We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Basic Facilities - value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
254 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good Location, Basic Facilities - value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Location was excellent - bang in the middle of the city; very close to Levy Mall and next door to Cairo ROad mall. Airport is not too far away. Check-in and check-out was very smooth. they even have a pick-up / drop-off from the airport although i did not use it.

The good things - bed was good; restaurant menu though limited was good in taste and portion size; breakfast spread was basic but wholesome and hearty; staff were helpful; room size was ok; free wifi;

The cons - internet speed was woeful; having to reconnect every now and then was also quite frustrating; bathrooms could have been a bit bigger; amenities are not restocked every day - so you have to make do with the basic soap; the corridors are a bit tired - the lighting can certainly improve; the lifts are scary;

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRC_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of the internet speed. Please be assured that the problem has been rectified.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    33
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
2
9
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitwe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I was not expecting to stay overnight in Lusaka, the capital city of Zambia, but due to over-running programmes, I had no choice but to stay in town for another day. The choice of my hotel was no other than Protea Cairo Road. The reason is simple: Its in the heart of the business centre of Lusaka. Meaning that its easy to move to any other location from this point. I enjoyed the same comfort enjoyed the first time I spent 2 nights. Oooh room 311 you gave me a magnificent view of the city (northern side).

Room Tip: View of northern part of business area of city on this floor is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulmumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Mr. Mumba,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I loved the food and the place is beautiful...
The nicely colored decor that greets you is warm and welcoming.
The style of the diner is also relaxing and the food is really tasty. They have very clean bathrooms and the hotel is also very clean I will definitely go back for that excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Protocolandstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary services.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Cairo Road and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, NM
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

The fairly recent remodeling of the restaurant and reception areas have certainly brightened the atmosphere of the hotel, but the rooms are badly in need of updating. Still, they are clean and fairly quiet. The staff is well trained and attentive and the food is quite good and fairly priced. I've spent a couple of weeks at a time there on business and find it adequate if you need a downtown location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please note that Protea Hotel Cairo Road underwent a full refurbishment early this year.

Your interest and concern are therefore truly valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
280 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I booked the hotel as it seemed to be one of the best in the city centre and protea is obviously a recognised brand in southern Africa. I had a late flight and, having had problems previously getting a late meal and drink in Africa, reckoned the Protea would be my best chance of getting a drink/ food on arrival. Unfortunately this turned out to be incorrect. We arrived about 10.30 to be told that the restaurant was closed. I asked if there was a mini bar in the room and the receptionist said yes but it's empty! We therefore had to get a taxi to a 24 hr supermarket to get some water .

The room was fine- clean, roomy and decorated in light pastel colours with a laminate wood floor.

It's situated on Cairo road which is one of the main roads in Lusaka but there are no bars or restaurants you can easily walk to at night.

Breakfast was buffet style and was actually very good- warm and with lots of choice.

The hotel is generally fine but for $ 130 a night I would expect eating and drinking options later than 10pm in a capital city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please note that we do not provide beverages in the fridges in the rooms but a complimentary water is provided upon arrival.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Cairo road Protea hotel is okay, and not nearly as "dated" as certain reviewers describe it.

During September 2012 I stayed in 4 different places in Lusaka - at various times of course, and always stayed for one night only as these were quick stopovers.

The places at which I stayed was :

Protea hotel Cairo rd, then also Stay Easy in the centre, Pioneer camp on the outskirts and Juls guesthouse in the east.

For staying around central Lusaka the competition for "best bang for the buck" is between Cairo rd and the Stay Easy hotel.

The Cairo rd hotel is a little bit more expensive than the Stay Easy.

So first : the room.

Bigger than Stay Easy, and the bed definitely more comfortable.

Bathroom also slightly bigger.

Everything worked and was fine.

Wifi in the room worked okay. There is no really fast wifi anywhere in Lusaka, go and try at a 5 star hotel..its no faster than here.

Breakfast : buffet was ok. Nothing special, just ok.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

So if I had to choose between Cairo rd and Stay Easy.. which one?

Depends on priorities, the Cairo room is definitely a bit bigger and more comfortable, breakfasts are on a par, hard to say this one or that one. Wifi also worked at similar speeds.

Stay Easy is across the way from a nice shopping centre, so it has a slightly better location and you will save about $ 10.00 or so per person on the room.

Compared to Pioneer camp and Juls : Pioneer is a bit out of the way .. so it depends on if you want to be in the city.

Of all these places I stayed , Juls guesthouse comes last.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Normally i am a big fan of protea, i stayed with them in malawi for a long time and it was great. HOWEVER this one on Cairo road was not so good.

Rooms are very dated, the bathroom is of a 2 star quality. It was clean but bad and the breakfast is no way as good as you would expect.

Internet was free but a very poor service.

It is a place to go when you have had a last min travel plan and need somewhere to spend the night.

Positive side, staff are very very helpful and perfect. service is spot on. Just a sad case that the hotel does not match the staff.

Price wise, if you negotiate well for the same price you could stay at other hotels in the city that are far better.

in terms of location. its nothing spectacular, during peak times you want to avoid cario road!! so you can image staying on it.

Room Tip: Aim high, 6,7th floors offer a better view. Also high enough to open the windows and get fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Cairo Road. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the STAFF and service that you received. Please note that Protea Hotel Cairo Road underwent a full refurbishment in December 2011.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea hospitality at its best.

Yours sincerely,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
1.3 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road

Property: Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Address: Cairo Road | Plot 11 A, Katondo Street, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cairo Road - Ideally located for business travel in the heart of Lusaka. Protea Hotel Cairo Road is located in Lusaka's central business district, only 30kms from the airport and close to the Arcades shopping and entertainment complex, Manda Hill Shopping Centre and National Museum. With spacious, air-conditioned and en-suite accommodation in all the rooms, business or corporate travellers will find Protea Hotel Cairo Road ideal for all requirements. The Restaurant serves breakfasts, lunch and dinner and the bar is open until 22h00 daily where you can enjoy pre-dinner drinks in a sociable and relaxed environment. Conference facilities comprise three 15-seater Boardrooms and 2 conference rooms, seating 40 delegates. Be entertained and explore the exciting sporting and leisure activities nearby; including a golf course (10km), game viewing (35km), restaurants and shops (5 - 7km), Munda Wanga Animal Sanctuary (10km) and Kalimba Reptile Farm (20km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Lusaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing