We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Eight Reedbuck Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eight Reedbuck Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Lusaka
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We only stayed here one night but the staff and management were marvelous. Emirates airline did not load my luggage to Lusaka. My wife asked if they would wash my clothes. They agreed. This is a small boutique hotel and I really did not expect that. The next morning when I went to settle the charges, they told me there was no charge for the laundry service. Wow! How nice! The food here for dinner was really good too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chjerseyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
12
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Like many guests at Eight Reedbuck, we were only there for a brief overnight visit, but it was memorable in many ways, all of them good. Firstly, I was in the throes of a dreadful intestinal bug, and Stella and her staff went out of their way to ensure my comfort, sending pumpkin soup and a comforting herbal tea to the room while my traveling companions enjoyed the best meal they had in Africa in the hotel dining room; I hear the beef carpaccio and roasted kudu are fantastic! A fabulous 40th birthday party was underway in the garden, and they were invited to join in the festivities -- what great hospitality. Our room was clean, comfortable, and beautifully air-conditioned; by the next morning I was feeling nearly human and found the grounds to be lovely. We hope to be back for a longer stay sometime soon; until then, Stella has my vote for best hotel manager of the decade.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aburke20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

3rd time back and as good as ever. And it even got my mum's seal of approval too! It makes such a difference going to a place where the staff make you feel so welcome (and ensure you get one of the best rooms too). Stella and her team are fab, and even got up extra early to ensure my family got their taxis to the airport okay. The rooms are big and the bathrooms bigger, and stylishly done. But it's the outdoor space for relaxing by the pool or bar which I really like. Because it's a small hotel, it never feels too crowded/noisy; but equally the fact that locals pop in for a drink at the bar gives it a nice vibe too. Breakfast can sometimes be a bit slow (though menu is good), but the bonus is that usually your room is cleaned by the time you're done. All-in-all decent value for money and very pleasurable stay. I've celebrated some key moments of my life at this hotel and look forward to coming back again soon.

Room Tip: ground floor room have little gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I love to travel and this place is one of our favorites. as the staff say, they aim to please and they surely do. its got a personal touch, attention to detail and they give you a personalized service, not where you are just a number but where you feel that you are a truly welcomed guest. recommended 100%. keep it up

Room Tip: book in advance because its busy !
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Petros N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were at Eight Reedbuck Hotel for less than twelve hours, arriving after dark and leaving in the early light. We felt as if we missed much of what it had to offer--the lovely garden with a roaring fireplace looked inviting, but we were too bushed to do more than have a quick dinner and go to bed. Even our short stay gave us a feeling of a place that was lovingly and tastefully designed and warmly hospitable. We were welcomed on arrival by Vincent and Alex, who proved to be the chef and the waiter. The first room we were shown had only one bed. Although we had paid for a standard room with two beds, with no fuss and no extra charge, we were quickly ushered to a two bedroom suite which was perfect.

We ordered tomato garlic soup and an Eight Reedbuck salad for appetizers, both of which were so large and so good that we could barely make a dent in our main courses. Note: Skip the bream with chips, as the former was cooked too long and the latter not long enough. Otherwise, it was a lovely meal.

The owner was not on duty but made a point of meeting us and apologizing for the odor of paint, which wasn't a problem at all and easily excused in the interest of progress.

Eight Reedbuck is 30 minutes from Lusaka Airport, but it appears that no hotels are closer. It was a perfectly pleasant stopover for us and we wish we could have seen it in the daylight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We found this hotel, without knowing how amazing it would be. The rooms were amazing, clean, modern, nice deco, neat. One room had a jacuzzi, all rooms had bathtubs and showers (that made u feel like you were showering outdoors- wonderful), AC, fridge, nice beds etc. The english breakfast included in the price was delicious. The outside seating areas by the pool amazing. And most importantly the staff were fantastic, VERY helpful and service minded. We have them to thank for a wonderful stay in Lusaka!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed here for one night and were really disappointed.

Our suite, while large, was in desperate need of refurbishment. Carpet was old and not very clean, furniture was chipped, towels and bedlinen had holes in them, bedlinen had some stains, the grouting between the tiles in the bathroom was in real need of a good clean and there were dirty marks on the ceiling. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable and air conditioning, while noisy, was effective. There was also a fridge and complimentary bottled water.

Other positives for the hotel are that the small pool area is nice (though pool towels quite threadbare) and there is complimentary wifi. We found the staff to be friendly.

Food was incredibly hit and miss. We only had dinner at the hotel, and the grilled fish was good, but the salad was absolutely awful. The menu said "tenderly roasted vegetables" but what we got were some cold, hard lumps of butternut squash, an unidentifiable red thing, and some cream cheese that smelled rather suspect. It sounded like a lot of the food was microwaved as we regularly heard the "ping" coming from the kitchen. The cost of the food was surprisingly high.

All in all, we felt that this hotel was probably pretty good about ten years or so ago, but there are some basics that really need addressing to make this place acceptable. If in Lusaka, we would suggest selecting an alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylanddavid2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
3.4 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 32 in Lusaka
644 reviews
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
4.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Reedbuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Property: Eight Reedbuck Hotel
Address: 8 Reedbuck Road | Kabulonga, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eight Reedbuck Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight Reedbuck Hotel is a unique small luxury all suite boutique hotel that takes its design inspiration from the many Zambian tribes and their rich culture. Eight Reedbuck Hotel with the luxury and facilities associated with five star hotels is ideal for the discerning traveller who also wants a more personalised service you can only get with a small luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Eight Reedbuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Reedbuck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing