We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better alternatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lusaka
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“There are better alternatives”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Whoever is on business in Lusaka and does consider staying at the Protea Hotel in Cairo Road, has a better, newer, less expensive alternative, being the StayEasy. It is situated at the Levy Junction Mall.
The rooms in the Protea Hotel are starting to get old, the silicone in the bathrooms is coming loose etc. Having to shower behind a curtain in a fairly used bath, and the room being flooded is also not what can be expected for the kind or rate that is paid.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there though, do so as far away from the lifts as possible. If you are too close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we have taken note of your comments and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
4
10
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel en route to Malawi and were so impressed we stayed again on the way back.
What a welcome relief when we walked through the doors - it is so great to be able to rely on a hotel brand - to expect a certain standard and this hotel lived up to the Protea Hotels standard.
We arrived in Lusaka in peak hour traffic after a very long nerve-wracking days drive. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and even directed the traffic so we could park in the secure parking garage! The room was clean and comfortable and we especially loved the bedding and pillows and also the bath products!
When asked the reservation staff made an onward booking for us at the Protea Hotel Chipata and gave us some travel tips for the journey.
The food was great, especially the breakfast.
Great value for the price and convenient location.
Free wifi a bonus

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk8teblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear GUEST,

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Cairo Road and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Good central location in down town Lusaka.
Good value for money and excellent breakfast,as much as you can eat.
Wireless connection in rooms and lobby and staff were very friendly.
Black out curtains for the early rising African sun and nice modern rooms.
Rooms also are quite spacious and the bed comfortable.
Ensuite bathroom also clean and modern.

Room Tip: higher rooms on the top floor more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwilliamson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protel Hotel Cairo Road.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly valuable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Cairo Road and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here as a business group. It is of Lusaka's value for money Hotels provided you are not staying too long. Ideal for a business visit as well as well as stay over proceeding elsewhere
The central locations makes it convenient for business, the rooms and facilities are clean, the staff are very friendly though Zambian slow, at times. The WIFI now works, the parking is very secure, noise is not a problem.
Should you stay long some things become irritating, the phone which is located at a desk well away from the bed, a limited menu in the restaurant, limited channels on the TV (Al Jezeera is fine but not as the only news channel, soccer and rugby are popular but my I missed F1 & The open), a very small bar area and no room service and WIFI which you need to keepmenetring the code to stay on line. Be prepared to go elsewhere for dinner lunch and entertainment. There are places in easy reach - taxi ride.
There is something irritating about Hotel staff enjoying their meal in the restaurant when you are not getting service.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MagoLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

However we are concerned about your comments regarding STAFF meal times and the service you received in the restaurant. Kindly provide us with more feedback.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should wlecome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed overnight at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The mattress , however , felt like I was sleeping on a hard board , when I woke up in the morning after tossing and turning all night long - I had severe bad ache.

The food at dinner was a buffet and most enjoyable. If not for the hard mattress , it's perfect for business trips as the hotel is centrally placed in the business district.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback regarding the mattress being too hard certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel Cairo Road is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your comments have been taken in a serious light.

Your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS' expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right but most importantly when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to any of Protea Hotels in Zambia again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Due to a flight connections disaster caused by Ethiopian Airlines, we were forced to overnight in Lusaka enroute to Livingstone for Victoria Falls. I rang the hotel from the Lusaka Airport to check availability and was pleasantly surprised how efficiently my enquiry was dealt with (And the price of the room )
We arrived totally exhausted in need of sleep and frustrated by the day's disasters!
Check in was efficient and our request for a quiet room was achieved. The room was clean and more than adequate for an overnight stay. The breakfast the next morning was also well presented and tasty.
It looks like this hotel is usually used by business travellers and is well suited for that purpose.
The staff were very obliging and allowed us use of our room till noon due to our outbound flight not being until later in the afternoon. There was no additional fee charged for this.
I would recommend this hotel for business trips or overnigt/short stays. Avery good experience brought about from a very bad one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAZANSYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Cairo Road and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitwe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I must confess that my 2 days stay at Protea Hotel Cairo RD with my wife was a wonderfull one. I have no regrets. But kindly more DSTV channels are required because some of us are TV addicts!

Room Tip: Fifth floor has a breathtaking view of the city - south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive comments on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Cairo Road again soon.

Kind regards,

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
1.3 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 32 in Lusaka
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka
Protea Hotel Lusaka
#9 of 32 in Lusaka
202 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road

Property: Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Address: Cairo Road | Plot 11 A, Katondo Street, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cairo Road - Ideally located for business travel in the heart of Lusaka. Protea Hotel Cairo Road is located in Lusaka's central business district, only 30kms from the airport and close to the Arcades shopping and entertainment complex, Manda Hill Shopping Centre and National Museum. With spacious, air-conditioned and en-suite accommodation in all the rooms, business or corporate travellers will find Protea Hotel Cairo Road ideal for all requirements. The Restaurant serves breakfasts, lunch and dinner and the bar is open until 22h00 daily where you can enjoy pre-dinner drinks in a sociable and relaxed environment. Conference facilities comprise three 15-seater Boardrooms and 2 conference rooms, seating 40 delegates. Be entertained and explore the exciting sporting and leisure activities nearby; including a golf course (10km), game viewing (35km), restaurants and shops (5 - 7km), Munda Wanga Animal Sanctuary (10km) and Kalimba Reptile Farm (20km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing