We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but no WiFi and Uninterested Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalulu Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #40 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
A TripAdvisor Member
1812
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The accommodations were great. The bar was nice. However, the wifi wasn't working and the staff didn't seem interested in helping us find an alternate source of Internet. Hard to find, due to poor marking (use your phone's GPS when going there).

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at this hostel for a night and in the end were very glad we hadn't booked for anymore. We arrived after a long day on the bus from Livingstone and made our way to the hostel. On arrival we checked in and found the girl on reception to be so disinterested in helping us or answering any of our questions. She showed us to the 6 bed mixed dorm but didn't bother showing us anything else.

The dorm itself was not very nice and the beds and bedding felt like they hadn't been properly cleaned in a long time. Luckily we had sleeping bag liners with us so we slept in those instead. There are lockers beneath the bunks for personal belongings but most of the hinges were broken so you couldn't close them. There was also no lock on the door so we felt quite uneasy at leaving our stuff in the room. The only toilets and showers were right at the back of the garden we eventually found out.

The wifi wasn't working at the time we were there and the receptionist again was really unhelpful when we asked where we could get access to the internet.

Overall, probbaly one of the worst hostels we stayed in during our 2.5 months in Africa. Would definitely recommend trying to find somwehere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have been in many cheap hostels around the world and this is undoubtedly the worst. We stayed in the mixed dorms, there are too close to the bar that is open every day, so you feel like in the bar and it is very difficult to sleep. Kitchen does not exist, but really, it is more like a garbage room, everything dirty and nothing working (one of the other reviewer post a photo, you can checked it). Internet was paid, although it was not working. Bathroom were disgusting and no hot water. Finally the free breakfast advertise in agoda is not true. we asked and they simply respond "there is no breakfast"... ok. The first thing I did the next morning was to look for somewhere else, in the same street I found Broad backpacker, better and less expensive!

Room Tip: mixed room are so close to the bar that you feel in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AugustaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at cheap hostels all over the world and it takes a lot to gross me out, but this place did it. God knows when the last time the toilets were cleaned was. 1 of the 4 showers has hot water. Don't plan on using the "kitchen". (I'll post a photo of it). The free breakfast advertised on HostelWorld is not a thing (the guy at reception just said, "no, we don't serve breakfast". There's no restaurant. No security or locks on the doors. Internet is expensive (and I was charged more than listed on the signs at the hostel, just because the guy at reception felt like charging me more). It's also a long walk down a very dark road to get there.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed only one night here in a double ensuite room ($50US) as Lusaka Backpackers was full. The room was okay - no towels - the showerhead was so fine it took half an hour to get wet and you got cold waiting but the worst was the Receptionist. We really needed wifi as we had been on the road for 4 days....first she said she would give us the password, when we went back she said you have to pay but it wasnt working. She then laughed...and was very rude and unhelpful. Basically the place looked rather untidy and very unloved - we couldnt wait to get back to Lusaka Backpackers (which is just around the road) the next morning.
It was definitely overpriced and not value for money so cannot recommend.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are rooms at the front - maybe dorms? - but would be noisy by the bar that is full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Kalulu was distinctly average. The staff seemed uninterested, the toilets were dirty and the facilities seemed in a general disrepair. The dorms were fine, beds comfortable and prices OK.

Location wise it is very close to Levy junction and fairly convenient.

There were quite a lot of rabbits that seemed not to mind the loud music.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

No surprises, an ok but not the best backpackers. Stayed in an ensuite room, ok shower (one of those dodgy electric ones, clean(ish) room, food was hard to find and we didn't stick around long enough for the cook to be located. A little pricey for a very basic backpackers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Lusaka Backpackers
Lusaka Backpackers
#4 of 123 in Lusaka
176 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
4 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#8 of 33 in Lusaka
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lusaka
688 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.5 mi away
Wanderers Lodge Lusaka
Wanderers Lodge Lusaka
#8 of 123 in Lusaka
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalulu Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalulu Backpackers Hostel

Address: 20 Broads Road | Fairview, Lusaka, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
Price Range: £13 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and secure, Kalulu Backpackers Hostel is perfectly located close to the bus and rail stations, two of Lusaka’s largest shopping malls, and the city centre. With a mixture of dorm beds, private rooms, and camping, we have accommodation to suit everyone. You can enjoy a delicious meal from our cafe, or cook up a feast yourself in our fully equipped communal kitchen. Relax by the pool, enjoy a drink at our fully stocked bar, or take some time to explore the sights and sounds of Lusaka. Our experienced staff can advise you on any travel queries and can help book tours or activities you may want to sample while visiting Zambia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kalulu Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing