We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lusaka rewery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lusaka rewery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Well established garden with many old trees surrounding.Very centrally positioned and close to main amenities.Very attractive pool area with beautiful grass surroundings.Excellent food .Very peaceful athmosphere and bar

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the entrance as it is quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    187
    50
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
30
17
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great hotel, excellent food,very neat rooms ,relaxing pool area..all you need to have a peaceful stay on one premises. Wi - Fi reception in the lobby area was perfect. Please look after the baby crocodile it is very well behaved.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here after 24 hour flight from JFK. Excellent staff. Rooms could be better. Carpeting ripped, sinks and faucets very outdated. The room was clean, but not put together well at all. Not run down, but could use a new look. The breakfast is wonderful, and the manager stopped by our table when he noticed we didn't have coffee. A nice touch. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , and the comments around the service levels of the staff will be shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kind Regards
Marius Noeth
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by very pleasant staff who seemed very genuine. Check in was swift and professional. The room was to a standard you would expect from a Southern sun hotel. The TV did not want to play initially but eventually started to give the channels as requested. The internet speed was not as good as I have enjoyed in Africa but I eventually got my various tasks done. The bar menu was very limited but once again very attentive and friendly staff. The young lady that greeted me when I went into the restaurant seemed a little nervous? When I asked for a table for one, she directed me to share a table for two with a guy that was half way through his meal. We eventually worked out that I would prefer to have my own table as there were plenty available. The buffet meal was excellent, with plenty of choice across all three courses. Once again, breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice as you would expect. I chose to eat outside which was pleasant despite a cloudy morning. The staff were just, if not more attentive and there was never a need to look for anyone, as they were always available. The crocodiles did not make an appearance but the weaver birds were fascinating. A very pleasant stay as would be expected in a hotel from this group. Many thanks.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 149. The window faced quite a busy main road with traffic noise and the door faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganYosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , the internet speed is something we are constantly trying to improve with our Internet Service Provider. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the meal quality , these will be shared with the entire team. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kind Regards

Marius Noeth
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

It was humbling to see the top manager going round during breakfast to check on guests. That personal touch, with the same filtering down to the rest of the staff, is commendable. Rooms were comfortable. Definitely a place to return

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tefis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review of our hotel , we appreciate your feedback very much.

Your kind comments regarding your stay will be shared with the entire team , and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Ridgeway on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kind Regards

Marius Noeth
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I checked in to the Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka after a horrendous night in a local hotel. I did not care about the somewhat high price as I needed a decent room/bed/shower/breakfast. This was duly and effortlessly supplied by the hotel and their very capable staff. Excellent breakfast on the patio, personalised service , spotless bed room and comfortable bed added up to money well spent as a business traveller who needs a good rest, good food and a hassle free venue. Well done to the team with a 10/10 performance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review of our hotel , we appreciate your feedback very much.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , and your kind comments will be shared with the entire team at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Ridgeway on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kind Regards
Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is what our kids exclaimed when we arrived, and it became their morning routine to feed them with left over bread from the restaurant where the our kids found a lovely grandma who attended to their requests during our week long stay. Rooms are comfy, clean, and bright. Internet works great, which is rear for Lusaka. Staff is super friendly, and the manager is on the floor all the time greeting and engaging with guests. Location is central, and since Lusaka is not really a walking town, taxi's parked near hotel will take you to most places for $10-15 one way. If we are to return to Lusaka, this is the place to stay and it deserve to be the # 1.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel , we appreciate your feedback very much.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us , and your kind comments regarding the service received and comfy rooms will be shared with the entire team. I am glad your children enjoyed the crocodile pond.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Ridgeway hotel on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kind Regards

Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
3.7 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 31 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ridgeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Property: Southern Sun Ridgeway
Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Business Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing