We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj is predictably very good”
Review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have stayed many times over the past 3-4 years at the Taj Padmozi in Lusaka. It is great. Staff great you on arrival as a "welcome home". At check in the serve you a (non alcoholic) drink. Rooms are good to very good. Service a very good to excellent. Bar area and lounge are great to conduct meetings. The restaurants are very good.. I am a very happy repeat client and recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We flew into Lusaka and found ourselves near the back in the immigration queue and it was painfully slow. It took us some hours to get through the formalities and exit the airport and then found that the transport we had arranged with the hotel had left without us. Well, he had a few other passengers who were getting fed up so he took off without us. Fair enough but surely they know how long it takes to clear formalities why not send the transport back for us. Not a good start but we took a taxi and made our own way to the hotel.
What a lovely oasis, beautiful gardens, lovely hotel, nicely decorated and we were immediately struck by the smiling, helpful, friendly staff. Our room was comfortable, with modern décor, TV with a good selection of channels, free wireless internet throughout the hotel and the air conditioning worked very well. The bathroom was well equipped with the necessary items and we were extremely comfortable.
We had drinks in the garden which was delightful and then ate dinner in the restaurant and it was very good, as was the breakfast buffet with a very good range of dishes on offer.
We returned to the Pamodzi on our day of departure and took a room for several hours before leaving for our flight. This is African hospitality at it’s very best, we would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Use the hotel transport to the airport, cheaper than the taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fordaleDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team. I have taken note of your feedback regarding the airport shuttle and can assure you that the we have looked into the matter and it has since been resolved. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Service was excellent.
They have the warmest, friendliest and most helpful staff.
The location is perfect for business travel in Zambia - the setting is serene and tranquil yet it is very close to the city centre (which is rather noisy).
My room was small but very comfortable and spotless.
They offer a variety of dining options and a wide enough variety of menu options (some tastier than others).
Business facilities were excellent.

Overall excellent service, a great stay, great value for money and fantastic location.

I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to my colleagues and friends.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Puso F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great fancy hotel in Lusaka, although a bit pricey, but that's Zambia... Friendly staff and decent food, clean and quiet room. BUT... we booked this hotel to conduct business at - however - the music in the lobby, bar, restaurant, lounge area was so loud we could not hear ourselves think. We asked 3 times to have the music turned down a bit and it was ignored. Also - the central reservations booking did not communicate with the local hotel so we had "fun and games" on check-out. Not. The hotel staff dealt with it courteously but were a bit clueless and we had to literally hold their hand throughout the entire process. Sadly, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwade2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your comments which I most certainly will share with my team. I have taken note of your feedback regarding the music in our public areas and your booking instructions and can assure that corrective measures have been put into place to ensure that such a lapse in service can never recur.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Taj and I was very impressed. I booked the room on Expedia and had no problems with check-in. Room and facilities were as you would expect from a 5* hotel (gym and sauna was among the best equipped I've seen in a hotel; and lovely pool area and gardens). What really sets this hotel apart, though, is the exceptional friendliness and professionalism of the staff, who are clearly well-trained (I often find staff in African 5* hotels have the former in abundance, but often sorely lack the latter). Prices are also very competitive among the newer options in Lusaka (e.g. The Radisson Blu). Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was in Lusaka for only one night, so a limited impression of the hotel, but check in was smooth and without fuss ( booked on Hotels.com, no issue with the prepaid booking ), and the room was a good size and all functioning. Looked a little out of date, could perhaps do with a touch of renovation for the roughly usd200 per might fee?
Dinner at the restaurant was perfectly fine, really friendly service, which did impress.

Useful shuttle bus to the airport ( 30 mins, USD25 ) which leave at 05h30 in time for 07h25 flight to Johannesburg, worth booking that, same price as a local taxi.

recommended, especially if on business.

Room Tip: not a very high hotel, so views not really an option, but 3rd floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team. I have taken note of your feedback regarding the room renovation and can assure that we are looking into the matter.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed at the Taj on business for a week. The hotel is of a great standard and probably the best on Lusaka. Rooms are functional and breakfast is good with a wide selection. Most importantly, staff are friendly and helpful. From a location point it is reasonably convenient to the large central mall.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 34 in Lusaka
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Latitude 15
Latitude 15
#4 of 34 in Lusaka
140 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Pamodzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Address: Church Road | P.O. Box 35450, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range: £149 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Pamodzi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Pamodzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Pamodzi Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing