We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most welcoming and friendly hotel in Lusaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at Ridgeway for two weeks and was treated so well. The hotel staff are really friendly and well trained (especially the restaurant staff) and except for a hiccup on my check-in , my stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The General Manager shows great interest in all guests and is always on hand to ensure your every need is taken care of.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank jdlblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , and your kind comments will be shared with all our members of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kind Regards
Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Southern Sun Ridgeway. I was there late July to early August, I must say I was pleasantly surprised buy the cleanliness, the quality of food and efficient service. I was in Lusaka on business and if ever I travel there again, I am definitely coming back. The gym and pool are great amenities that complemented my stay, the free wi-fi was also great. I simply loved my stay, Keep it up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Zaina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding the service experienced during your stay with us , and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kind Regards

Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at the Ridgeway for only 3 nights and found it be be perfectly suited for a short business stay. Have previously stayed at a few other similar hotels in neighboring countries and this more than matches up in terms of service, facilities, in house restaurant and so on. Beautiful courtyard by the restaurant, actually more of an enclosed pond, with birds, fish and a couple of small crocodiles!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusTraveller73093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , an we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kind Regards

Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stopped in at the hotel for breakfast on the way to a business meeting just before the kitchen was meant to close. The chefs and waitrons happily kept all stations open until we completed our meal. The hotel itself from what I could see is clean and well kept. I loved the outside breakfast patio wrapped around a big pond filled with lillies and reeds and a number of beautiful chirping weaver birds building their nests amongst them. Very pretty and serene. While the service and surroundings were great, the food left a lot to be desired. No fresh fruit juice for breakfast? Cordials and concentrates? Terrible. Thin yoghurts packed with garish artificial colourants? Awful. Greasy sausages and bacon? Ghastly. What I can definitely vouch for though is the beautifully fresh cut fruit and the obviously quality filter cofffee. Unlikely that I'll go back again.

Room Tip: You may not want to choose rooms overlooking the pond and restaurant/ breakfast area as it tends to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MamtaMithal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

I am glad that you enjoyed the surroundings and the service during your breakfast visit , and please accept my apologies for the sub standard food that was experienced during breakfast. Your comments have been shared with our chef , and we will ensure that we improve on the offering.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I've used this hotel for business in the past but had not expected to see such a decline in standards given the price and increased competition. The hotel is at best, tired - musty smelling, room carpets old & stained, furniture unchanged from inception. Zambian service is normally friendly & efficient. Here, it was anything but. I ordered dinner from the restaurant which took forever and a steak ordered rare was closer to charcoal. When I told the waiter that the sauce was incorrect, he dipped his finger in it to taste & confirm that it was indeed the wrong one! The breakfast was passable but for $250, it was overpriced. At best, this is a $120 hotel. I'll stay at the Radisson next time!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

Please accept my apologies for the poor level of service experienced , your comments are seen in an extremely serious light , and I can assure you that the necessary corrective measures will be taken to address these issues. These are certainly not the standards that we hold ourselves to.

It is always good to receive both positive and negative feedback as these allow us to address our guests concerns.

Kind Regards
Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have visited this hotel several times over the years and appreciate the consistency of high service and the ongoing efforts to improve the facility. The staff members are courteous and eager to respond to guest needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank graigf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lusaka

Kind Regards
Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The last week of my stay I noticed that I had bugs in my hotel room - namely ants and cockroaches. I informed the front desk of that fact, but the insecticide was only sprayed on that day that I reported the bugs. I know this because that evening when I came back I could still smell it but the other days I didn't. On my last day at the hotel, I woke up to a cockroach crawling on my face and back!!!
I was very disappointed because up to that point I had really enjoyed my stay, but I'm sorry, if you have roaches in your rooms that means the hotel is not clean; that's the only thing that attracts cockroaches. My organization does regular trips to Zambia and thus the Southern Sun regularly throughout the year, and I can't say that I'd recommend your hotel to anyone. I certainly wouldn't want to stay in a place where bugs were freely crawling around my room and on my bed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Lin_M30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the incident with the insects in your room , we have a pest control program , and our public areas and rooms are treated on a regular basis. After your comments though , we will be doubling the amount of treatments.

I can assure you the problem will be addressed.

Kind Regards
Marius Noëth
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lusaka
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
3.6 mi away
Latitude 15
Latitude 15
#4 of 33 in Lusaka
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ridgeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Business Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range: £121 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing