We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice hotel in Lusaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This hotel was very nice, clean, modern and comfortable. The room was small but well equipped with comfortable beds and pillows, t.v. nice shower. View of the swimming pool. Bar/restaurant was nice, good food at a good price. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel is a plus. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Matnikstym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

I have stayed at the Southern Sun many times and each time I always leave happy. The staff are attentive and very helpful. The breakfast is great with lots of selections and a quite atmosphere. The staff might be a bit too attentive in the morning (it can get bothersome to have someone ask you if you want coffee or tea every five minutes) but rather that then to be ignored the entire time. The rooms are quite large and very clean. The A/C in my room was a bit loud but given the cool weather, I didn't need to use it every night. The restaurant could use a revamp of is menu since the current selections are limited and somewhat bland. But overall, a very nice place to stay in Lusaka.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianyembering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Only stayed one night at this hotel but found it to be comfortable with good staff. Food was good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turksmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Guest and Room service was splendid.

I loved the feeding of crocodiles.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank dmbaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed in February 2010 while on trip to Lusaka.

Positives:
Relaxing area by pond for pre- and post-dinner drinks and conversation.
Pond has small/baby crocodiles and basket weaver birds
Safe area of Lusaka which is close to city centre, airport, Manda Hill shopping centre and Arcades shopping centre. All are a short taxi driver away. Also close to University Teaching Hospital. We went jogging near the hotel and felt absolutely safe.
Breakfast selection good
Clean well-kept swimming pool
Well equipped gym next to pool
Hotel just the right size. Not too large to make it impersonal.

Negatives:
A-la-carte menu a little limited though by Lusaka standards the meals in the hotel were up to scratch.
Internet connection not the fastest though I suspect that this is more of a function of the country's infrastructure than anything that the hotel has control over. The wireless connection when it works (75% of the time) is reasonably fast and will allow skype.
Laundry service excellent and cheap
On one night our waiter/server overcharged us on our dinner and drinks bills. However the problem was remedied quite quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

I checked into SS (the locals still call it Holiday Inn) from Protea @ Mall (see my review). It was a nice change. Room rates were good, comparable to Protea which was good in that it had a (small) arcade attached to it. For the same price, I got very friendly staff, nice breakfast (you shd try Dan's fish and he makes one of the best Spanish omelettes), nice swimming pool, small gym, green surroundings (which made the place cool in the hot weather. The place had a nice feel to it, and was quietly busy (perhaps due to the nearby UN, etc offices). Well run place, staff always smiling, helped by having such lovely names like 'Mercy'. Kudos to Adrian, whoever he is, for good mgmt (recommended a payrise for him in the feedback form which the slip under yr door the night before you check out. Hope he gets it and gets to organise daily get-together cocktail parties). Getting taxis is not a problem. Walking to the various markets or city centre is also easy - 30 mins-ish. Go on, put on yr shorts and play tourist. I will be back in Lusaka in two mths, and will stay here again. One suggestion to them - download the free map from Lusaka tourism and print 1000 copies for guests (not sure why all the hotels in E.Africa that I stayed do not have the freebie maps. But I got a free one of Nairobi by popping into Hilton and asking for one which they obliged)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkyong98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Southern Sun is a hotel that has everything you need, great location, excellent food, clean, beautiful swimmingpool, gim and a staff that looks after you and makes you feel like home. I stayed in this hotel for 3 months and I have no complaints at all. The General Manager is the most helpful person I've ever met. He will give you advice and help you in anything you need. The hotel is the hot spot for most of Lusaka's businesspeople to meet. If I were you I wouldn't think it twice, I would go to Southern Sun if you are staying in Lusaka. Maria

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lusaka
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
3.6 mi away
Latitude 15
Latitude 15
#4 of 33 in Lusaka
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ridgeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range: £124 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing