We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falling apart”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cresta Golfview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cresta Golfview
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Falling apart”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This hotel may have been good in its day, but it has aged some with poor maintenance. Bathrooom was falling apart everywhere; toilet doesn't flush (have to repeat 4-5 times to get averything gone); soap holder originally screwed to the wall was on the floor when I checked in - and it did not appear to be a new problem; shower very small and shower curtain moldy at the bottom; bathroom just looks very outdated.

Internet is very slow and spotty (disconnects all the time) in the rooms - and you only get 1 hr complimentary access, basically a waste of time, 1 hr is gone before you can connect to anything.

Food is decent and mostly above average but avoid the buffett - it can be very expensive (I was charged $30 for a lunch buffett). Menu items are more reasonable.

Rooms was generally very clean and staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Try the wild hog steak - yummy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    39
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
13
6
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North America
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We booked before we travelled from Canada and a hotel bus was waiting for us to
pick us.The driver was so polite quickly opened his cooler box and offered us cold
water. The hotel is in excellent location in a quiet area, with five star facilities and
very friendly staff. We definately recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be
peaceful and yet close to Airport.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArvNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

the staff are very friendly; we have found that Zambian people are very open, welcoming and friendly anyway, however this hotel has recently left Cresta hotels group and it is looking poorer for it. The rooms are functional although the cleaning seemed a bit sporadic. The meals were okay; my stuffed chicken was lovely but my husband's lamb stew was mostly gristle. The breakfasts were uninspiring and there was no entertainment for adults and children alike except for the swimming pool. The staff manning the restuarant were, again friendly but not very professional. The tables in the restaurant were not clean and the cutlery required a quick wipe.
The path leading to the swimming pool was uneven and this could cause a bad accident.
It was very expensive for what it offered.
We wouldl like to mention Gabriel and also the taxi driver who picked us up at Lusaka Airport, Sangavi. They were both very professional. As I said earlier, the staff were all lovely but I think they have been abandoned by Cresta hotels and are struggling to stay afloat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samburu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I live in Lusaka for several years now. Frequently I have guests and me and family also likes to dine and have fun at a pool. I have tried and seen all the major hotels incl. the international chains. Forget about them: you pay a lot and you are treated like a insignificant individual (number is a better word). Food is mostly horrible too. Now I discovered Crest Golfview and what a relief: nice, spacy and quiet premises, rooms and facilities. Great service. Beautiful outside terrace and pool brings you into happy and relaxed mood. As it is big, you never feel stressed with other guests. And the food is absolutely value for money, very tasty and made with love. And the location is perfect. I wish I had found it earlier....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoostLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kafue007
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We choose tostay here because our flight got in late and we were told the Cresta had a shuttle to and from the Airport. Upon clearing customs and walking out we found the Shuttle had apparently left without us inspite of being told to expect us. We were'nt even the last ones out. This was the main reason we choose to stay here. A little harrowing trying to get a cab after all the heckling by the cab drivers.

Hotel was reasonably clean, staff was helpful. Missed dinner and the bar was shut. The Breakfast bufffet was very good. Grounds were well kept. The room was okay, reasonably clean.

For what we got I think it was a little on the pricey side and we were dissappointed with the lack of shuttle from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kafue007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

The reception, entrance etc are clean and welcoming. The staff good- even the restaurants are OK. But the rooms are appalling!
The tiles floors are sticky with old dirt. Cockroaches wander the bathroom at night - I found at least 4 per night in the bath/shower. Water supply problems and air locks mean that the water from the shower is intermittently very hot or very cold, but worst of all leads to toilets flushing with enough force to hurl the contents out of the bowl an onto the floor.
Air conditioners are noisy and don't work - save some money and stay cheaper and cleaner elsewhere (as my colleagues did).

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GPWJ_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lusaka hotels

Rochester MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2005

Did not stay overnight. Stopped by for breakfast buffet on way into town from airport. Appreciated the stiff salute provided by the guards as our vehicle entered the property. The breakfast was delicious. I used the business center to catch up on e-mail, although it is fairly expensive compared to other internet access points within the city.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank mudala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
3.7 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
614 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 31 in Lusaka
366 reviews
3.3 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
1.3 mi away
Chamba Valley Exotic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Golfview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Golfview

Property: Cresta Golfview
Address: Plot 10247, Great East Road | Munali, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Golfview 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golfview Hotel is a three star rated hotel offering four star service. Conveniently located only 16km from Lusaka International Airport, the hotel offers an experience of comfort and affordability for the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cresta Golfview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing