out was just as efficient as the check-in. If traveling to Lusaka again, would certainly stay here without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyoconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore like to thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay with us and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After a long hot drive in 15 classic cars with 30 people it was good to arrive in Lusaka. Tea, coffee, cool drinks and snacks were laid out welcoming the group.
It is amazing that this relatively "new" hotel is being replaced by a larger newer hotel right next door.
I hope that it is as good in all respects as the "old" one.
The management went to a lot of trouble to look after our prides and joy and everybody left the next day in a good mood.

Room Tip: Check out the new hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments and additional positive feedback after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka.

We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were friendly and efficient. We wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing an outstanding job.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Lusaka again soon.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at the hotel a lot of times in the past. The service is always of the highest quality and with a smile.

The restaurant's menu could probably do with more variety.

The wifi in the rooms on the Rhapsodys side is very poor.

Hotel is extremely well situated!

Well done!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

GUESTS perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I Should therefore like to thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay with us and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good hotel, room price is excessive for the overall quality of the room. However the rooms are very clean, spacious, and the beds are very good. The menu in the hotel is limited but the breakfasts are very ample and good. Overall a comfortable and good hotel but a bit on the expensive side in terms of value for money. Airport shuttle is also quite handy! On a final note, the wifi service is horrible!

Room Tip: Note that room service I have marked as terrible, this because there is no room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katanga_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Mr. Katanga,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced as a result of the internet connectivity. Your experience certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Lusaka are usually proud to offer. We confirm therefore that our internet provider has been contacted and the problem has been resolved.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
2.1 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka
Address: Arcades Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Lusaka, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lusaka and within the Arcades Shopping and Entertainment Complex. GUESTS visiting this hotel have the benefit of being closely situated to the Mulungushi Conference Centre as well as have direct access to shops and restaurants. The hotel has four room types to cater for your needs with all the amenities to make your stay a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing