We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Monze, Zambia
1 review
“value for money”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is the 2nd time I have used the hotel for business purpose and myself and my colleagues would highly recommend it. The meeting room was set up appropriately and T/C and scones were brought on time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    197
    54
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
31
18
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Bit far away from city center, it is a very nice hotel with good services and rooms. Car is needed to go downtown Lusaka but can have nice walk all around the hotel. Very safe. Pool and garden with baby crocodiles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Franscesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have stayed at the Southern Sun Ridgeway Hotel in Lusaka for many years and have enjoyed every stay.
That is the good news!
The bad news is that my last trip, last week, was somewhat of a disaster. From the moment I checked in I felt that my custom was taken for granted and at USD 230 per night, I really feel that one should be treated like a 5 Star VIP customer at all times.
Maybe it was due to the Public holiday???
The hotel is great though as a business venue. It has a tranquill homely feel to it with beautiful pool area, including great gym. Lovely restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner as well as a great bar for relaxation.
I will certainly recommend this venue but keep an eye on the USD rate compared to the SS Stay Easy and other hotels in Lusaka.
Still the best option for 2014.
Kind Regards, Eugene.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It's a good choice at around $130 for a standard room (UN rate, I believe). Overall pleasant and responsive service in restaurant, bar, reception, business centre and room service. Nice big breakfast included with all you could want. Food and beverages overall are quite good. Better WiFi than I expected which was quite adequate for my business purposes. Fairly quiet and peaceful in room 143.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grubby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A very pleasant stay, made even better by the warm and friendly hotel staff. The pond in the breakfast room/restaurant with bright yellow birds flying back and forth to their nests during breakfast is well worth the experience. Clean, comfortable, good connectivity and a nice, tranquil atmosphere all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic Of The Congo
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am very satisfied with the service I received during my stay at the Southern Sun Hotel Lusaka. The room was spotless: clean, well aired, welcoming.
The staff was very helpful, attentive and polite.
In general, I had a very pleasant stay at the Southern Sun Hotel Lusaka.
Albert T.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on business more than once. It is comfortable, serves good food, offers a good ambiance, and the weekly sessions where guests get together offer a huge networking opportunities and a different form of dining. There is a community of business travellers during the week and the place can be very busy. The staff is helpful and organised a shuttle to take us to the airport in the morning, and were willing to go the extra mile. I would stay here again. It is closer to a number of companies, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 32 in Lusaka
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
3.7 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 32 in Lusaka
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ridgeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Property: Southern Sun Ridgeway
Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Business Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing