We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vasilis

Vasilis
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Lusaka
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Coffee is not so bad, but very average in Lusaka. Baked stuff is alright, but several times they packed for me something that was not fresh. So, be careful going there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mishcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice little cafe- if you don't mind sipping at the mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

it's a nice little place, thank goodness not smack in the middle of the food court and has some open air seating so you don't have to suffer any of that recycled mall air. the food is good, with mid to high range prices

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKLusaka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
267 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good cappuccino”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

If one likes croissants then probably it is the place to have breakfast or a snack. My croissant with ham and egg - I had expected a fried egg on top of the ham but it was served with scrambled egg - was not really satisfying, however my colleague enjoyed the plain croissants. The cappuccino was refreshing early in the morning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Went here a couple of times recently- first time coffee very good. We ordered a sausage roll which was excellent and a croissant that was not that great to be honest- and quite salty for some reason.

On our next visit we opted for just coffee and it was no where near as good as before. Still this place has potential and the bread does look good although I'm yet to try it.

Service is slow so let them know if you're pressed for time.



Helpful?
Thank Mepstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good doughnuts and bread”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The view if the parking lot is a little less than stellar, but they make up for it with really stellar baked goods. The service is typical of Lusaka. The server will walk by repeatedly without looking at you unless you shout out to her or him. The guys at the counter are always fine, but a little slow and less than friendly until you are first friendly to them. The coffees are illy, so they are tasty. The milkshakes need some help. The prices are very reasonable. The pizza is sheet-pan style and frequently needs to be sent back to be reheated further. But, like I said, the breads are awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vasilis also viewed

Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 

Been to Vasilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing